Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1994 Honda Civic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 470 Ratings for the 1992 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 47 | Next

best gas mileage ever!

By on Monday, January 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Best gas mileage I've seen, smooth standard tranny"

Cons: "small car with little inside space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love the standard transmission in this car. While not the most powerful engine, the car does a decent job of accelerating quickly from a stop. If you like customizing, this car has several aftermarket options available. The greatest thing about this car is the 45 mi/gal highway and 35 mi/gal city! One time I even clocked my car as getting 50 mi/gal. I've seen motorcycles with less fuel efficiency! I would definitely suggest this car to someone who is learning standard for the first time, or to someone looking for an inexpensive vehicle with great fuel economy!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Car was purchased new 20 years ago. Very reliable

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"With routine maintenance this car will last forever."

Outstandingly Reliable

By on Sunday, January 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, handling, trans., engine, mpg."

Cons: "Revs a bit fast, engine noise in car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought my 1995 Honda Civic LX in 2000 for 7000 with 30000 miles on it. I have put 190000 miles on this car myself, and I have never had to take it to the shop. Literally, nothing has gone wrong, and it runs so strong that I don't believe anything ever will. I had to have the SRS inspected in 2005 and it was $15 dollars. That is so much cheaper than any other car of its kind it's stupid, and so are all of the other repairs you could possibly ever have to make."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is by far the best car I've ever owned!

By on Wednesday, January 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "dependable, good mileage, easy to drive"

Cons: "small back seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car in March 1994 and I still have it! I've never missed an oil change (every 3,000 miles) and this car has never required anything other than routine, expected maintenance. I have never had any sudden or unexpected serious engine, clutch, transmission, etc. trouble requiring expensive maintenance. After 20 years, its just time to move on to another car. My wife can't drive a standard and it's time for something that suits her. The only drawback on the 1994 was the backseat was too small for adults to travel. But, I was single so, it didn't matter. New Civics are larger. GREAT CAR!"

wish i would have got a nice one...

By on Thursday, November 14, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: sick of repairs

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun, dependable, cheap parts"

Cons: "many repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"previous owners where very rough on this car. got this car at 150k two years ago. replaced starter, thermostat and hoses several times, had plenty electrical problems like one headlight not working and the left rear blinker not working, ecu problems and so on. leaked/burned a quart of oil every 200-300 miles. exhaust cracked off at the muffler and smoke was bad inside, it gave us headaches. door hinges bent down on both sides(heavy doors) and caused it to bend in the fender behind the wheel. even with all that and plenty more problems it still always got me where i was going very fast with 30+mpgs in town and 40 hwy. i got sick of repairing things so i sold it."

Ol' Reliable

By on Tuesday, September 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very affordable, Great mpg, highly responsive"

Cons: "Small issues if ignored, can turn to big ones."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had my Civic DX for about ten years now. It purchased it through a private owner at 150,000 miles. Adding to that mileage a great deal, it's been with me through the craziest storms, and has seen every state in New England. The interior design and features are simplistic, and easy to locate and use, the handling is perfect, its transmission is highly responsive, and I can't stress enough how valuable its mpg rating is. Any time it needed a repair, it cost a fraction of the price of any other make and model of a different manufacturer. Hands down, if I could make this Civic last forever, it would be the only car I would ever own."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Newer Hondas just aren't this good

By on Friday, September 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 243,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Cheap & EASY to repair, not that you ever need to"

Cons: "Made for small people only; cup "wires" are a joke"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 1995 EX in 2008 from the original owner when it had 212xxx miles on it. Now it has over 243xxx miles and is still running strong. I personally drove it for 4 years and I'm currently letting my younger sister is use it. I drove it HARD every day (pushing it past red line all the time, etc.). Now my sister drives it like she's a grandma and the car has kept my little secret as NOTHING ever goes goes out, despite my abuse. The ONLY thing wrong with the car is the oxidization from 5 years of sitting in the direct California sunlight (previous owner garaged it for 13 years). I plan on keeping the car until the apocalypse; since I do not see any reason to ever sell it and it's worth any repair."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent transportation car

By on Friday, August 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Economical, reliable, sporty drive, timeless style"

Cons: "Noisy inside, seats uncomfortable, underpowered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought this car new in 1995 and maintained it by the book. It still runs great and I've never had a problem with it. On the down side, it is a bit underpowered, noisy inside, and does not have very comfortable seats. Best features are its reliability and mileage - it gets 35 to 40 MPG on the open road and at least 28 MPG around town. Repairs have been absolutely minimal."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love Love Love my 1994 Honda Civic LX!

By on Monday, July 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, low maintenance, easy to replace parts"

Cons: "none!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my '1994' honda civic (manual) in 1995 with 45,000miles. 2013 I have 151,000 amazing miles...just basic maintenance, I hope to keep her as long as possible which many say into the high 200thousands...cars are not made this well anymore...plastic with metal, different metals that expand at different temperatures causing seals to go...I don't want a throw away car =( Betsy will hopefully retire with me =), I get 33city and 36 fwy...and no hybrid battery cost! after 1998 I think Honda began working on other projects (robots, jets) and the civic started going downhill. If you have a civic up to 1998, keep her!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The ultimate car when it comes to Quality.

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 290,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "bulletproof"

Cons: "cup holders were made those small coke cans"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner of this car, the first was my brother. I also own a 2010 accord, but this car has been my daily driver to and from work 120 miles round trip for years.I check all my fluids once a week, just started using synthetic oil at around 250000 miles if you can believe that and its the original engine. My ultimate goal is to hit 300000 plus, people at my job site are amazed at it.I will never sell this vehicle, I will continue to maintain it, till I can until it blows up than I will finally retire her. one more thing my brother only had the car for one year.I have gone threw 3 decades with this incredible car."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 47 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Civic near Honolulu. See local deals