Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1999 Honda Accord

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1602 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next

not a bad car. 32 mpg

By on Tuesday, February 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great mpg, 32! drives well."

Cons: "transmissions"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"motor is fine. but worst transmission honda ever made. myne has gone through 3 to get to 200000 miles. my friend has the same model and his is on number 4. they like to cick the bucket evrey 80k."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my Honda !!!

By on Monday, February 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "low maint., great engine"

Cons: "poor quality paint job for 1999 models"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I got this a Honda accord DX 1999 with less than 50k miles on it. Overall great running car. Had transmission replaced cannot say for sure if I cause this problem as I had to use it like a cop car shifting gears back and forth once. I can say that I do know of two others that had transmission problems as well with their Honda's other makes. Kept good basic maintenance on car with oil changes and a product suggested to me called Lucus. This is an oil stabalizer used with oil changes.The engine ran very well ;some time I would get in the car running and attempt to start it up again because engine was so quite.. Once the car started randomly shutting down like it had some sort of electrical problem. This was corrected with replacing some plastic part within the starter; once corrected no more problems. The problem with this year (99) car is the paint job was lousy. My car look like acid has been poured on the top, hood and wear beginning to show on doors. I've seen and talked to others with the same identical paint problems. With my rack and pinion for power steering just replaced and four brand new tire guest what?. Car was totaled. I found the value to replace parts because the car on average was not a problem and engine still sound great. Loved My Honda . RIP !!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very safe & dependable, great value, comfortable

By on Saturday, February 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great value, safe, comfortable, reliable"

Cons: "no blue-tooth/low-tech"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is one of those cars that just "keeps on going". never let us sit in 12 years. Good in snow, solid handling, great for long trips or local travel. 5-Star safety. Does not look 12 years old. Very low cost to maintain, easy to get in and out of, reasonable trunk space, good sound system, good gas mileage...owned for 12 years and can easily go for another 5 or more. At this stage, it would be a perfect 2nd family car. Not high-tech, if that's a priority, but overall, it's the best value I've ever had in a car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

overall an excellent car for metro driving

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good value for smaller car in an urban setting"

Cons: "heating and air conditioning lacking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A great choice for commuting and an occasional longer drive"

Typical Honda!! Very reliable very dependable

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Runs Great, looks great"

Cons: "could stand new paint but not necessary"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned 3 Honda Accords in the past. I can't afford them new so I keep purchasing a newer model every few years. I have now purchased one 3 years newer and looking to sell this one. It runs great and still looks good. few dings in the paint but it is a 16 yr old car that runs perfect."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

vehicle fit what I needed at the time

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 225,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "fun to drive most days specially hwy"

Cons: "windshield wiper needs fixed, windows,transmisson?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

That is a good shot but the hood on the front doesnt close properly

"The car is needing few repairs and I did need to be investing in it so I got a better car. The car in my, nonmechanic, opion is that the transmission may need an overhaul but I have been driving it like this for a couple of months and have driven even out of town over the past year and half. If you dont have another car and need one desparately then I think you need to be a mechanic. Dont get me wrong I have no problem getting on interest and reaching 80mphbut you never know how its going to be in city. And I have put new front axels and radiatior and brake pads on it in last 6mos. When it was originally made it was probably top of the line. Now it has about 225000 miles. So when I give it a negative rating its becuase I dont know if its a buyer needing a first car if they spend more money buy something else but for a second car and or project car I see know problem it may run another year I dont know and havent gotten clear picture from transmission shops. And the airconditioner doesnt work"

That is a good shot but the hood on the front doesnt close properly

Very reliable Daily driver

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Speed, Luxury and reliability all in one for cheap"

Cons: "CD player doesnt work over time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been nothing but reliable for me, fast gets up to speed real nice and cruises like a luxury model, especially since i have the leather and moonroof makes it a pretty nice car for its time. Would recommend this to anyone who wants a first car, honda reliability and fun to drive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The best vehicle I've ever owned!

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 254,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great quality, extremely reliable/fuel efficient"

Cons: "Low rear seating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Honda stands by their product. I've owned car 15 years. Put lots of miles on it and it has been reliable. New alternator replaced by Honda for only cost of labor. Not a drop of engine oil burns or leaks. Gas mileage new 31mpg hwy; now avg. 25-27mpg. Drive & handling still excellent; sound system good."

260,000 miles still going strong

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, spacious, sun roof, easy to drive"

Cons: "slow acceleration, transmission issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my car is 16 years old now, it has had a lot of internal issues but overrall has held up its value. honda is a great company that manufactures quality vehicles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

15 year old car with current year performance

By on Saturday, February 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Very Reliable, low maintenance"

Cons: "Interior leads more to be desired"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've had my 98 Honda Accord for many years already and have only need to maintain a few things on the car such as timing belt, new tint, new paint. This thing still runs like a beast even with its high mileage of 170k. It does 0 - 60 easily and I've gotten it up to 120 MPH at this day and age. The interior is kind of standard and not very luxurious, but that's what you get for a grocery getter! This car is a sleeper and not many people expect the performance of the V6 on this Honda. I would recommend this to someone who wants a reliable car that that just wants to get to point a to point b."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun to drive! A LOT of car for the money.

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Power. Sporty feel. Nice controls. Great mpg."

Cons: "Trunk lid will drip water into trunk when opened."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"V6 has plenty of power. Better power to weight than my 300HP Infiniti Q45! Also gets great mileage. Normally about 28 on the highway, and 25 around town, but have gotten as high a 31 on the highway. Controls are nicely laid out. Feels "sporty" to drive. Cruise control holds speed more precisely than any car I've ever owned. Has almost as nice of features as the much more expensive Infiniti. Only cons: Trunk lid will drip water into trunk when opened, if it's been raining. And, the intermittent wipers needs a slower setting. Other than that: Fantastic car."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best value vehicle that I ever owned

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Base models are of the best value and fun to drive"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable vehicle, dependable, great appearance, great comfort than all vehicles of the same class and value. Since I am used to V6 vehicle, this one is a little bit slow in acceleration though. But then, I can't compare a V6 with this V4. So I still give it a 10. I never had problems with this Accord while I had problems with my other cars like Maxima, Mercedes. And now all my other cars are Honda Odysses, new Accord Sports and plan to buy another Accord. I had Toyota Previa and Celica before, but they were not as reliable and not as smooth as the Honda. Having said that, I think the base models of the Honda offer more value than the high end models. Just my comment."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

the car rocks

By on Saturday, February 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "n/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I drove this car for a long time and it treats me very well. I love it"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good comfortable, spacious car.

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Comfortable 4 passenger easy to drive."

Cons: "Its 12 years old."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"New transmission 1 year. Routine oil and maintenance service. Easy to drive and park. Good pickup start and passing, good braking to a stop. Comfortable back seat and large trunk. Good gas mileage."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great car,

By on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,250

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "lots of power, smooth ride."

Cons: "mpg not to good for a small car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"owned this car for over a year, add 13000 miles and had no problems at all. only dislike (not to good on gas). but you can really move if you like speed."

Reliable and Economic

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 216,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is an amazing build. Very safe and comfortable to drive. From visual appeal, it may not appear to be "fun" to drive, but I promise anyone I let drive it, always said they loved it. I would recommend a Honda of any kind for their reliability. Super safe. I love multi-center consoles and secret compartments; this car is loaded with them."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Wednesday, January 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We got the 2001 Accord brand new. A few months after purchasing it, we got into a really bad accident and the car was almost totaled. It was repaired and it was like the accident never happened. The first time we EVER had a problem with the car was last year --- 12 years after we got it. I'm sure the fact that we have relatively low miles helps. The cooling fans stopped working, the engine overheated and needed to be replaced. Now its working great again. 12 years with zero problems is a good run"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This is the best car I have ever owned.

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Hardly any repair bills, handles well."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Hardly ever any repair bills. Always up and running. Handles well. Safe and enjoyable."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car ever

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 86,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Battery life could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this from my son when he bought his new Honda. I have been very pleased with it and how it drives. It is solid and I feel very safe in it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Loved style, big windshield, etc. BUT for the las

By on Thursday, January 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Loved style, big windshield, etc. BUT for the last few years the car would STALL OUT WHILE DRIVING!!! It was random and would happen as often as 1x/week, or 1x/2 mos. Then it was fine for several months, usually in the winter,then just when I thought it was 'fixed', or I forgot about it, it would shut off on me again while I driving. It would usually happen within the first few miles of a trip. Toward the end, I looked online to see what could be wrong, and saw there was a recall before I owned the car about this problem."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, safety, low maintenance costs"

Cons: "poor acceleration, low resale value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car! I have owned this car for almost 14 years now and it is still running strong. This is my daily driver and will be until it dies."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned.

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,067

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have nothing critical to say about this car. It has been reliable, comfortable and drives like a dream since the day I bought it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent car!

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "gas mileage, power, comfort, performance"

Cons: "easy to rust, engine outlasts the body"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned my 1998 Honda Accord LX V6 for about 4 years now. While the paint is peeling, and the outside is getting a little rough, all I can say is, WOW! For having 199xxx miles on the engine, this little car goes! I have never owned a car with a more solid powertrain than this vehicle. The design of this car offers a sporty look with a really nice interior. The model I own has a v6 redline engine in it, so the power and performance that came stock on this vehicle is amazing. I can get in and out of traffic with ease and have never had to worry about losing power or struggling to keep up with traffic. when it comes to inclamite wheather in Ohio, it's almost inevitable that something durastic is going to come falling out of the sky at least a few times a year, and while everyone else is sliding off the road in the snow, I'm able to keep on going in my Honda. The 98 Accord has such a wide wheel base and offers immaculate handling, even in the worst of driving conditions. If you happen to come across a 98 Honda Accord LX coupe, and are really considering a car for a new driver, getting back and forth to work, or if you even need a nice little family car, this is the one to grab! The reliability and performance of this car is incredible, not to mention they are rather safe!! I would absolutely recommend this car to anyone thinking about purchasing one. The model being reviewed is rather dated and they aren't so easy on the eyes anymore, but again, they won't disappoint!"

First Car, Very Impressed.

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, Fun, Nice, Sleekish body style, Reliable"

Cons: "Not that good in the snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this as my first car while im 18. It has 260k miles on it and still running like a champ. I Redline it almost everyday just to hear the v6 V-Tec engine purr. Great car for almost anyone. I have a custom Dual Exhaust system on it and it sounds sooo nice. When i floor it in D3 with my friends in the car, they get scared. For such a cheap car, its very reliable, pretty quick, and nice looking. I would recommend to almost anyone."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Greatest automobile

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride and value"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car with 100,000 miles in eight years I place another 200,000. It now has 300,000 and still runs like a champ. We dub the car a beast because it never failed us. We began experience problems on the electrical system after it hit 300,000 but who can really complain. Honda's are worth ever penny"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Accord near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details