Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2000 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 1130 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next

owned for 18yrs and still going strong!!

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is very fuel-efficient, even for today's standards (I've owned this car for 18 years; bought it as a 2-yr-old used car); I have many jealous friends :-) Love the view when I drive: I can see the road, as opposed to having a huge hood in front of me; the chairs are also high enough to give you that SUV-feeling. There is plenty head-room, so that 6' or taller people will sit comfortably, including plenty of legroom in the back seats. Car seats for babies fit and can be tied down properly without much effort. The engine lasts a VERY long time (still have the original one). I've only had to replace the fuel injector, radiator and alternator over 18 years, besides the regular maintenance of tune-ups & oil changes. Easy maintenance: the engine parts are easily accessible and replacement parts are cheap, because the car is so common. My next car? Most likely another Civic (the hybrid, this time)"

Best car I ever owned

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to work on, precision parts, reliable"

Cons: "Cheap plastic on door panels, expensive OEM parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used about 8 years ago. This is the longest I've owned a car in my life, all my others having had some major issue in their lifetime. This car has been a blessing. It's reliably driven me over 150,000 miles in that time and continues to press on. It's had some major issues like the ignition coil and clutch going out, and some minor ones like replacing the axles, the regulator arms in the windows (apparently these cars had issues with those), replacing the catalytic converter and O2 sensors, the arm rests caving in (my major complaint), and a minor oil leak. But compared to the problems I've had in the past with other vehicles, this one has been a dream."

Hondas are great!

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and park"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our third Honda, need we say more. Drives like a car should drive. No mush, just good response."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Loved this car from day one.

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 279,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very inexpensive. To buy and to matain."

Cons: "Not great pick-up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Civic new and for 16 years it has performed better than any car I have ever known. While other people are getting major things fixed on their vehicle, I am doing regular maintenance on mine. In 16 years the total cost of all major repairs I have ever had to do, and nothing was really major, I have spent less than #3000. I love this car. I will drive a Honda forever."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my honda

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Affordable, reliable, great gas mileage"

Cons: "Paint oxidized horribly so it always looks dirty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved my honda, had it for 6 years and the only repairs I've ever had to do mechanically would be normal fixes such as breaks, tires, new timing belt.... I am pretty sure if you do normal routine maintence this car could run pretty much forever! Honda's are awesome!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great, Reliable and Fun to Drive Car

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great Price, Reliable, Fun To Drive"

Cons: "Highway Noise, Low HP,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The civic is a great all around car. Great gas mileage, fantastic reliability, cheap maintenance. I have always been car savvy but this generation Civic is by far the easiest to work on. I've changed the headgasket multiple times on these by just following a service manual. I don't care what others say, this car is fun to drive, especially with the 5 speed manual transmission. It may not make a lot of horsepower or have a lot of torque, but the small rev happy motor has plenty of spunk to push around a 1 ton car. The combination of light weight and high revs is always a winner. Considering how large the tuning market is for civics, and the wide availability of parts, it's no wonder it is such a popular selling car. My car personally has Koni Adjustable Shocks and Neuspeed Sport Springs as the only modifications and boy does it bring out the capability of the chassis. The ride is better than stock suspension and it hugs corners like a beast (with grippy tires of course). If you want a well rounded, low cost, and somewhat sporty car to drive, the 1996-2000 Civic is for you."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

It is the best car I have owned,

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it used and have owned it for 10 years."

Best Car I've Ever Owned!

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great mpg! scoots in and out of traffic."

Cons: "uncomfortable seats and not much leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I've ever owned and the reason I still have it today after 18 years! It used to get 30+ mpg on the highway with low mileage; however, it can get up to 50mpg highway now that it's "broken in good". I've taken this car to the beach, mountains, city, and rural areas in rain,snow, stop/start driving. It handles superb and better than an SUV I owned. My only complaint is that it's the most uncomfortable car I've owned. Seats hurt my back and not much leg room. Otherwise, if this car is kept maintained like mine has been, it can go for 100k's miles easily. I'll never get rid of this car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Ahead of its time; Best compact car.

By on Monday, June 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great price, great mpg, stylish 90s compact car"

Cons: "no CD player in the LX, only 107 horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

my car when i purchased it

"Honda does it right. The civic may not be luxurious, but when it comes to getting your money's worth, it's an amazing car to own. Exceptional gas mileage, and reliability that lives up to the Honda standard. I've owned this car for four years and plan to buy a newer model year civic. I've had the check engine light come on only once for a minor part needing to be replaced, and even in below zero (Fahrenheit) degrees, the engine still started on the first attempt. If you maintain this car it will show the same treatment on the road and in your wallet. The 1997 civic is perfect for anyone who appreciates good value and is willing to sacrifice a little power (though it can still have some kick to it) for saving money on a car that will last for many years."

my car when i purchased it

Great reliable gas saver.

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great economical car, etc."

Cons: "not a luxury car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this 97 HONDA for 10 years and it has been extremely reliable and economical. Wish that the newer Hondas were as reliable. Only the Fit appears to have the reliability of the older Honda civics.The mileage on the highway varies from 33 TO 40 MPG. Using cruise control helps."

good reliable car

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great on gas, has about half life on it,"

Cons: "small. paint fades fast!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"good car for the $, does not break down often, I have 197,000 miles on it, and it is still pretty strong, gas mileage is great, and I can zip in and out of traffic, very economical, still runs great."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

most reliable vehicle I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,630

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great on gas and great car for running around. Very economical for trips."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Steady, reliable, not flashy

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great value for the money. Well made"

Cons: "Not a sports car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a solid little car. It's not flashy; it's not luxurious; but it goes and goes. Had mine for 17 years with no mechanical problems! If you are the sort who has a car to get around rather than to impress, this is a great car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

going to miss this car.

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 261,032

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable,goes forever,"

Cons: "I honestly can't think of any!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My fuel pump went out at 261,032 miles I had the car 3 years and it has worked great. I did have to have a new water pump and timing belt a couple of years ago other than that it has worked great. I just think it's best to get a different car than to fix the fuel pump and CV axles. I think if those things were fixed she would still have quite a bit of life left in her. :)"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability, peppy engine, well thought out."

Cons: "sunroof unnessesary."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car will run for another 140000 miles. Dependable and cheap to keep. I bought it new. Serviced by dealer and it just keeps going. Only reason to sell would be is I will need a 4 door civic soon. $ doors are easier to get in and out."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This car is in Excellent running condition

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Price with replaced car engine with 60000 mi"

Cons: "Bought in 2007"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is in Excellent running condition with new farly nw battery and Tire. I replaced my Engine with an old one with millage about 55000. So This car engine usage is about 60000. As per Kelly book proce of this Car is 2208 with 220000 mil. But Replace my Engine with anothe one with 55000 mi. So car Engine is in excellent runing condition."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

fair condition./runs great/some problems

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "runs smooth"

Cons: "beat up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"car has body damage all over but drives beautifully. It's not in great cosmetic shape but has been loved! Minimal problems EVER. 1 yr old battery. Needs some work"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

the perfect first car

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, fuel efficient, and safe."

Cons: "I'd like a little more power but cant complain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i received a 96 honda civic ex for my 15th birthday and i absolutely adore it. its the best car for the value, its reliable, quick, and it looks pretty stylish for an 18 year old car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2D EX coupe 5 speed manual

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, cute, 40 mpg still!"

Cons: "Sits low, hard for old people LOL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this car with 135,000 miles 4 years ago. We have driven it for a cross-country move with no problems. It has the original clutch! Just had some suspension work done--was still riding on the originals. As with any 17+ year old car, we have had to do some up keep: timing belt, water pump, brakes, exhaust. But overall a solid car for the money. Civics have a few known defects in this era. The electric driver side window and trunk keyhole will likely fail and need work."

Excellent quality

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable, fun to drive"

Cons: "a little more road noise than I'd like"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the 1999 Civic LX in November 1998, and it's now 2014 and it still runs great. It has been very dependable - starting up during the coldest of winter days. I have the 5-speed manual and it's enjoyable to drive. I would like to get a new car, but am disappointed that most of the new models do not get any better gas mileage than this 15 year old Civic."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Civic Si Ever Made!

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drivability and handling"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 1999 Honda Civic Si new off the dealer lot. It has been an extremely fun car to drive since day one! With 230,500 miles now on the odometer it is still a great daily driver and weekend get away car. Yes, it is starting to show its age, but for a 15 year old car there is still no rust and the engine still has plenty of get up and go. I have put this car through its paces from lots of highway miles driving between race tracks in the summer months to loading it up with kayak and bike racks for camping trips, this car has done it all with no complaints. Maintenance is done a regular basis and there have been NO unexpected surprises in the mechanical areas. I am about to pass this car down to my daughter for the off to college car and she loves it already."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

LOVE my car

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 254,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love everything about her."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my car! She is great!"

Great 16 Year Run

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Needed larger car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, comfortable and inexpensive to run"

Cons: "Poor acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I finally sold my 98 Civic EX Sedan after 16 years of faithful service, and miss it. It was a great car - good ergonomics, reliable and good mileage. At 140,000 miles with daily short commutes, the car rarely had time to fully heat up. Yet, the car kept going. My new car is a 2014 Honda Accord Hybrid. I hope this car runs as well as the 1998 Civic and the 1982 Accord so I can keep it for 16 years too."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Little Car! Got my money's worth!

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "fun to drive, economical, always ran well, sporty"

Cons: "small, low to ground, hard to get into back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At 15 years old, my little civic drives better and is more fun than my mother's brand new Chevy Cruze. Have had it in really only for routine maintenance over the years. It's currently at 240,000 miles and it seems as if it could easily keep on a keeping for another 100,000! Great Value!! Its only downfalls are that it is 1) very low to the ground...I've gotten stuck more than a time or two in snow covered Michigan roads and driveways. Also, it is quite small on the inside. Doesn't bother me personally, but my passengers have difficulty getting in and out and when we go out as a group,someone else usually offers to drive because of it."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Sunday, March 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable"

Cons: "Some road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new (5-speed manual), over 15 years ago, and it has been extremely reliable and is somewhat fun to drive. The initial battery lasted nearly ten years and never died - I replaced it as a precaution. With this winter's brutally cold days (50 below wind chill), it started every day - after being parked overnight 'not' in a garage. The engine still runs like new. The only repairs I've made were muffler-related and brakes, and the scheduled timing belt replacement. For the past 7 years I've been looking for a new car, but don't see significant improvements in mileage (mpg) -- other than hybrids. Other countries are getting very fuel efficient vehicles, but not the USA."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details