Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2001 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1766 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Great on Gas

By on Saturday, October 06, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased my car new in 2004 and have not had any major problems with it yet. I did have to replace the battery this year (2007), other than that only oil changes. Always remember to rotate your tires with this car because it WILL eat your front tires if you do not, I was not aware that you had to do this and went through 3 sets of tires before I was told that...but that was my fault. It has a shocking amount of room in it. The gas mileage is fantastic! I commute about 15 miles one way to work a day and usually only fill my gas tank once every 2 weeks, which is around $30. I have read that the vehicle also has one of the lowest emmission ratings out there. Obviously this is a very "green" vehicle! The only complaint that I have with the vehicle is the road noise - it is very, very noisy. If you are looking for a fuel efficient car that is reliable I do recommend this vehicle."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

For a small car, this Honda Civic has it all.

By on Wednesday, November 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, economic, great pickup for small car"

Cons: "No tape deck."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car off of the showroom floor. It is black with grey interior and it is like new. I have kept the oil changed and keep it clean and tuned up. I only drive 13 miles to work when I have to go in-house to work. The car has only been to the NC mountains 3 times since it was bought and to Myrtle Beach once. It has never been smoked in and I have no small children, so basically it has just been myself driving it. I purchased a new car and hate to part with this one, but no need to hold onto it and pay the extra tag and taxes and so forth. Looking for the right person to take care of it as I have."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Value Package - the best description for this car

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "engine, transmission, 40 plus mpg"

Cons: "I'm still thinking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If you are looking for a solid, reliable Honda Civic, this is the one you want. This car has value all over it. I paid $11,900 for my 20005, new. 110,000 miles later and I have only paid for basic maintenance items, like oil, tires, brake pads, and timing belt/water pump. I have owned several previous Hondas and do all my own maintenance. This is the sweetest running model (1.7L engine) I have owned. It runs strong in every gear and I can get 45 mpg on the highway at 70 mph. The transmission shifts as smoothly as when new. At idle you can't hear or feel it running. Yea, the older, non-strut suspension models handle much better, but after 110,000 miles everything is as tight as new and no squeaks."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

The car has and is still serving me well.

By on Thursday, July 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fuel economy, reliability, maneuverabity"

Cons: "Acceration, inside room, timing belt"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car about 5 years ago, Honda Certified, with 55000 miles on it at the time. I am about to roll over 160000 with the 4 door, LX manual transmission vehicle. Major work: 90,000: Oil pan; somehow it started rusting by the exhaust pipe. Did not leak yet, but I wanted to replace it before it puked oil on the exhaust. 105,000: New timing belt, water pump and all related hardware. Did this as suggested by Honda, with all Honda parts. 107,000: Replaced A/C compressor; it was making a funny faint noise I didn't like. Since then the noise has returned, so it could be a characteristic of older compressors. 110,000: transmission input bearing replaced under warranty. This was driver error; if you shift it hard you will tear up this bearing. If you drive normal, you will be fine. I also had them replace the clutch while they were in there. I also did the front brakes once at 80,000 miles, and once at 110,000 miles. I put Hawk performance parts on and it stops a lot quicker, though the stock brakes worked fine. I have done a lot of odds and ends little things over the years; sway bar links, tires, etc. I am a mechanic and get picky of my car sometimes. I would definitely recommend this car to anyone. I am thinking of keeping it until at least 200,000 unless something in life changes that would require a larger car."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

BEST CAR OUT THERE

By on Sunday, March 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great mileage, great price, long lasting"

Cons: "Doesn't accelorate like I want it to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first car. I've had it for 4 years and I've definitely put some miles on it. I bought it used for around $12,000-4 years ago- with only 50,000 miles on it. It runs great, low maintenance, great gas mileage, and I intend on having this car for another 10 years. When they make another car that gets this kind of mileage at an affordable price I may consider upgrading. I've only had to get oil changes and change out my breaks because of how frequently I drive this car. This is a great first time car that will last your child at least a decade."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals