Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2000 Honda Accord

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1614 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next

Best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Transmission died

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality vehicle, great interior set up, peppy"

Cons: "TRANSMISSION!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was the best vehicle I've ever owned. I got to 233,000 miles before the transmission died and I gave it away. Needless to say junk yards want $1,000 plus for a new one and I had to let her go. I never had any engine issues ever with regular upkeep"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

reliable and fun to drive!

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage, power, reliable"

Cons: "motor mounts, disk changer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my first car, bought it used and have had it for over 3 years. Never had to do any major repairs, just up-keep work. This is a very reliable car. The drive is great, definitely hugs the road and has plenty of power! Even with a race car feel, the gas mileage is still good. There's only minor things I don't like about the vehicle: the 6-disk CD changer seems to always get jammed, don't like the button set up on steering wheel, motor mounts ware out fast, and I'm not a fan of two-door cars in general. But for 14 years old and over 200,000 miles, my car has treated me well!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2002 Transmission Problem

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent handling/speed/fun to drive"

Cons: "2002 Transmission issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I am told that the transmissions in the Honda 2002 era are problematic. My 2002 Honda Ex Accord V6 is great in every other way and I have enjoyed owning it. I would give it a much higher rating if the transmission were not going out. The tranny began slipping about 18 months ago, but I am still driving it. The slipping is limited to just the time between 1st & 2nd gear or when I slow down and almost stop, but need to speed back up again (ie: stopping for a red light that turns green before I come to a complete stop). I have put about 10k miles on it since I first noticed the problem and took it to a transmission shop for an opinion. It is still very drivable if driven softly. I think it will last another year, but will replace it before that time is up. I already have a new owner lined-up (family member/gift) and he is fully aware of the transmission problem but knows that the gifted car is well worth the upcoming repair costs."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great Experience in all catagories

By on Sunday, March 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Wonderful ride/dependable/great mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car -- I have done all the scheduled maintenance and had one $450.00 repair in 12 years, 28-30 miles per gallon, will get up and go when needed and not hard on tires."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, March 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: new models came out for Honda and Toyota

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable good gas mileage"

Cons: "exterior paint job"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I brought this car at the auto auction in 99 or 00. The car ran great and got great gas mileage. No problems with the car, except I notice the exterior starting wearing away on hood and other areas of exterior wax paint job began eroding not sure why but notice on others as well, I guess I should have paid for a new paint job like my cousin did and she still has that car. Honda's roll forever."

Loooooongest lasting car ever for me

By on Friday, March 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quality, economical, enduring."

Cons: "Rust, seatbelts lock up in back."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Although this car is 14-15 years old it STILL runs great. It has 140,000 miles. I looked on the internet and 2000 Honda Accords were running with 400,000 miles. That's amazing!! I have a couple issues, first was this winter, the bushings on the right (passenger) side started making the WORST noise ever!!! I was told it could be anywhere from $60.00 to $800.00 to fix. He also said that if I waited until it warmed up the noise would stop. We did have a couple of nice days here and there and the noise quieted. I also saw someone with a 2002 Honda Accord that had the same issue. My second and last issue...My poor car started rusting horribly...Out of nowhere. I do keep my car in the garage. I don't really have to drive it that often either. I do understand that it is an older car but it really popped out of nowhere."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Top in its class!

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Good running condition,minor oil leak, needs paint work"

Best car since my 1990 accord.

By on Sunday, March 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price and reliable"

Cons: "Seats uncomfortable so I installed leather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I would recommend this car for its reliability a useful vehicle."

well taken care of dealer ship miantenace. no ding

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"well taken care of dealer ship maintenance. no dings no dents. very well Takened care of."

Just bought it today and I already love it .

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,100

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Great car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Just what I was looking for in a used vehicle . Honda's are high mileage cars as long as their maintained ."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car, low maintenace, reliable. maintained

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "love this care, its great"

Cons: "retired and ready to travel. want suv."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"by Honda certified mechanic since i bought it new."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Thursday, February 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "I wish I could fit three carseats in it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 9 years and it has been the best car. It has never had any major issues and anything small, like a sensor, Honda has always replaced for FREE. I would highly recommend this car and Honda products. I am sad to sell it but I can't fit three car seats in the back."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

not a bad car. 32 mpg

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great mpg, 32! drives well."

Cons: "transmissions"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"motor is fine. but worst transmission honda ever made. myne has gone through 3 to get to 200000 miles. my friend has the same model and his is on number 4. they like to cick the bucket evrey 80k."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my Honda !!!

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "low maint., great engine"

Cons: "poor quality paint job for 1999 models"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I got this a Honda accord DX 1999 with less than 50k miles on it. Overall great running car. Had transmission replaced cannot say for sure if I cause this problem as I had to use it like a cop car shifting gears back and forth once. I can say that I do know of two others that had transmission problems as well with their Honda's other makes. Kept good basic maintenance on car with oil changes and a product suggested to me called Lucus. This is an oil stabalizer used with oil changes.The engine ran very well ;some time I would get in the car running and attempt to start it up again because engine was so quite.. Once the car started randomly shutting down like it had some sort of electrical problem. This was corrected with replacing some plastic part within the starter; once corrected no more problems. The problem with this year (99) car is the paint job was lousy. My car look like acid has been poured on the top, hood and wear beginning to show on doors. I've seen and talked to others with the same identical paint problems. With my rack and pinion for power steering just replaced and four brand new tire guest what?. Car was totaled. I found the value to replace parts because the car on average was not a problem and engine still sound great. Loved My Honda . RIP !!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very safe & dependable, great value, comfortable

By on Saturday, February 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great value, safe, comfortable, reliable"

Cons: "no blue-tooth/low-tech"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of those cars that just "keeps on going". never let us sit in 12 years. Good in snow, solid handling, great for long trips or local travel. 5-Star safety. Does not look 12 years old. Very low cost to maintain, easy to get in and out of, reasonable trunk space, good sound system, good gas mileage...owned for 12 years and can easily go for another 5 or more. At this stage, it would be a perfect 2nd family car. Not high-tech, if that's a priority, but overall, it's the best value I've ever had in a car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

overall an excellent car for metro driving

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good value for smaller car in an urban setting"

Cons: "heating and air conditioning lacking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A great choice for commuting and an occasional longer drive"

Typical Honda!! Very reliable very dependable

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Runs Great, looks great"

Cons: "could stand new paint but not necessary"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned 3 Honda Accords in the past. I can't afford them new so I keep purchasing a newer model every few years. I have now purchased one 3 years newer and looking to sell this one. It runs great and still looks good. few dings in the paint but it is a 16 yr old car that runs perfect."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

vehicle fit what I needed at the time

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "fun to drive most days specially hwy"

Cons: "windshield wiper needs fixed, windows,transmisson?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

That is a good shot but the hood on the front doesnt close properly

"The car is needing few repairs and I did need to be investing in it so I got a better car. The car in my, nonmechanic, opion is that the transmission may need an overhaul but I have been driving it like this for a couple of months and have driven even out of town over the past year and half. If you dont have another car and need one desparately then I think you need to be a mechanic. Dont get me wrong I have no problem getting on interest and reaching 80mphbut you never know how its going to be in city. And I have put new front axels and radiatior and brake pads on it in last 6mos. When it was originally made it was probably top of the line. Now it has about 225000 miles. So when I give it a negative rating its becuase I dont know if its a buyer needing a first car if they spend more money buy something else but for a second car and or project car I see know problem it may run another year I dont know and havent gotten clear picture from transmission shops. And the airconditioner doesnt work"

That is a good shot but the hood on the front doesnt close properly

Very reliable Daily driver

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Speed, Luxury and reliability all in one for cheap"

Cons: "CD player doesnt work over time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been nothing but reliable for me, fast gets up to speed real nice and cruises like a luxury model, especially since i have the leather and moonroof makes it a pretty nice car for its time. Would recommend this to anyone who wants a first car, honda reliability and fun to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The best vehicle I've ever owned!

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 254,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great quality, extremely reliable/fuel efficient"

Cons: "Low rear seating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Honda stands by their product. I've owned car 15 years. Put lots of miles on it and it has been reliable. New alternator replaced by Honda for only cost of labor. Not a drop of engine oil burns or leaks. Gas mileage new 31mpg hwy; now avg. 25-27mpg. Drive & handling still excellent; sound system good."

260,000 miles still going strong

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, spacious, sun roof, easy to drive"

Cons: "slow acceleration, transmission issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my car is 16 years old now, it has had a lot of internal issues but overrall has held up its value. honda is a great company that manufactures quality vehicles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

15 year old car with current year performance

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very Reliable, low maintenance"

Cons: "Interior leads more to be desired"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've had my 98 Honda Accord for many years already and have only need to maintain a few things on the car such as timing belt, new tint, new paint. This thing still runs like a beast even with its high mileage of 170k. It does 0 - 60 easily and I've gotten it up to 120 MPH at this day and age. The interior is kind of standard and not very luxurious, but that's what you get for a grocery getter! This car is a sleeper and not many people expect the performance of the V6 on this Honda. I would recommend this to someone who wants a reliable car that that just wants to get to point a to point b."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun to drive! A LOT of car for the money.

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power. Sporty feel. Nice controls. Great mpg."

Cons: "Trunk lid will drip water into trunk when opened."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"V6 has plenty of power. Better power to weight than my 300HP Infiniti Q45! Also gets great mileage. Normally about 28 on the highway, and 25 around town, but have gotten as high a 31 on the highway. Controls are nicely laid out. Feels "sporty" to drive. Cruise control holds speed more precisely than any car I've ever owned. Has almost as nice of features as the much more expensive Infiniti. Only cons: Trunk lid will drip water into trunk when opened, if it's been raining. And, the intermittent wipers needs a slower setting. Other than that: Fantastic car."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best value vehicle that I ever owned

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Base models are of the best value and fun to drive"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable vehicle, dependable, great appearance, great comfort than all vehicles of the same class and value. Since I am used to V6 vehicle, this one is a little bit slow in acceleration though. But then, I can't compare a V6 with this V4. So I still give it a 10. I never had problems with this Accord while I had problems with my other cars like Maxima, Mercedes. And now all my other cars are Honda Odysses, new Accord Sports and plan to buy another Accord. I had Toyota Previa and Celica before, but they were not as reliable and not as smooth as the Honda. Having said that, I think the base models of the Honda offer more value than the high end models. Just my comment."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

the car rocks

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "n/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I drove this car for a long time and it treats me very well. I love it"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Accord near Honolulu. See local deals