Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2001 Honda Accord

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1622 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 325 | Next

15 years of reliabilty

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, affordable, low maintenance"

Cons: "Oil filter a little hard to get to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still has original rear brakes, muffler. Car has never failed to start, except when battery failed. Changed, all 4, motor mounts (only one was bad) at about 160,000 mi. Only routine maintenance (Timing belt/water pump @100,000 mi.) Rates as good as my previous 1990 Camry (244,000 mi) and present Altima (47,000 mi). I will keep Accord as backup car. It is worth way more than its $2700 value."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Ok it has 300000 miles on it by far the best car

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 298,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car is the best I have ever owned. My first car was a 1951 ford just to give you some idea of how long I have been driving. This Honda is very reliable the tranny west out at 101K miles had it replaced about 10 years ago. Just maintenance since, the change oil every 3K and just try to maintain it. I bought a new 2012 ford certified fusion for my wife so far so good. I just purchased a 2013 Impala LTZ certified for myself want to keep and fix the old Honda bot we can't have 3 cars in a 2 person family. God I hate to see that car go but the time has come just hope the 2 new ones are half as good."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great, reliable, comfortable, kept up car.

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, roomy, and very reliable"

Cons: "I am not picky so I have no con's."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has had 2 owners, my cousin and myself. Have all maintenance records from both of us. Very reliable as any car would be if you keep the them up. Oil changes done every 3,000 miles, belts changed, transmission flushed, new tires, and brakes where just put on back on 8-17-14, fronts done 3 months ago. Has a some scratches and a little ding on the back door driver side. I have have been very happy with this car. Need to upgrade into a more roomy vehicle."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not worth it

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I bought this car from someone I trusted through family, at over blue book value. This car has major transmission issues, I can barely go across town and back without it jumping. It also wont smog, and now needs a new timing belt and I have only had it for about a year. I am having to put all my money in it when I have already bought it for more than it was worth. Mechanics have told me that in especially this model and year, the cars have major transmission issues. The AC has been tested and there is nothing wrong with it but it does not cool good at all (I still am sweating even on full blast sometimes). Physically, it is not bad but wouldnt recommend to anyone else unless they check it over carefully before buying. Paid over 3000 for it and very dissapointed it has so many issues."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable once I put a 98 accord engine in it...

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Works great with "new" engine."

Cons: "Too many mechanical issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought my car used in 2008 and by June 2009, my 2002 honda accord required a new engine. Leading up to this issue, my car would CONSTANTLY burn through oil. Every few weeks, my oil light would come on. Eventually 2 of my pistons were shot and my car would barely stay running. Thousands of dollars later, I have a '98 engine with 12k less miles on it than my current one. My dad's 2003 accord that he bought brand new went through the same issue w/in 6 months of mine. Not sure if these 2 years ended up with a lot of lemons, but my research indicates that MANY people had this problem. I've also had consistent rotor, bearing, strut, and ball-joint issues. Feels like I've worked on my car at least once every 2 months as long as I've had it. If I could own a decent 1999 civic again, I would. My final recommendation? If you really want a honda, stick with civics & avoid accords."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 325 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Accord near Honolulu. See local deals