Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1994 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 466 Ratings for the 1992 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next

Perfect Value Car

By on Wednesday, May 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "price, value, long lasting"

Cons: "poor pick up, uncomfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 10 years now and it has only stopped working once for me. I paid $3500 for it when I bought it, have kept up regular maintenance on it, and it still runs perfect. I take it to the Honda dealership for service (because who knows Hondas better than the Honda dealership?) and they tell me every time that this car could easily last through 250,000 and maybe to 300,000. It is not the most comfortable car or the best handling car, but it is certainly the best bang for the buck."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great First Car

By on Friday, April 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 243,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Value, Reliability, Handling, MPG."

Cons: "Road Noise, Power Windows can fail, small gas tank"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a '94 EX sedan and I love it! This civic is a great balance of performance and effiency. I would recommend the manual transmission for better performance. I average about 34 miles per gallon with mixed city and highway driving. Howver, this car is really pretty quick of the line with the 5-spd manual and handles very well and predictably. Because of previous abuse I have had to replace the front brakes, gas and brake lines, and the alternator. That being said, I did all of these repairs myself and the parts are very cheap and widely available. The body has held up pretty well for not being taken care of and for having 2400000 miles on it. The engine and transmission are rock solid and I don't plan to replace or repair them soon. Personally I find the car's seats to be comfortable and supportive, but if you are over 6-foot the celing will be too low. In the EX there are only 2 tiny cup holders that can only hold cans. Overall the design and location of controls in logical and pretty modern. One con is the gas tank is small at only 10 gallons. However with 34 MPG I have a range of about 330 miles which is no too bad. Overall this car is a good value and a great first/college car."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Reliable and fun to drive

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling, good gas mileage, very reliable"

Cons: "Acceleration could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the EX coupe from original owner in 2005. My previous car was an Acura, so I was a bit disappointed that the Civic didn't have much "get up and go", but you really can't compare it to a V6 anyway. It has a very sporty feel and handles superbly. The gas mileage is still pretty good. The paint still looks good, but it has been garaged most of the time. It's handled extreme temperatures very well, although sometimes the driver's door freezes shut and I have to open it from the passenger side. I replaced the stereo and front speakers (speakers are easy to replace yourself). Haven't had to do anything else to it, since the previous owner replaced the belt. I know this car could keep going for many years, and I intend to keep it until it finally gives up the ghost."

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

'95 Honda Civic lx--GREAT CAR

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "looks, style, gas mileage, dependable."

Cons: "when u let off the gas, it comes almost to a stop."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've only had it for a little over a month. I love it. I don't see me getting rid of it any time in the near future. Runs great, looks nice, good gas mileage, dependable, nice sized trunk. It was well worth the money."

GOOD RELIABLE VEHCILE FOR THE PRICE.

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,005

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good gas milage"

Cons: "minor things mentioned about"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"LOOKS AND RUNS GOOD FOR A 1995 HONDA. SIMPLE THINGS WRONG WITH WITH. DRIVERS WINDOW IS SLIGHTLY OFF TRACK DOESN'T GO ALL THE WAY UP WITH OUT HELP. Sliding moon roof is a little slow might be the motor or might need to be greased up (im assuming it needs some maintenance/grease will clean it and apply some tomorrow. I'm sure it will fix it). Hood didn't latch without help of moving spring back, a little wd40 help and fixed that. alignment OFF, PULLS TO THE RIGHT. drivers side quarter panel has a little dent in it. brakes work good. slight squeaked on the rear drivers side spring/shock. Only new part added was an o2 sensor. clutch is a little sensitive. Good gas millage. One of the better cars i have owned out of about 10 different vehicles. I would have to rank this car 3rd. (#1) 1995 bmw 325i, (#2) 1990 chevy caprice V8 305, (#3) 1995 honda civic ex 2dr coupe. Would recommend if you find one in good condition adult owned and not beat or abused up by a kid."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love my Civic!

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 306,499

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my little Civic! 18 years old (1994) with 306,499 miles and still running! Needs work occasionally as you would expect a car that old with that many miles on it but I love it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great mileage, versatile, reliable vehicle

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and great mileage."

Cons: "No power steering. Sluggish on steep hills."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 1994 Honda Civic CX used in 1995 and have driven it for 17 years. It has been very reliable and is fun to drive. For a small car, it's very peppy and has excellent handling. The steering is sharp and it's very maneuverable, even at high speeds. I have had to dodge things on the freeway and have never had it skid or feel unstable. The rear seats fold down and the hatch opens with a small "tailgate", so you can transport quite a lot of cargo. For example, I have carried a 6 foot ladder, a bicycle, and 10 bags of mulch in this car. Some of the small plastic parts have broken off on the interior, but the seats are well made and have held up well. I have consistently gotten 35-40 mpg in the city and 42-48 mpg on the highway. The only things I don't like about this vehicle are that it's sluggish going up steep hills, especially at high altitudes, and it doesn't have power steering, which can make parking a chore, at times. Overall, I have been very satisfied with this car over the years."

immortal little 4 piston

By on Thursday, March 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 229,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "wont let you down"

Cons: "i dont see myself with another car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i got this car with about 180k miles within two years i have put about 50k on it. i have never spent more than 100 dollars at once to fix it. only one major thing to say. i love this car plus i got it for 600 dollars haha"

nice car

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I want this car

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "nice car"

Cons: "2"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"nice car want it 552 was the price in good condition"

Great Car, but some small issues

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I actually have no problem with this car at all, I would just strongly suggest that if you get one, get alarm immediatley. They are EXTREMELY EASY to steal. Other then that i love it. Its my first car and besides being stolen it hasnt let me down. Even though it was stolen and i then had to do some work on it i still own and its still pulling its weight around. Good first car, but only in a place of low theft."

Best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent, economical, fun car!"

Cons: "N/A"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I hope to purchase an auto either very much like this one, or else something like a Toyota Celica, I also ownede one of these years ago, a really fine car!"

new many motor's parts

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "hit in the passenger side n case trunk is broken"

Cons: "everything works"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"new brakes, n many things in the motor such as battery, time chain , complete tune up, n I do not the name of the part that goes all the way from one from tire to the other one."

really great car

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,400

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "mpg, small tank, fun to drive"

Cons: "cup holders, kind of crowded, small side mirrors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

It took awhile to get use to it being green.

"My '93 2D DX Coupe Honda Civic is a great car even with as many miles as I have on it. The person before me put headers on it so it's really loud but it's not my fault. I feel like I paid too much for it ($1750) but it's paying off. I love it's gas mileage"

It took awhile to get use to it being green.

really great car

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,400

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "mpg, small tank, fun to drive"

Cons: "cup holders, kind of crowded, small side mirrors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

It took awhile to get use to it being green.

"My '93 2D DX Coupe Honda Civic is a great car even with as many miles as I have on it. I love it's gas mileage"

It took awhile to get use to it being green.

wouldn't have any other car...240,000 miles so far

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas milage, great pick up, easy to repair"

Cons: "small trunk"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Civic is 20 years old, with 240,000 miles, and the same engine and major parts are still on it. I get about 35 miles to a gallon gas, and it has great pick up. The trunk is smaller than my 91 Civic, but that's the only thing I don't like about the car."

rusty but trusty

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great on gas"

Cons: "they rust easy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its a good car. Just rusty AND old."

My Honda is 18 Years Young!

By on Wednesday, January 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, Great MPG, Cheap to Operate"

Cons: "None come to mind!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My intentions are to keep my Honda Civic until I can slap a 20 year "collector" tag on it's tail end. I am just as happy with it now as the day I drove it off the showroom floor in 1994 with only 64 miles on the odometer! To me, it's just as stylish, and some years, even better looking than the newest models."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

very dependable gas saver always ready to go

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive great resale value"

Cons: "cabin gets loud because of lack of insulation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great thing about this car is that anyone can get in and drive and have fun, very reliable once maintained fix cost is usually cheap unless its a major problem"

love it

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "..........."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"pretty quick i changed my engine and transmission to jdm b18b wit gsr tranny which is acura integra engine and transmission, converted to power windows/locks and mirrors. overal i love this car"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Luv my 94 Honda

By on Friday, January 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 295,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "SO fun to drive! Very clean"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My honda is 18 years old, I've owned it for 7 years. still drives better than a lot of other cars i've been in. I get about 28-35 miles to the gallon. I've driven from LA to San Diego and back and still had a 1/4 tank. I haven't had any major repairs. Just regular maintenance oil changes and tire rotations every few months, filters, brakes, tires, belts, every few years. And parts are very affordable for this car too"

Excellent gas mileage, good power, good handling.

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives like a sports car, gets over 40mpg."

Cons: "honda does not sell replacement wire harness plugs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Yes.... my son wanted to put a transformer badge on the car. He named it "Hotwire."

"I bought the car with 180,000 on it. Even though there were no records of maintenance, it performs flawlessly. The car has good power, and can pull off a flat 16 second pass at the drag strip. I have no problem getting 41 to 42mpg highway. When 225,000 miles hit, I decided to buy an Acura Integra GSR motor and transmission and install it into the car. The car gets a regular beating at the drag strip, still performs flawlessly, AND still gets around 32 mpg on the highway. It now does a 14.4 second pass in the 1/4 mile, and will beat just about any car on the street. The car is amazingly simple to work on, and parts can be found everywhere."

Yes.... my son wanted to put a transformer badge on the car. He named it "Hotwire."

great fun

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"awsome, reliable, fun to drive,"

Its a Great little Reliable car to drive

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great on gas only takes $30 to fill up which is just fine great every day run around car to have"

awesome first car

By on Wednesday, January 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this is my first car i purchased, even learned how to drive stick shift on it I have had to make a few minor fixes, nothing too major"

great little car

By on Monday, January 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"outstanding reliable transportation. 40 mpg hiway 32 mpg city-need I say more?"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 19 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details