Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Honda Accord

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1573 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 315 | Next

reliable and fun to drive!

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage, power, reliable"

Cons: "motor mounts, disk changer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my first car, bought it used and have had it for over 3 years. Never had to do any major repairs, just up-keep work. This is a very reliable car. The drive is great, definitely hugs the road and has plenty of power! Even with a race car feel, the gas mileage is still good. There's only minor things I don't like about the vehicle: the 6-disk CD changer seems to always get jammed, don't like the button set up on steering wheel, motor mounts ware out fast, and I'm not a fan of two-door cars in general. But for 14 years old and over 200,000 miles, my car has treated me well!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2002 Transmission Problem

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent handling/speed/fun to drive"

Cons: "2002 Transmission issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I am told that the transmissions in the Honda 2002 era are problematic. My 2002 Honda Ex Accord V6 is great in every other way and I have enjoyed owning it. I would give it a much higher rating if the transmission were not going out. The tranny began slipping about 18 months ago, but I am still driving it. The slipping is limited to just the time between 1st & 2nd gear or when I slow down and almost stop, but need to speed back up again (ie: stopping for a red light that turns green before I come to a complete stop). I have put about 10k miles on it since I first noticed the problem and took it to a transmission shop for an opinion. It is still very drivable if driven softly. I think it will last another year, but will replace it before that time is up. I already have a new owner lined-up (family member/gift) and he is fully aware of the transmission problem but knows that the gifted car is well worth the upcoming repair costs."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Experience in all catagories

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Wonderful ride/dependable/great mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car -- I have done all the scheduled maintenance and had one $450.00 repair in 12 years, 28-30 miles per gallon, will get up and go when needed and not hard on tires."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: new models came out for Honda and Toyota

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable good gas mileage"

Cons: "exterior paint job"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I brought this car at the auto auction in 99 or 00. The car ran great and got great gas mileage. No problems with the car, except I notice the exterior starting wearing away on hood and other areas of exterior wax paint job began eroding not sure why but notice on others as well, I guess I should have paid for a new paint job like my cousin did and she still has that car. Honda's roll forever."

Loooooongest lasting car ever for me

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality, economical, enduring."

Cons: "Rust, seatbelts lock up in back."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Although this car is 14-15 years old it STILL runs great. It has 140,000 miles. I looked on the internet and 2000 Honda Accords were running with 400,000 miles. That's amazing!! I have a couple issues, first was this winter, the bushings on the right (passenger) side started making the WORST noise ever!!! I was told it could be anywhere from $60.00 to $800.00 to fix. He also said that if I waited until it warmed up the noise would stop. We did have a couple of nice days here and there and the noise quieted. I also saw someone with a 2002 Honda Accord that had the same issue. My second and last issue...My poor car started rusting horribly...Out of nowhere. I do keep my car in the garage. I don't really have to drive it that often either. I do understand that it is an older car but it really popped out of nowhere."

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 315 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Accord near Honolulu. See local deals