Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Honda Accord

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1614 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next

This car drives great. Have had it for over 6yrs.

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Value"

Cons: "One disc player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Put over 25000 miles on it yearly, all I need to do is just change the oil and perform minor services like change the tire when recommended etc and the car keeps going. I plan to keep it till at least 250000, maybe 300000 if it keeps going at this rate."

Its 1999 Honda accord, good running condition

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Honda make, leather version, good running conditio"

Cons: "High on mileage, minor scrach"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Its 1999 Honda accord, good running condition with minor scratch and dents"

15 years of reliabilty

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, affordable, low maintenance"

Cons: "Oil filter a little hard to get to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still has original rear brakes, muffler. Car has never failed to start, except when battery failed. Changed, all 4, motor mounts (only one was bad) at about 160,000 mi. Only routine maintenance (Timing belt/water pump @100,000 mi.) Rates as good as my previous 1990 Camry (244,000 mi) and present Altima (47,000 mi). I will keep Accord as backup car. It is worth way more than its $2700 value."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Ok it has 300000 miles on it by far the best car

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 298,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car is the best I have ever owned. My first car was a 1951 ford just to give you some idea of how long I have been driving. This Honda is very reliable the tranny west out at 101K miles had it replaced about 10 years ago. Just maintenance since, the change oil every 3K and just try to maintain it. I bought a new 2012 ford certified fusion for my wife so far so good. I just purchased a 2013 Impala LTZ certified for myself want to keep and fix the old Honda bot we can't have 3 cars in a 2 person family. God I hate to see that car go but the time has come just hope the 2 new ones are half as good."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great, reliable, comfortable, kept up car.

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, roomy, and very reliable"

Cons: "I am not picky so I have no con's."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has had 2 owners, my cousin and myself. Have all maintenance records from both of us. Very reliable as any car would be if you keep the them up. Oil changes done every 3,000 miles, belts changed, transmission flushed, new tires, and brakes where just put on back on 8-17-14, fronts done 3 months ago. Has a some scratches and a little ding on the back door driver side. I have have been very happy with this car. Need to upgrade into a more roomy vehicle."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Not worth it

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I bought this car from someone I trusted through family, at over blue book value. This car has major transmission issues, I can barely go across town and back without it jumping. It also wont smog, and now needs a new timing belt and I have only had it for about a year. I am having to put all my money in it when I have already bought it for more than it was worth. Mechanics have told me that in especially this model and year, the cars have major transmission issues. The AC has been tested and there is nothing wrong with it but it does not cool good at all (I still am sweating even on full blast sometimes). Physically, it is not bad but wouldnt recommend to anyone else unless they check it over carefully before buying. Paid over 3000 for it and very dissapointed it has so many issues."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Reliable once I put a 98 accord engine in it...

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Works great with "new" engine."

Cons: "Too many mechanical issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought my car used in 2008 and by June 2009, my 2002 honda accord required a new engine. Leading up to this issue, my car would CONSTANTLY burn through oil. Every few weeks, my oil light would come on. Eventually 2 of my pistons were shot and my car would barely stay running. Thousands of dollars later, I have a '98 engine with 12k less miles on it than my current one. My dad's 2003 accord that he bought brand new went through the same issue w/in 6 months of mine. Not sure if these 2 years ended up with a lot of lemons, but my research indicates that MANY people had this problem. I've also had consistent rotor, bearing, strut, and ball-joint issues. Feels like I've worked on my car at least once every 2 months as long as I've had it. If I could own a decent 1999 civic again, I would. My final recommendation? If you really want a honda, stick with civics & avoid accords."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great auto

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "No cons.....just an older model of a very nice car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Has no problems. New brakes. New tires. Runs excellent. Very nice on long trips."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car.

By on Sunday, August 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 268,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great and a very enjoyable to drive."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the best Honda I have ever owned. By the way I have owned 2 Honda CRV'S over the past several years and they are great as well."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new never any problems. Other than normal maitanince brakes, hoses, belts,timing belt water pump, tires ect.I replaced 1 head light & the oxygen sensor.They don't make them this good any more. Mostly highway miles & changed the oil every 5,000 mi. This car might last another 180,000."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Outstanding!

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Super reliable, extremely safe! Very happy!"

very reliable car

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"this car has been maintaded when needed oil changed every 3000 miles"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

the Best

By on Monday, July 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful styling on the road, comfortable inside"

Cons: "None - Never had a problem."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the style of this year, it's still nicer than new ones. Perfect showroom condition, never had a child or dog inside. Outside clearcoat is like day created."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Love the Honda durability

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfortable, good price"

Cons: "faulty top coat on this model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my first Honda which I bought new in 2002. Love the comfort and reliability; no major repairs. Greatest disappointment is the top coat has been pealing slowly for 2 years on the roof and the trunk. Not attractive and seems to be common for black cars of that year. Lesson learned - will not buy another black car!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

great dependable car

By on Saturday, July 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, good gas mileage"

Cons: "tire issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car from a dealer in 2005 with app. 60000 miles and had to have the motor replaced at 234000 miles. Found a great deal on a used motor (80000 miles) for $1200.00, had a few necessary changes done at the time, and expect to be able to drive it for another 100000 miles. The only issues we have had are the tires. I do a lot of highway driving and have went through about 5 sets of tires on this car. Other than that the car has been great. I thought we overpaid at the time of the purchase, but we would have went through 2 Chevrolets by now. Will probably buy another used Honda accord when the time comes, but will not trade my car unless necessary."

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

reliable, nice car, comfy ride, all power, leather

By on Saturday, July 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable ride, roomy interior, ac, 5 disc chngr"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"New timing chain, newer transmission, new altinator, water pump, disc brakes, battery, michelin tires 2 yrs old, new oil seal, 5 cd changer, sunroof, detailing, power all, tinted windows, Leather seats, frnt n rear airbags, cup holders, Floor mats.trunk pass thru for lg items."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

BEST VEHICLE WE HAVE EVER OWNED!

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Dependable, Great Styling, Decent MPG"

Cons: "Over Priced - Not as affordable as it used to be!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this vehicle for over 14 years and it has never let us down. This is by far the BEST vehicle purchase I can say we have made. Honda is known for their quality and reliability. My first Honda automobile was a 1982 Honda Accord Hatchback and I was not sure about purchasing a foreign automobile. That car absolutely SOLD ME on the Honda Brand! I think we are going to change it up and go with a Hyundai this time because Honda's pricing has risen a little too much for my pocket book! I am counting on the Hyundai to be as good as the Honda!"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

great reliable vehicle that is economical to drive

By on Wednesday, July 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I absolutely love my Honda."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

noon received

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my review is its a good car"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

ORIGINAL OWNER - MAINT RECORDS - NEW TRANSMISSION

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "ORIGINAL OWNER WITH PINK SLIP IN HAND"

Cons: "SOME RUBBER BUMPER DAMAGE - SUN DAMAGED PAINT"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"ORIGINAL OWNER - MAINT RECORDS - NEW TRANSMISSION WANT CAR TO GO TO A GOOD HOME - THIS AUTO HAS BEEN FLAWLESS SINCE ORIGINAL PURCHASE - CLEAN ENGINE AND INTERIOR - AVAILABLE FOR SALE ASAP - BUT CAN WAIT FOR FAIR OFFER -"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best car ever. roomy and comfy.

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy for 5. xl trunk.upolstery durable still new"

Cons: "NOTHING!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great reliability. Hondas are great. everything factory lasted for 7 yrs before replacing,like battery, tires. easy to upkeep."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This car runs like a 75000$ car

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 287,653

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast and lots of highway power"

Cons: "Rusting out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only problem is rust. I do a lot of highway miles, mpg 28, I cruise up and down I95 I set the cruise control at 78 and the car just moves along if I need a little power press the gas and away I go. She won't last forever due to rust. Motor could go another 100,000 and I'm at 288,756 today."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love this car - a Honda man henceforth!

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Price, fun ride, reliability and CHEAP to maintain"

Cons: "PAINT IS BAD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought at 150k from a dealer neighbor. He gave me a spectacular deal ($3k). The paint of course, was not good, having been stored outside. All I've ever had to do to this car in 2 years was spend $50 and 8 hours on matching spray paint, got a set of 40k tires, changed the oil every 3k miles, except now I'm on synthetic 5w-20, flushed the radiator, changed the cap, changed the cabin air filter, got a new air filter, did the plugs and wires and PCV, bought a new battery... all that normal maintenance. NEVER EVER have I had any trouble with it whatsoever. Except I did have a broken front engine mount (a $13 part and 3 hours personal hardship for a job the dealer wanted $280 for). Not knowing exactly the maintenance that had been done at the big intervals, and knowing I want my car to last me for 3 years during law school with no major problems, I just changed the valve cover gasket, water pump, timing belt, PS/ac belt, tensioners, etc etc. Basically everything that can be easily reached while doing the timing belt. This car is the most reliable, best deal I've ever encountered; I wouldn't take $4k for it now and will cry when I get my first job in a firm and have to give it up. Except for the paint, this car is a 10+."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

excellent value and dependability - fun to drive

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable and fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Most reliable car I have ever owned"

Great Car

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, great highway mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 1998 Accord is a great car. Owned for 16 years and still a very road worthy vehicle."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Accord near Honolulu. See local deals