Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1995 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 475 Ratings for the 1992 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

Great First Car

By on Friday, April 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 243,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Value, Reliability, Handling, MPG."

Cons: "Road Noise, Power Windows can fail, small gas tank"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a '94 EX sedan and I love it! This civic is a great balance of performance and effiency. I would recommend the manual transmission for better performance. I average about 34 miles per gallon with mixed city and highway driving. Howver, this car is really pretty quick of the line with the 5-spd manual and handles very well and predictably. Because of previous abuse I have had to replace the front brakes, gas and brake lines, and the alternator. That being said, I did all of these repairs myself and the parts are very cheap and widely available. The body has held up pretty well for not being taken care of and for having 2400000 miles on it. The engine and transmission are rock solid and I don't plan to replace or repair them soon. Personally I find the car's seats to be comfortable and supportive, but if you are over 6-foot the celing will be too low. In the EX there are only 2 tiny cup holders that can only hold cans. Overall the design and location of controls in logical and pretty modern. One con is the gas tank is small at only 10 gallons. However with 34 MPG I have a range of about 330 miles which is no too bad. Overall this car is a good value and a great first/college car."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

465,000 Miles

By on Tuesday, March 17, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This thing is built like a tank. I noticed some people dont give it as many stars for performance, but in a sense relative to an economy car, this thing has a good amount of power. Mine currently has 465,000 miles on it, still gets 34-39 MPG depending on the season, and starts in the dead of winter. I was hoping to reach 1,000,000 but i have a bad feeling rust will get to it first, but hey its worth a shot. Great Cars!!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I love my Civic!

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 306,499

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my little Civic! 18 years old (1994) with 306,499 miles and still running! Needs work occasionally as you would expect a car that old with that many miles on it but I love it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Ol' Reliable

By on Tuesday, September 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very affordable, Great mpg, highly responsive"

Cons: "Small issues if ignored, can turn to big ones."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my Civic DX for about ten years now. It purchased it through a private owner at 150,000 miles. Adding to that mileage a great deal, it's been with me through the craziest storms, and has seen every state in New England. The interior design and features are simplistic, and easy to locate and use, the handling is perfect, its transmission is highly responsive, and I can't stress enough how valuable its mpg rating is. Any time it needed a repair, it cost a fraction of the price of any other make and model of a different manufacturer. Hands down, if I could make this Civic last forever, it would be the only car I would ever own."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Outstanding little car that keeps on going

By on Saturday, September 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 1992 Civic DX about 3 years or so ago. Since then besides oil changes the only thing I have had to replace was the alternator and battery. Even though changing the alternator is a little tricky. I get about 50-54 mpg out of the little booger. And of course my wallet enjoys it. I paid only 1200 for it when I got it and it had about 120K on the original engine and transmission. It now has 254K on it and still is going strong. I will drive this car until it dies. It has been lent out to other family members and has been put through torture with them before I got it back the body has pings and etc all in it but who cares about looks when 20 bucks fills your tank up and carries you well over 400 miles without even having to think about refilling. I recommend if anyone has one keep it, even if it may take a bit of money to keep it going, you will always get your money back out of the car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car, XLNT gas mileage

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I get an average of 40 miles to a gallon. In terms of performance it is not the fastest car out there but good enough for commuting considering the gas mileage. In terms of comfort it is not equipped with a lot of storage compartments, no door pockets, the only storage you have is the hatchback trunk and the glovebox compartment. Other than that it is a great car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

BEST CAR I EVER BOUGHT!

By on Monday, August 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliability"

Cons: "rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"owned this car for 6 years. only thing i have ever replaced was the alternator. best car for reliability. never let me down. only thing wrong with the car. it gets the usual honda rust in the rear wheel fenders."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Peppy

By on Saturday, November 06, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"People are always making offers to buy my car! It is a great little car, fuel efficient, economical, reliable and accelerates quickly. I will keep it as long as it keeps going."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

It will be a sad day when it dies

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my Civic new in 1993 and planned on keeping it for 2-3 years until I was done with college. Now it is 15 years later and I only have 182,000 miles on it and still get 39 - 42 mpg. Too bad they can't turn it into a hybred so it gets 60+. Other than the things you need to do at regular intervals (maintenance, brakes, tires...) my total repair costs over the last 15 years have been about $400.00. I wish I could get another brand new 1993 just like it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

good car

By on Monday, October 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had my 95 civic for 3 years. I love it! It has 153,000 miles on it and still runs like a champ! My only complaints are there aren't a lot of compartments, it's not the quickest car it starts out slow but I do 85+ on the highway no problem, and I am 5'10 all legs so I do feel bad for the person sitting behind me. But I never have to go to the gas station filling up costs me $20-25 and it has never broken down on me. No major repairs have been needed besides a water pump and a new timing belt. I would recommend this to any parent as a childs first car or anyone who needs a commuter car."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Power, Milage, Reliability

By on Sunday, September 16, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I am an original owner with 256,000 miles on my Civic EX. It's still running great though I keep a less than perfect maintenance schedule. Still getting 37+ MPG after 12 years of commute abuse. Love the handling, speed, style, and consistency. All electric extras (windows, locks, moon roof) still working. I will buy another."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Favorite Car

By on Friday, August 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"We have owned this car for 13 years. It has been the best car that we have ever owned. Economical, reliable and just seems to go and go and go."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Newer Hondas just aren't this good

By on Friday, September 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 243,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Cheap & EASY to repair, not that you ever need to"

Cons: "Made for small people only; cup "wires" are a joke"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 1995 EX in 2008 from the original owner when it had 212xxx miles on it. Now it has over 243xxx miles and is still running strong. I personally drove it for 4 years and I'm currently letting my younger sister is use it. I drove it HARD every day (pushing it past red line all the time, etc.). Now my sister drives it like she's a grandma and the car has kept my little secret as NOTHING ever goes goes out, despite my abuse. The ONLY thing wrong with the car is the oxidization from 5 years of sitting in the direct California sunlight (previous owner garaged it for 13 years). I plan on keeping the car until the apocalypse; since I do not see any reason to ever sell it and it's worth any repair."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

BEST CAR IVE ever owned by far

By on Thursday, April 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, amazing MPG, reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Honda Civic is a wonderful daily driver mine is still moving after 200,000 plus miles shes never let me down"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

perfect but.....

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "light, motor swap ready .... perfect on gas"

Cons: "honda rust , suspension , and brake system..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"awesome body sytle, not so much for performance,,,, stock"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love it

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "..........."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"pretty quick i changed my engine and transmission to jdm b18b wit gsr tranny which is acura integra engine and transmission, converted to power windows/locks and mirrors. overal i love this car"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Still running strong

By on Monday, October 25, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"After almost 300k miles, this is a very reliable, smooth running little car. I often get 35+ MPG. Highly recommended!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Monday, June 21, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"If you need a reliable car for everyday city/freeway driving this is a great car for you! It is comfortable, gas efficient and zippy. Its size make it feel safe but you can park in almost any space. It is low to the ground which can make getting in/out with a disability or kids challenging."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A FUN GAS SAVER

By on Friday, February 19, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had a 1995 Honda Civic EX for a year and a half and mine has over 220,000 miles on it. The engine sounds great, the seats don't squeak and the little rattles only start at 85mph. I drove it all the way up to Canada and back down to California, and the engine light didn't come on once for the 2000+ mile trip. In the time that I've owned it, I've only replaced the battery, oil, a headlight, the distributer and a clutch cylinder. I rarely even have to look at the gas gauge, I put $23 in it every week and a half and drive it to work and around town every single day. It gets at least 35 miles to the gallon highway, and is as fun to drive as any go-kart. It's not the fastest car, but it isn't the slowest either, and the acceleration is pretty good for having such a small engine and low hp & torque. I LOVE this car. I would recommend this car to any college student! Keep it stock and save on gas, or rack up the insurance and mod it - this car can take it! A+ for the Honda Civic."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Friday, January 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this used almost two years ago to use back and forth from work. It had 195000 when I bought it and it now has 225000. All I've done is change the oil a few times, and it's nothing special to look at but it still runs great and drives straight as an arrow. These cars were built to last."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Economic

By on Monday, January 18, 2010

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"Gets 40-46 miles to the gallon and not a hybrid, do I need to say more? I paid $500 for mine and it has almost 200,000 miles on it, a guy is looking at buying it for $1000 as is. That's Honda Civic, that's engineering!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

my 92 sedan

By on Saturday, April 11, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"have to tell you i bought this car from a inpound yard for $800. and reg. trans. was like $60. given basic maint. and a starter nothing bad i can say what so ever about honda it is my first honda and not my last great gas milage and everybody says poor performance but keep in mind the engine's disp. is 1.5 liter's less then the soda your drinking !!! deff. recomend this car and have...... thnx honda for getting me to work without taking all my money in gas"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

reliability

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car for 1000 dollers it was setting for nearly 2 years before I got it and all it needed was a jump and now i drive it every day and still have not done any maintenance. But only because i cannot afford it at the moment. The gas mileage is amazing around 35 mpg. The car is very comfortableto be 14 yr old compact economy car with 192000 miles .and perfomance is good and its very fun to drive it looks better than the newer civics in my opinion its just a great car. I have also heard that repairs are very cheap if you need them."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

366,000

By on Tuesday, February 05, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I had an '83 Civic coming up on 340,000 miles before it was totaled. My '93 just turned over 366,000. Extremely reliable - only routine maintenance, a few exhaust systems, front axels. I do a lot of highway driving, and consistenly got just a shade below 40 MPG in the summer and 36-37 mpg in the winter. I'm finally retiring it because it just blew a head gasket and I don't want to put the money into it at this point, but I would recommend this vehicle (or any Honda Civic)."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By FAR the BEST car I ever owned!

By on Friday, December 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"We bought our Civic VX brand new in Oct 1992 for 12,000. Drove it off the lot with 34 miles which we put on during the test drive. First BRAND NEW car ever owned. Now at 170,000 still the best car we ever bought (7 cars later this is still the only one we "still" own.). Reliable, still getting 45+ per gallon. Normal wear and tear aside, the only thing we have ever had to replace was the O2 sensor which we gave up on because they kept burning out. Knocked our gas mileage from 50+ to 45+ something we are willing to live with at this point."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals