Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Honda Accord

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1636 Ratings for the 1998 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Most reliable, affordable, dependable car EVER!

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, reliable, plenty of power"

Cons: "No side air bags or modern tech, such as ipod."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new in the fall of 1997 and have been driving it ever since. It has taken me everywhere I need to go without any troubles. The only troubles it has had were caused by me when I slid off an icy road and when I backed it into someone else's car. It has had regular maintenance and that's it! I would highly recommend this car to anyone needing a good old dependable vehicle. I'm at just over 100,000 miles and I'm sure this car will keep on going and going. I plan to drive it a few more years and then think about whether I want to replace it with a car with the newer safety features, such as side air bags."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My third Honda and the most long-lasting.

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I hope to keep it for another 100,000 miles. Very reliable and low maintenance (averaging well under $500/yr with only 2-3 big ticket items in its 15 years). Handles beautifully. My only complaint is the driver's side leather seat: a seam tore out, and the replacement tore out in the same place."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The car I will never sell.

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "value, reliability, durability, cost-to-own,resale"

Cons: "sensors- known Honda problem but extremely minor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got my '02 Accord when I was 16. Needless to say owned by a young kid, it has been through a lot. To add to its workload I later became a property adjuster racking up mileage and taking it into catastrophe zones. To ease some of the mileage I did purchase a another car and was insistent that it be the exact same model (color included) as "True Blue" just 10 years newer. Still, couldn't part with my 2002. Even after everything I put it through during Sandy in 2012 the only expense it has cost me over its 13 year life is basic maintenance. I have friends and family with much newer cars of different brands, including luxury cars, and the expenses they have already put out for repairs never ceases to baffle me. Only ever having a Honda and being a Honda household growing up the concept of random part failures is foreign to me. They may cost more upfront than their domestic competitors however consumer and expert reviews seem to come to the same conclusion: you get what you pay for. Vehicles are a significant investment and I've never encountered an Accord owner with buyers remorse."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

2001 Honda Accord EX V6

By on Monday, January 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is my first car. I bought it used with 86,000 miles on it. Regular maintenance, brakes, oil change. V6 is just great, very powerful. Very comfortable. Leather still in a very good shape. Dynamics are great. What I don't like is mpg. I make about 16 miles in the city and 23-25 on highway. Very likely that I will go for Honda next time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love my car

By on Wednesday, December 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Awesome car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is top of the line for the year leather black with gray interior Dark tint .Just cant say enough good things about it. This is my fourth Honda . The best I've owned ."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great reliable car

By on Saturday, November 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable and fun to drive"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car but wish it got better mileage!"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

incomparable

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,581

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This about one of the best cars out there.....simply lovable."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

not in running condition. transmission problem

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price negotiable"

Cons: "transmission problem"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Must replace or repair transmission"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One owner cared for car.

By on Tuesday, October 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Drives like a much newer car."

Cons: "Has a few scratches , otherwise great shape"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I would love to keep the car, but I have a much newer Honda Fit. I am sure I could get another 100K easily,."

20 people out of 29 found this review helpful

best reliable car i have owned

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cost to maintain the best. wife loves car,keeper"

Cons: "4 cyl. acceleration poor compared to v6"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had vehicle since new.Replaced climate control,a/c evaporator,windshield washer pump only in 12 years. wife likes the visabilty in car"

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

I'm disappointed

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great body, comfort and style"

Cons: "Transmission faulty - TWICE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Everything is great about my car except the transmission! That's the most important feature in a car! I had to have a new trans after only 58 thousand miles and it came with a 3 year warranty. Well, it's been 3 1/2 years and the trans is going again! The car has only 83 K miles on it! I'm supposed to buy ANOTHER transmission?! Really? I think I'm ready for an American car!"

15 people out of 26 found this review helpful

great car great value

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "mileage, reliability, quality, resale"

Cons: "not easy to get in and out, semi-comfortable seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned since new. Extremely reliable. 30 mpg average since new. No major repairs ever. Getting in and out requires some flexibility and is much easier when younger."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

The most reliable car I ever had.

By on Friday, October 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, cheap to maintain, great gas milage"

Cons: "over steering, 4 cyl engine has low power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Well I have this 2001 EX 4 cylinder car for over 10 years now. I just reached the 200K miles. I am done with 2 sets timing belt, water pump jobs and @ 87K Honda replaced the transmission under warranty! I had my belt buckle fixed for free. I always maintained the car by Honda. It is still giving me a reliable ride. If you get into a fender bender parts are cheap on eBay and it is so simple to fix anything on it. I will keep it as long as I can."

13 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Been a great car with very little service needed

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable, good price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Reliable, comfortable, great buy for the $"

Doesn't Last As Long As Promised

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "sporty feel, nice vehicle handling"

Cons: "short mileage life"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased my 2001 Accord used in 2003 because I wanted a car that would be reliable and last a long time. I took good care of this car, regular maintenance, oil changes, tires, and 140,000 miles into the life of the vehicle I'm driving along and hear a soft *poof*. The mechanic says the coolant and oil have been mixing in the engine and the radiator. I anticipated driving this vehicle until at least 250,000 miles before needing to replace it. I'm very disappointed. The vehicle did not live up to expectation."

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Overall a great first car

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "cup holders, nice looking, very comfortable"

Cons: "slow, small back seats in coupe, 4 speed automatic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I owned this car for a while now but I'm getting to the point I need a faster car. If you love reliable simple nice looking cars it is great! But don't expect the "VTEC TO KICK IN YO" Its really not a fast car. Topping out at around 120 its not your average "sports car". With an automatic with 4 speeds, it sure like to shift at high rpms. Talk about gas consumption if considering buying, i suggest getting a manual transmission."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Runs like a champ!

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 185,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Mechanically sound!"

Cons: "Wish it had cup holders in the back."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been very pleased with my 1999 Accord. Very rarely had to take in in to a mechanic for repairs as it really holds up. I still have it and will keep it until it decides to retire (which should be a long time from now)."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

A very good, very fun first car

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Purchased new vehicle

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good price, fun to drive, phenomenal gas mileage."

Cons: "Town gas mileage compared to highway."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased this car about 2 years ago when I was a Senior in High School, looking for a commuter car to work, school, friends houses, etc. I quickly fell in love, and put about 40,000 miles on it in the two years I have owned it. I put the money into it that it needed for repairs, and frequently drove it to Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire, and all over Maine. I loved the car and even drove it down to Florida and back this last summer. Super reliable, incredible gas mileage on the highway, a truly great first car. Now a bit older I purchased a new car and sadly have to let my Honda go. It was great while it lasted and I would buy another in the future if I had an opportunity."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This has been the best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy, easy field of vision, quiet ride"

Cons: "Clear coat failed and car was repainted."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 1998 Honda Accord. I have maintained regular maintenance on it and it has been a mechanically reliable and comfortable car. It still gets better gas mileage than my newer cars. It handles well on wet or slick roads."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Most Cost Effective Car

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "Engine is a little bit small."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car in 2000. It is very reliable. It never gave me any trouble. For maintenance, I just change oil every 7,000 miles. I did not do any other maintenance in the first 10 years. In the last couple of years, I did flush the transmission and change the timing belt. It runs great till today. It is the most cost effective car if you consider average cost per year."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car in great condition

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "See above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is in wonderful condition. No secret here. Change the oil, do the maintenence, keep the interior clean,rotate the tires."

This car drives great. Have had it for over 6yrs.

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great Value"

Cons: "One disc player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Put over 25000 miles on it yearly, all I need to do is just change the oil and perform minor services like change the tire when recommended etc and the car keeps going. I plan to keep it till at least 250000, maybe 300000 if it keeps going at this rate."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Its 1999 Honda accord, good running condition

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Honda make, leather version, good running conditio"

Cons: "High on mileage, minor scrach"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Its 1999 Honda accord, good running condition with minor scratch and dents"

15 years of reliabilty

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Comfortable, reliable, affordable, low maintenance"

Cons: "Oil filter a little hard to get to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still has original rear brakes, muffler. Car has never failed to start, except when battery failed. Changed, all 4, motor mounts (only one was bad) at about 160,000 mi. Only routine maintenance (Timing belt/water pump @100,000 mi.) Rates as good as my previous 1990 Camry (244,000 mi) and present Altima (47,000 mi). I will keep Accord as backup car. It is worth way more than its $2700 value."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Ok it has 300000 miles on it by far the best car

By on Tuesday, August 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 298,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car is the best I have ever owned. My first car was a 1951 ford just to give you some idea of how long I have been driving. This Honda is very reliable the tranny west out at 101K miles had it replaced about 10 years ago. Just maintenance since, the change oil every 3K and just try to maintain it. I bought a new 2012 ford certified fusion for my wife so far so good. I just purchased a 2013 Impala LTZ certified for myself want to keep and fix the old Honda bot we can't have 3 cars in a 2 person family. God I hate to see that car go but the time has come just hope the 2 new ones are half as good."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Honda Accord near Honolulu. See local deals