Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2000 Honda Accord

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1630 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 66 | Next

Great reliable car

By on Saturday, November 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable and fun to drive"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car but wish it got better mileage!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

incomparable

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,581

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This about one of the best cars out there.....simply lovable."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

not in running condition. transmission problem

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price negotiable"

Cons: "transmission problem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Must replace or repair transmission"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One owner cared for car.

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Drives like a much newer car."

Cons: "Has a few scratches , otherwise great shape"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would love to keep the car, but I have a much newer Honda Fit. I am sure I could get another 100K easily,."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

best reliable car i have owned

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cost to maintain the best. wife loves car,keeper"

Cons: "4 cyl. acceleration poor compared to v6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had vehicle since new.Replaced climate control,a/c evaporator,windshield washer pump only in 12 years. wife likes the visabilty in car"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I'm disappointed

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great body, comfort and style"

Cons: "Transmission faulty - TWICE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Everything is great about my car except the transmission! That's the most important feature in a car! I had to have a new trans after only 58 thousand miles and it came with a 3 year warranty. Well, it's been 3 1/2 years and the trans is going again! The car has only 83 K miles on it! I'm supposed to buy ANOTHER transmission?! Really? I think I'm ready for an American car!"

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

great car great value

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "mileage, reliability, quality, resale"

Cons: "not easy to get in and out, semi-comfortable seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned since new. Extremely reliable. 30 mpg average since new. No major repairs ever. Getting in and out requires some flexibility and is much easier when younger."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The most reliable car I ever had.

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, cheap to maintain, great gas milage"

Cons: "over steering, 4 cyl engine has low power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well I have this 2001 EX 4 cylinder car for over 10 years now. I just reached the 200K miles. I am done with 2 sets timing belt, water pump jobs and @ 87K Honda replaced the transmission under warranty! I had my belt buckle fixed for free. I always maintained the car by Honda. It is still giving me a reliable ride. If you get into a fender bender parts are cheap on eBay and it is so simple to fix anything on it. I will keep it as long as I can."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Been a great car with very little service needed

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, good price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Reliable, comfortable, great buy for the $"

Doesn't Last As Long As Promised

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "sporty feel, nice vehicle handling"

Cons: "short mileage life"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased my 2001 Accord used in 2003 because I wanted a car that would be reliable and last a long time. I took good care of this car, regular maintenance, oil changes, tires, and 140,000 miles into the life of the vehicle I'm driving along and hear a soft *poof*. The mechanic says the coolant and oil have been mixing in the engine and the radiator. I anticipated driving this vehicle until at least 250,000 miles before needing to replace it. I'm very disappointed. The vehicle did not live up to expectation."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Overall a great first car

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "cup holders, nice looking, very comfortable"

Cons: "slow, small back seats in coupe, 4 speed automatic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I owned this car for a while now but I'm getting to the point I need a faster car. If you love reliable simple nice looking cars it is great! But don't expect the "VTEC TO KICK IN YO" Its really not a fast car. Topping out at around 120 its not your average "sports car". With an automatic with 4 speeds, it sure like to shift at high rpms. Talk about gas consumption if considering buying, i suggest getting a manual transmission."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Runs like a champ!

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Mechanically sound!"

Cons: "Wish it had cup holders in the back."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been very pleased with my 1999 Accord. Very rarely had to take in in to a mechanic for repairs as it really holds up. I still have it and will keep it until it decides to retire (which should be a long time from now)."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A very good, very fun first car

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Purchased new vehicle

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good price, fun to drive, phenomenal gas mileage."

Cons: "Town gas mileage compared to highway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car about 2 years ago when I was a Senior in High School, looking for a commuter car to work, school, friends houses, etc. I quickly fell in love, and put about 40,000 miles on it in the two years I have owned it. I put the money into it that it needed for repairs, and frequently drove it to Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire, and all over Maine. I loved the car and even drove it down to Florida and back this last summer. Super reliable, incredible gas mileage on the highway, a truly great first car. Now a bit older I purchased a new car and sadly have to let my Honda go. It was great while it lasted and I would buy another in the future if I had an opportunity."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This has been the best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy, easy field of vision, quiet ride"

Cons: "Clear coat failed and car was repainted."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 1998 Honda Accord. I have maintained regular maintenance on it and it has been a mechanically reliable and comfortable car. It still gets better gas mileage than my newer cars. It handles well on wet or slick roads."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Most Cost Effective Car

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "Engine is a little bit small."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car in 2000. It is very reliable. It never gave me any trouble. For maintenance, I just change oil every 7,000 miles. I did not do any other maintenance in the first 10 years. In the last couple of years, I did flush the transmission and change the timing belt. It runs great till today. It is the most cost effective car if you consider average cost per year."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car in great condition

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "See above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is in wonderful condition. No secret here. Change the oil, do the maintenence, keep the interior clean,rotate the tires."

This car drives great. Have had it for over 6yrs.

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Value"

Cons: "One disc player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Put over 25000 miles on it yearly, all I need to do is just change the oil and perform minor services like change the tire when recommended etc and the car keeps going. I plan to keep it till at least 250000, maybe 300000 if it keeps going at this rate."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Its 1999 Honda accord, good running condition

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Honda make, leather version, good running conditio"

Cons: "High on mileage, minor scrach"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Its 1999 Honda accord, good running condition with minor scratch and dents"

15 years of reliabilty

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, affordable, low maintenance"

Cons: "Oil filter a little hard to get to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still has original rear brakes, muffler. Car has never failed to start, except when battery failed. Changed, all 4, motor mounts (only one was bad) at about 160,000 mi. Only routine maintenance (Timing belt/water pump @100,000 mi.) Rates as good as my previous 1990 Camry (244,000 mi) and present Altima (47,000 mi). I will keep Accord as backup car. It is worth way more than its $2700 value."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Ok it has 300000 miles on it by far the best car

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 298,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car is the best I have ever owned. My first car was a 1951 ford just to give you some idea of how long I have been driving. This Honda is very reliable the tranny west out at 101K miles had it replaced about 10 years ago. Just maintenance since, the change oil every 3K and just try to maintain it. I bought a new 2012 ford certified fusion for my wife so far so good. I just purchased a 2013 Impala LTZ certified for myself want to keep and fix the old Honda bot we can't have 3 cars in a 2 person family. God I hate to see that car go but the time has come just hope the 2 new ones are half as good."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great, reliable, comfortable, kept up car.

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, roomy, and very reliable"

Cons: "I am not picky so I have no con's."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has had 2 owners, my cousin and myself. Have all maintenance records from both of us. Very reliable as any car would be if you keep the them up. Oil changes done every 3,000 miles, belts changed, transmission flushed, new tires, and brakes where just put on back on 8-17-14, fronts done 3 months ago. Has a some scratches and a little ding on the back door driver side. I have have been very happy with this car. Need to upgrade into a more roomy vehicle."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not worth it

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I bought this car from someone I trusted through family, at over blue book value. This car has major transmission issues, I can barely go across town and back without it jumping. It also wont smog, and now needs a new timing belt and I have only had it for about a year. I am having to put all my money in it when I have already bought it for more than it was worth. Mechanics have told me that in especially this model and year, the cars have major transmission issues. The AC has been tested and there is nothing wrong with it but it does not cool good at all (I still am sweating even on full blast sometimes). Physically, it is not bad but wouldnt recommend to anyone else unless they check it over carefully before buying. Paid over 3000 for it and very dissapointed it has so many issues."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable once I put a 98 accord engine in it...

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Works great with "new" engine."

Cons: "Too many mechanical issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought my car used in 2008 and by June 2009, my 2002 honda accord required a new engine. Leading up to this issue, my car would CONSTANTLY burn through oil. Every few weeks, my oil light would come on. Eventually 2 of my pistons were shot and my car would barely stay running. Thousands of dollars later, I have a '98 engine with 12k less miles on it than my current one. My dad's 2003 accord that he bought brand new went through the same issue w/in 6 months of mine. Not sure if these 2 years ended up with a lot of lemons, but my research indicates that MANY people had this problem. I've also had consistent rotor, bearing, strut, and ball-joint issues. Feels like I've worked on my car at least once every 2 months as long as I've had it. If I could own a decent 1999 civic again, I would. My final recommendation? If you really want a honda, stick with civics & avoid accords."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great auto

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "No cons.....just an older model of a very nice car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Has no problems. New brakes. New tires. Runs excellent. Very nice on long trips."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 268,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great and a very enjoyable to drive."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the best Honda I have ever owned. By the way I have owned 2 Honda CRV'S over the past several years and they are great as well."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 66 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Accord near Honolulu. See local deals