Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1999 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 1130 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 113 | Next

good reliable car

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great on gas, has about half life on it,"

Cons: "small. paint fades fast!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"good car for the $, does not break down often, I have 197,000 miles on it, and it is still pretty strong, gas mileage is great, and I can zip in and out of traffic, very economical, still runs great."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

most reliable vehicle I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,630

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great on gas and great car for running around. Very economical for trips."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Steady, reliable, not flashy

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great value for the money. Well made"

Cons: "Not a sports car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a solid little car. It's not flashy; it's not luxurious; but it goes and goes. Had mine for 17 years with no mechanical problems! If you are the sort who has a car to get around rather than to impress, this is a great car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

going to miss this car.

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 261,032

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable,goes forever,"

Cons: "I honestly can't think of any!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My fuel pump went out at 261,032 miles I had the car 3 years and it has worked great. I did have to have a new water pump and timing belt a couple of years ago other than that it has worked great. I just think it's best to get a different car than to fix the fuel pump and CV axles. I think if those things were fixed she would still have quite a bit of life left in her. :)"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliability, peppy engine, well thought out."

Cons: "sunroof unnessesary."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car will run for another 140000 miles. Dependable and cheap to keep. I bought it new. Serviced by dealer and it just keeps going. Only reason to sell would be is I will need a 4 door civic soon. $ doors are easier to get in and out."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This car is in Excellent running condition

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Price with replaced car engine with 60000 mi"

Cons: "Bought in 2007"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is in Excellent running condition with new farly nw battery and Tire. I replaced my Engine with an old one with millage about 55000. So This car engine usage is about 60000. As per Kelly book proce of this Car is 2208 with 220000 mil. But Replace my Engine with anothe one with 55000 mi. So car Engine is in excellent runing condition."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

fair condition./runs great/some problems

By on Wednesday, April 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "runs smooth"

Cons: "beat up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"car has body damage all over but drives beautifully. It's not in great cosmetic shape but has been loved! Minimal problems EVER. 1 yr old battery. Needs some work"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

the perfect first car

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, fuel efficient, and safe."

Cons: "I'd like a little more power but cant complain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i received a 96 honda civic ex for my 15th birthday and i absolutely adore it. its the best car for the value, its reliable, quick, and it looks pretty stylish for an 18 year old car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2D EX coupe 5 speed manual

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, cute, 40 mpg still!"

Cons: "Sits low, hard for old people LOL"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this car with 135,000 miles 4 years ago. We have driven it for a cross-country move with no problems. It has the original clutch! Just had some suspension work done--was still riding on the originals. As with any 17+ year old car, we have had to do some up keep: timing belt, water pump, brakes, exhaust. But overall a solid car for the money. Civics have a few known defects in this era. The electric driver side window and trunk keyhole will likely fail and need work."

Excellent quality

By on Sunday, April 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable, fun to drive"

Cons: "a little more road noise than I'd like"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought the 1999 Civic LX in November 1998, and it's now 2014 and it still runs great. It has been very dependable - starting up during the coldest of winter days. I have the 5-speed manual and it's enjoyable to drive. I would like to get a new car, but am disappointed that most of the new models do not get any better gas mileage than this 15 year old Civic."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 113 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details