Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2001 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1747 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 175 | Next

very reliable

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very reliable."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

very good, realiable car, will give to my nephew

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "good value, reliable, easy on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been one of the most reliable car, low maintenance and easy on gas. Very good value for the money."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good Utility Car

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good point A to point B car"

Cons: "Noisy interior, More repairs than expected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I've owned 2 Honda Civics (1986 & 2001). In general, they both performed well. However I have yet to reach the the coveted 200k milage without major issues. My 1986 Civic had a blown head gasket at 150k which I repaired. It ran until it reached 205k when my timing belt broke wiping-out the engine. Both Civics were very well maintained following all service intervals. My 2001 Civic had it's air compressor go out (an expensive repair) at ~180k mi. Then at 194k mi, it developed a head gasket leak. No current or prior engine overheating issues. Cost quoted to repair the 2001 Civic head gasket was $1,800 to $2000... at a 3rd party shop specializing in Honda's (less than dealer). So basically, the car is not worth repairing. When I asked my mechanic about Civic issues they commonly see, I was told the head gasket was a very common failure on 2001 through 2006 Civics. That said, would I buy another Civic... maybe, but I'm also considering other models/manufacturer's."

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Aways reliable; would purchase another

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "the VP model didn't come with cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fantastic value; never had any problems with the car"

Trusted it until the transmission failed.

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good Value, Good mileage, Hardly any problems"

Cons: "Transmission failed. :o("

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"2001 Honda Civic. 159000 miles. Transmission now slipping. Visor's and head liner fabric did not withstand Florida sun."

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best car ever

By on Sunday, October 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, good looking, safe, good on gas, quality"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. It's great and gets great gas mileage and is very reliable. I am going to buy another Civic as my next car. Honda for life!"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very dependable car!

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, dependable car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My daughter bought this car used and drove it for 2yrs before passing it on to me 4 years ago. This is a basic model but still comfortable for long (10 hr) and short drives. Very dependable car and good in snow (I live in Northeast Ohio snowbelt) Body hasn't started rusting. AC and heat work great. Great gas mileage. I highly recommend this car."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very disappointed with my purchase

By on Friday, September 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "great on gas"

Cons: "something is wrong on how it runs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I just bought this car about 6 months ago for over $5000, I feel so stupid knowing what its worth. I have never bought a used car without doing my homework, but I was tired of taking the bus and all the walking I was doing (about 20 miles/day). Now I'm stuck with the car and the note and was just wondering what I should do"

5 people out of 25 found this review helpful

one of the most reliable cars i have owned.

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "love driving it and econoical to own"

Cons: "cost of power battery. # of miles i drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the power drive batteries were replaced at 118,500 miles, the only problem I have had with it"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

my wife's car

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "gas mileage, reliability"

Cons: "not good for long trips"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my wife has had her little Civic for 3 years now and it has been the most reliable car ever for her. She loves it and wants to keep it forever and most likely it WILL last forever!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 175 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals