Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
Go

1998 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 1141 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next

engine is tight doesn't burn oil doesn't leak flui

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "real fun car if your a younster low profile wheels"

Cons: "no ashtray for passenger. needs Lil work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Needs a hood and new calipers. Engine is tight everything works. Needs a good cleaning. Smogs and has new plates. Good on highway and in town."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

AMAZING CAR

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great car, fun to drive, looks great, runs great,"

Cons: "no armrest, not very fast."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

On a drive with my friend and he took an amazing picture :)

"I 100% love my car and when I say love I mean LOVE! I have had nothing but fun in my civic. Great on gas and very reliable. I got mine in standard and I have never made a better decision in my life. The only two problems I have with it. Is mine does not have an armrest for some reason. its not broken or cut off or taken off, it is just stock without it... and mine has the D16y7 motor, and is NOT very fast at all; which is highly disappointing because I have a lead foot and like driving fast, the car handles great because of the wishbone suspension corners good. Just very slow acceleration. I recommend this car to anyone looking for a first car or a fun car to fix up (like I am) and for something great for place to place it is an all around great car."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

On a drive with my friend and he took an amazing picture :)

1999 Honda Civic Ex

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "agile, fun to drive, watch for modified cars"

Cons: "watch for modified cars, cup holders are mediocre"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"the 99 civic is really good bang for your buck. im a car guy so i do my own oil and work. I like my sedan because i feel like its a bit more room all around and parts are readily available. tons of aftermarket support and help available."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Extremely reliable vehicle at reasonable cost

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Honda Civics are extremely reliable. Have had several. Although not flashy design, very serviceable space and good safety."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome car, the best I ever had.

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 372,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this Civic used in 2006 with 120,000 miles on it. As someone that was used to American made cars, this was high milage but we decided to take a chance on it. My job has led me to drive all over Pennsylvania from one end to the other on a regular basis, in all kinds of weather. It now has 372,000 miles on it. We have only done normal maintenance in all this time. It is now in the garage for the first major repairs we have ever done on it. The problem hasn't been diagnosed yet, but the car doesn't owe us anything. My wife and I are going car shopping tonight to replace one of our others---not THIS Civic---and we are looking for a used Honda Civic. They are an unbeatable value."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very good car

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive, good on gas."

Cons: "Small, has trouble getting up hills."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It is a very great car considering how little they cost, mine has been used to haul people from point A to point B. not very good if you are over 6' tall. Can only fit 4 people comfortably. It is a great little car for getting groceries and running to school. Fun car to drive would recommend!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I blew the motor and fixed it in 6 hours swap

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to work on"

Cons: "Burns or leaks oil if not pristine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Good car super reliable, easy to work on, totaled it and it saved my life would buy another"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Sunday, August 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned my car for 5 years. Fun car to drive. Only downfall, I wish I bought the vtec model. Engine lacks power especially on hills. I drove my snowboarding for several years. Just get some studded snow tires and you are set."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Wednesday, July 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"NO rust power steering needs fixing a leak in it, great car great on gas bought the car in Kansas so didn't see many winters, recently fixed the whole front end of the car needs all new tires but not right away great car."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This vehicle is very reliable low mileage for a 96

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 206,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good gas mileage body in good shape good tires a/c works good"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best honda civic ever made

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned this car over 8 years and it's worth every penny I spend on it. It the best car ever. I recommend this car to anyone wants to buy one."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

owned for 18yrs and still going strong!!

By on Friday, July 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is very fuel-efficient, even for today's standards (I've owned this car for 18 years; bought it as a 2-yr-old used car); I have many jealous friends :-) Love the view when I drive: I can see the road, as opposed to having a huge hood in front of me; the chairs are also high enough to give you that SUV-feeling. There is plenty head-room, so that 6' or taller people will sit comfortably, including plenty of legroom in the back seats. Car seats for babies fit and can be tied down properly without much effort. The engine lasts a VERY long time (still have the original one). I've only had to replace the fuel injector, radiator and alternator over 18 years, besides the regular maintenance of tune-ups & oil changes. Easy maintenance: the engine parts are easily accessible and replacement parts are cheap, because the car is so common. My next car? Most likely another Civic (the hybrid, this time)"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Wednesday, July 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 280,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Easy to work on, precision parts, reliable"

Cons: "Cheap plastic on door panels, expensive OEM parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used about 8 years ago. This is the longest I've owned a car in my life, all my others having had some major issue in their lifetime. This car has been a blessing. It's reliably driven me over 150,000 miles in that time and continues to press on. It's had some major issues like the ignition coil and clutch going out, and some minor ones like replacing the axles, the regulator arms in the windows (apparently these cars had issues with those), replacing the catalytic converter and O2 sensors, the arm rests caving in (my major complaint), and a minor oil leak. But compared to the problems I've had in the past with other vehicles, this one has been a dream."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Hondas are great!

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 202,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and park"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our third Honda, need we say more. Drives like a car should drive. No mush, just good response."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Loved this car from day one.

By on Tuesday, July 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 279,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very inexpensive. To buy and to matain."

Cons: "Not great pick-up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Civic new and for 16 years it has performed better than any car I have ever known. While other people are getting major things fixed on their vehicle, I am doing regular maintenance on mine. In 16 years the total cost of all major repairs I have ever had to do, and nothing was really major, I have spent less than #3000. I love this car. I will drive a Honda forever."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love my honda

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Affordable, reliable, great gas mileage"

Cons: "Paint oxidized horribly so it always looks dirty"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved my honda, had it for 6 years and the only repairs I've ever had to do mechanically would be normal fixes such as breaks, tires, new timing belt.... I am pretty sure if you do normal routine maintence this car could run pretty much forever! Honda's are awesome!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great, Reliable and Fun to Drive Car

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great Price, Reliable, Fun To Drive"

Cons: "Highway Noise, Low HP,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The civic is a great all around car. Great gas mileage, fantastic reliability, cheap maintenance. I have always been car savvy but this generation Civic is by far the easiest to work on. I've changed the headgasket multiple times on these by just following a service manual. I don't care what others say, this car is fun to drive, especially with the 5 speed manual transmission. It may not make a lot of horsepower or have a lot of torque, but the small rev happy motor has plenty of spunk to push around a 1 ton car. The combination of light weight and high revs is always a winner. Considering how large the tuning market is for civics, and the wide availability of parts, it's no wonder it is such a popular selling car. My car personally has Koni Adjustable Shocks and Neuspeed Sport Springs as the only modifications and boy does it bring out the capability of the chassis. The ride is better than stock suspension and it hugs corners like a beast (with grippy tires of course). If you want a well rounded, low cost, and somewhat sporty car to drive, the 1996-2000 Civic is for you."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

It is the best car I have owned,

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it used and have owned it for 10 years."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Car I've Ever Owned!

By on Sunday, June 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great mpg! scoots in and out of traffic."

Cons: "uncomfortable seats and not much leg room."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I've ever owned and the reason I still have it today after 18 years! It used to get 30+ mpg on the highway with low mileage; however, it can get up to 50mpg highway now that it's "broken in good". I've taken this car to the beach, mountains, city, and rural areas in rain,snow, stop/start driving. It handles superb and better than an SUV I owned. My only complaint is that it's the most uncomfortable car I've owned. Seats hurt my back and not much leg room. Otherwise, if this car is kept maintained like mine has been, it can go for 100k's miles easily. I'll never get rid of this car."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Ahead of its time; Best compact car.

By on Monday, June 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great price, great mpg, stylish 90s compact car"

Cons: "no CD player in the LX, only 107 horsepower"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

my car when i purchased it

"Honda does it right. The civic may not be luxurious, but when it comes to getting your money's worth, it's an amazing car to own. Exceptional gas mileage, and reliability that lives up to the Honda standard. I've owned this car for four years and plan to buy a newer model year civic. I've had the check engine light come on only once for a minor part needing to be replaced, and even in below zero (Fahrenheit) degrees, the engine still started on the first attempt. If you maintain this car it will show the same treatment on the road and in your wallet. The 1997 civic is perfect for anyone who appreciates good value and is willing to sacrifice a little power (though it can still have some kick to it) for saving money on a car that will last for many years."

my car when i purchased it

Great reliable gas saver.

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 163,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great economical car, etc."

Cons: "not a luxury car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this 97 HONDA for 10 years and it has been extremely reliable and economical. Wish that the newer Hondas were as reliable. Only the Fit appears to have the reliability of the older Honda civics.The mileage on the highway varies from 33 TO 40 MPG. Using cruise control helps."

good reliable car

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great on gas, has about half life on it,"

Cons: "small. paint fades fast!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"good car for the $, does not break down often, I have 197,000 miles on it, and it is still pretty strong, gas mileage is great, and I can zip in and out of traffic, very economical, still runs great."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

most reliable vehicle I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, May 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,630

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great on gas and great car for running around. Very economical for trips."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Steady, reliable, not flashy

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 209,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great value for the money. Well made"

Cons: "Not a sports car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a solid little car. It's not flashy; it's not luxurious; but it goes and goes. Had mine for 17 years with no mechanical problems! If you are the sort who has a car to get around rather than to impress, this is a great car."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

going to miss this car.

By on Tuesday, May 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 261,032

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable,goes forever,"

Cons: "I honestly can't think of any!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My fuel pump went out at 261,032 miles I had the car 3 years and it has worked great. I did have to have a new water pump and timing belt a couple of years ago other than that it has worked great. I just think it's best to get a different car than to fix the fuel pump and CV axles. I think if those things were fixed she would still have quite a bit of life left in her. :)"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals