To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.

2015 GMC Terrain Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $25,044 - $26,577.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $27,485

Fair Purchase Price $25,811
Fair Market Range ($25,044 - $26,577)

Invoice $26,157

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser�s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Info valid for your area through 08/25/2016

Advertisement
Advertisement

KBB Expert Rating 6.9 of 10

10/6.9

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment
Advertisement
Advertisement

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 296 Ratings for the 2010 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

This is one of the best cars I have driven.

By on Friday, July 15, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "The V6 handles great on the road."

Cons: "Better see if you can get in and out easy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We love to drive this SUV. It is smooth, stable on the road, and rides just as good as the most expensive cars out there. My only problem is getting in and out of it. I hit my head on the door jam when I get in and the seats hurt my legs when I get out. We should have bought a mid size SUV instead of this one. Thats my only complaint. Outside of that, I think it is a great driving machine."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Outside a few dings inside very clean.

By on Saturday, July 2, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good price and easy and comfortable to drive."

Cons: "Really none it has plenty of little extras inside."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had the car for 2 1/2 years has been very well-taken care of. The inside is in great condition not smoked it. The floor mats are super clean and in explanted shape I kept other rugs over them. I'm 2nd owner.It has always been parked in a garage. The outside has a couple very little dings, a couple very small chips due to normal driving. It also has a small scuff on front bumper, very hard to see. Tires are in great shape and wheels also.One Issue it has is under the hood when I bought it, it is missing some the black covering inside the hood. Former owner stated he lived outside the city and an animal must have torn it. That is what the dealer told me. The car runs great and for a 4cyl 6 speed still has some get-up and go. Just wanting to trade for something different, not because of anything bad or wrong. It has been trouble free and been a great purchase. Just looking for a few more options."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Wonderful!

By on Wednesday, June 8, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I have ever owned."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome SUV

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive and looks elegant"

Cons: "acceleration is slow and no cigarette lighters"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck comes stocked with everything you need for your basic SUV. It includes a USB connect in the console for you IPOD lovers and an internal AUX port good for plugging up your Kindle to read to you through your speakers while you drive. Its really roomy in both the front and back cabins and seats tall people especially comfortably both length and height. There is a lot of head room left even with a 6'plus person in the backseat. Going from a full size truck to an SUV I was used to having a truck bed to haul stuff, but the seats in this SUV fold down and slide back and forth to accommodate just as much as your truck bed would and without the interference of the wheel wells. Its great on gas mileage as long as you leave the ECO mode on, but the ECO mode makes it hard to shift up to fast speeds while trying to merge into oncoming traffic. If you turn it off though, the truck picks up speed with no problem but you also burn a lot of gas in the process. I easily get 25 MPG in the city and about 29 on the highway which is awesome for an SUV. The physical appearance is beautiful - not too flashy but still sleek and elegant. The stitching in the seats use red thread so you feel like you've gotten an upgrade as soon as you sit in it. Overall the GMC Terrain is a great buy and its worth every penny of the price!"

94 people out of 98 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Tuesday, July 9, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "interior, gas mileage"

Cons: "no rear air control, not as roomy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

My new ride!

"I really love this car and the only complaint I have is that there are only air vents in the front of the vehicle. I have to blast my air as high is it will blow on the coolest temperature (Summer in the South is not fun!) so it can reach my 18 month old in the back seat. Luckily, I have remote start so I can start it and let it run a bit before we pack in. It's also not quite as roomy as I thought it would be. It's actually about the same size as my old Chevy Malibu which is kind of a disappointment since I did get this because I thought it would be a bigger family-sized SUV. The good news is that the gas mileage is not as horrible as we were anticipating. It rides very smoothly for an SUV and I really love the exterior and interior of the car."

19 people out of 20 found this review helpful

My new ride!

LOVE IT!!

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very attractive, good on gas, roomy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had wanted one of these since they came out in 2010. Finally in 2012 I had the opportunity to purchase a new one! I have not have one complaint, or problem. And I get MANY compliments on my vehicle everywhere I go."

15 people out of 16 found this review helpful

I am very pleased with my Terrain!

By on Saturday, May 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lack of road noise, lots of leg room in back seat"

Cons: "rear seats don't fold totally flat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After driving an entry-level Honda CRV for 5 yrs., I did a lot of research into crossover small SUV's that offered a definite upgrade. The Honda was very noisy and the back seat had no leg room; there was no lumbar support for the driver and the upholstery was hard to clean. All the newer small SUV's seemed to look alike and I liked that the Terrain had it's own look - bigger and bolder! It's 500 lbs. heavier and a wee bit larger overall than the CRV (which made me feel better for driving in traffic). The basic package included so much - even more than the higher-end Honda (which never had any mechanical problems - it was just too, too basic)! The sliding back seat is awesome, there is virtually NO road noise, I can start the car remotely on cold mornings, I love the XM radio, etc. and etc. It's a GREAT car and I highly recommend it. I truly don't know why it's rated as a truck - driving it is a dream! My husband likes driving it also - which is a real compliment! We are very active retirees."

41 people out of 44 found this review helpful

Smart Choice

By on Wednesday, November 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price, gas mileage, technology"

Cons: "rear cargo space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I looked at every mid-size SUV/CUV on the market before making my purchase, and by far the GMC Terrain was the best bang for my buck. I was looking for a mid-size SUV with good gas mileage and all the bells and whistle to replace my outdated 2002 Isuzu.I LOVE THIS TRUCK. The interior is classy and comfortable, the technology at your fingertips rivals my 645BMW, sitting in my garage that I haven't driven since getting my Terrain. So far my best gas mileage has been 29miles to the gallon and my daily commnute is half hwy, half city. Happy with that. We had our first snow this week and I was impressed with the handling on the front wheel drive. Spacious seating front and back. The only thing this missing is rear cargo space. Never had a four cylinder before but the pickup not bad. A little noisy on acceleration in eco mode.GMC Intellink is great. Movie showing, Gas prices, Weather , Pandora, they have thought of it all. If you are looking for good gas mileage, all the new technology, and great bang for your buck, take a look at the GMC TERRAIN."

40 people out of 43 found this review helpful

Good Car

By on Wednesday, March 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have a 2012 Terrain FWD SLT-2. 4cyl. Currently have 9,500 miles. BEFORE YOU BUY ONE...DO YOUR HOMEWORK..Cargo cover and The roof cross bars are not standard on the terrain. The dealership did not point that out. Make sure you negotiate for those. CONS: When at a lower gear (slowing down for the car in front of you) and switching to a high gear, SOMETIMES the transmission POPS! First time it happened I thought someone had bumped in to me. Leather seats are a little too narrow. To compare; I'm male, 5'10" 210 lbs. Standard size Golf clubs don't fit in the cargo area with out putting the back seat down. Back seats adjust well front to back, but don't go flat when your needing the back cargo area, they tilt up. All Ambient Lighting is RED... dials, console touch screen, everything. Would be nice to change lighting color. PROS: Beautiful looking vehicle Silver on chrome. Quiet ride. Sit up high in traffic. Many of the standard features are really nice to have. The drivers seat automatically BACKS UP when the car stops so you can get out easier...GREAT IDEA! Good sound system. Hands free Bluetooth. Seat warmers in front seats. Remote start. Moon roof. Automatic lift-gate is a happy surprise. Gas mileage is 24.4 in town. Mirrors automatically adjust down when your in reverse. Touch screen is really helpful. I'm likely to recommend this vehicle."

25 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Loving my Terrain

By on Wednesday, August 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great ride, quiet, roomy"

Cons: "voice commands don't work with my phone."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded my Jetta TDI for the Terrain because it was just too small. The Terrain has a more masculine look to it, and it doesn't have the same look as all the others in its class. So far, I've been averaging 24-25 mpg. I have gotten over 34 on a long trip with the ECO mode on and paying attention to my throttle. My only complaint is that the voice commands didn't work with my phone when I bought it. I knew I was getting a new phone in a few weeks, but when I got it (Samsung S4), the voice command still doesn't work. This is apparently a known issue and is being worked on by GM. Even with that very minor issue, I love this vehicle!"

14 people out of 15 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Monday, December 2, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "beautiful, reliable, comfy"

Cons: "no vents in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my car. Beautiful inside and outside. Auto start and heated seats rock into the winter! Auto start rocks in summer too! It drives well. My three kids fit in the back seat. The back seat moves back and forth also. I got the 4cyl for the awesome gas milage but she drives really well, too."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great vehicle!

By on Wednesday, September 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Got a fair price and I love driving the terrain"

Cons: "Voice recognition"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Gas mileage is exactly what I expected. I drive mostly highway miles and I consistently get 22-24 mpg. I do have the 6 cyl engine. Handles nice and is comfortable on the road. Great sound system but voice recognition on phone is not good"

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

This is a great car

By on Sunday, July 7, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable, great mpg, easy to get DIY parts"

Cons: "Being able to set the int vents a bit higher"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used with 11,000 on it. 2011 model in Oct 2012 - now July 2013. 4 cylinder FWD SLE-2. I put on 22,000 more (total now 33,000). It is a great car. I have been never gotten below 27 mpg city/rural though on trips I get 2 or 3 more mpg. I keep it in Eco mode. I have driven by the sea and in the mountains from Fla to Mass. One trip for 18 hours straight. It is so comfortable. The only thing that I might change is being able to adjust the vents a bit higher though from one to ten, that would be a six (about a tossup). Though back seat vents would be nice also. No problems with it (of course it is almost new). I did have a problem with the original equipment Michelin tires though. With lots of tread left the *all* of them seemed to fall apart. One recall to reprogram the oil use interval readout. They found it was set too long. I would buy the Terrain - (or Equinox if you like that style better) again and highly recommend it. Neat to try a diesel if they would offer one."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Gas mileage is not near what was advertised.

By on Thursday, March 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I would have gotten a 6 cyclinder had I known what the true gas mileage would have been. The most I have gotten is 26 which is probably what the 6 cyclinder would have gotten with more power. Very affordable car with lots of features for the price."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Sweet Ride

By on Sunday, October 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Don't know why people critique acceleration"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Two cars ago I had a Mercedes...one car ago an Audi...this is better. For all the people who review in a negative fashion without having driven other upscale (YES, THE TERRAIN IS UPSCALE...IN FACT I TESTED A GLK JUST PRIOR THE TERRAIN)vehicles and presume that North American is not equal to German well,BULL"

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

surprising vehicle!

By on Wednesday, August 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fit and finish, economy of operation"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

perforated leather interior

"After 11000 miles, this Terrain is comfortable, plenty of interstate power, and excellent economy. Fit and finish are excellent!"

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

perforated leather interior

Car like ride.. quite inside cabin

By on Sunday, April 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Auto Lift Gate remote start good seats good ride"

Cons: "none at this time only 3 weeks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good looks,,1st 2 tanks of gas 23 and 24.7 miles per gallon Rides like a car and very good seats both front and rear good cargo room love the auto open lift gate. So far very happy with it. Will come back in a month or two for a update"

30 people out of 33 found this review helpful

Did not get suggest gas mileage

By on Friday, July 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I liked the GMC Terrain and received a lot of compliments. But, the advertisements and dealership stated i should get 32 miles per gallon but i never got better than 25 miles per gallon. I travel 48.3 miles per day to and from work and all but 5 of those miles are on the highway. The gas mileage has been very disappointing. I thought when i bought the car i could drive it forever as it seemed to be a very durable car. I spend an average of $40 per week or more on gas. I feel like I'm working to put gas in my tank. I always used Marathon regular gas so it wasn't the "cheap" gas I used. It was the car. I'm not a mechanic but it seems to me that a 4 cylinder engine is too small for a car as large as the Terrain."

29 people out of 32 found this review helpful

What a great vehicle

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I actually own two of these. I see them both driving well into the 6 digits!"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I am over 65 and it is the sweetest car. I drove

By on Sunday, October 6, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "go it for a great price and fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"over 4,000 miles this summer and no problems. The drive was awesome. Time flew by and cruise control made the gas mileage unbelievable. I love the space inside tall people sit comfortably in the front or back."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great driving car--very poor gas mileage

By on Tuesday, July 9, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Bought the car because of the ads for gas mileage. I have never gotten better than 21 mpg, even on the highway. When I asked the service rep about it, he told me I needed to talk to my sales person. Very comfortable, great driving and great sound.."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

nice car poor gas mileage

By on Tuesday, March 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "looks great soild drive"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I had a 2010 Terrain and had great gas mileage 27mpg, lost car in Hurracane Sandy and replaced it with a 2013 identical vehicle. Gas mileage is at 23mpg... Dealer said I am using cheap gas and driving highway over 50mph... It would be nice to find out why such poor gas mileage, I just started using Sunoco gas but have not seen a difference, Otherwise the vehicle is great, just very disappointed in the gas mileage"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

A GREAT VEHICLE

By on Thursday, September 9, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"MY WIFE AND MYSELF BOUGHT THE TERRAIN ABOUT SIX MONTHS AGO AND SHE WAS RECENTALLY INVOLVED IN A COLLISION AT 45MPH WHERE SHE T-BONED A FULL SIZE PICKUP. SHE IS ALIVE AND EVEN WITH A BROKEN ARM SHE IS THANKFULL FOR ALL THE SAFTEY FEATURES THAT NO DOUBT SAVED HER LIFE. WE WILL BE LOOKING AT THE 2011 MODELS SOON. IT IS A GREAT VEHICLE TO OWN, NOT TO BIG BUT HAS PLENTY SPACE FOR US, OUR CHILD, AND OUR TWO LARGE DOGS. I WOULD RECOMEND THIS VEHICLE TO ANYONE."

37 people out of 41 found this review helpful

Good commuter vehicle if you don't like sedans.

By on Friday, August 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Nice features, comfortable"

Cons: "MPG not quite what was promised."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have the AWD SLT-1, 4 cyl. Monroney Estimated MPG is 29 hwy on the AWD. I am getting around 26 highway, not 29 - even with the ECO engaged. Otherwise, no complaints. Leather, check. XM Radio, check. Bluetooth connects to my iPhone easy, check check. If it doesn't come standard with remote vehicle start, purchase one with that option - the OnStar with RemoteLink is awesome. I start my vehicle on a hot day from my desk at work. It's nice and cool by the time I get to it."

28 people out of 31 found this review helpful

comfort while driving, feel safe in it

By on Monday, October 6, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,543

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great all around"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I am tall and I like the additional height of the vehicle (compared to a car)and ease with getting in/out. Handles great. Great fuel mileage around town and long distance."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Advertisement
Advertisement
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
Advertisement