Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 GMC Terrain Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $25,370 - $26,033.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $27,390

Fair Purchase Price $25,702
Fair Market Range ($25,370 - $26,033)

Invoice $26,066
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.4 of 10

10/7.4

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 245 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

AWD SUV worth having

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quiet- comfortable ride, nice interior layout,"

Cons: "touch panel closer to driver,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"nice smaller SUV very quiet comfortable ride, we have the AWD 4 cyl and it is good for our use. we average approx. 22mpg and have not experienced any problems with the vehicle, the ride with windows up and no radio on is very quiet and the handling is great,, we where caught out in a snow storm which dropped a quick 3 inches in 2 hours ,,we drove home through 2 lane country roads with no trouble sliding or slipping, it is equipped with factory M&S tires,,,great suv for us."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

All plactic

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "looks good"

Cons: "Seats are terrible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This is the worst vehicle I have owned in the last 15 years! The seating comfort is terrible."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my Terrain!

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love the look, favorite crossover"

Cons: "No third row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Terrain! I am in the process of buying a second one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this small SUV!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage"

Cons: "no 3rd row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Terrain, plenty of room for our family of 4 and great gas mileage!!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love this small SUV!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage"

Cons: "no 3rd row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Terrain, plenty of room for our family of 4 and great gas mileage!!"

Love this small SUV!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage"

Cons: "no 3rd row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Terrain, plenty of room for our family of 4 and great gas mileage!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

STAY AWAY!!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Transmission showing signs of problems

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Nice features"

Cons: "Powertrain doesn't last long"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I loved the features on our Terrain (heated seats, sunroof, push button open hatch and leather seats) but thats abaout it. When I took my Terrain recently to get brakes done and suspension (after a bad winter in the tristate and all the bad roads) I was informed that my transmission was starting to show signs that it was going bad. Now this is only after having it a year and a half as i traded in my Chevy Equinox for this vehicle for almost the same reason. Since GM only gives a 3-5 yr 36,000 mile warranty on their vehicles, i was left with the choice of going to a dealer and trading in my vehicle. After many discussions I was able to finally get my husband away from GM vehicles (after 3 falied attempts at their SUV line) and get a Kia/Hyundai which have the best warrantee on the market. GM will need to invest some money into their powertrain and warrantees before i would consider going back."

11 people out of 14 found this review helpful

love my suv

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love it but paid way 2 much for it will check around more next time."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Please read if you're a mom considering this car

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "Back seats need ventilation."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I absolutely love my terrain, as long as there is less than 4 people in the car or it is not hot. I purchased my terrain because I wanted a bigger vehicle than a car and absolutely love it, but 90% of the time I am the only person in the vehicle. It is reliable and I have never felt unsafe in this vehicle. If you are a mother purchasing this car please consider that there is no ventilation in the rear seats and when you are sitting in the front two seats you would never feel how hot it gets in the back of the car until you ride back there yourself. Also the middle seat in the back seat is not meant for trips longer than 30 minutes, it is very uncomfortable. We took a 5 hour trip in the car and we were suffocating and when we turned up the AC so it could reach those in the back seat, those in the front were extremely cold. For 2 or less people in regular temperatures the car is wonderful!"

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

overall nice driving and handling

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Hate the hard seats, get leather seats!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car for the money

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "room, functionality, mileage"

Cons: "engine a little rough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Roomy with a comfortable ride. Four cylinder is a little rough but returns good mileage and has been reliable."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Ehhh

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car
Reason: Uncomfortable ride and wind noise - My approximate mileage is 8,500

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Purchased this vehicle new. Only has 8500 miles on it and I'm tired of it already. The ride is far too stiff, the 4 cylinder feels too underpowered, the radio is too complicated and all the buttons are too close together and similarly shaped. I have to take my eyes off the road if i want to do anything besides temperature, fan speed, or volume. It is a well designed and beautiful interior, however it isn't functional."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great all-around vehicle"

Cons: "Lacks a rear-seat vent"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle. I've never had any problems with it. It drives nicely and has lots of space in the back seat. It's very comfortable, looks nice, and has great amenities! I can take the whole family, including two large dogs and there is space for all the kids' equipment. My one suggestion would be to add a vent to the back seat for faster heating/cooling of that space, but since the heat and a/c both work so well, it's not a major concern."

13 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Not thrilled. Test drive it much longer!!

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "It's good on the highway."

Cons: "Bad turn radius. Awkward key design. Hate it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Car simply does not live up to standards. I don't like it. I know it's a small thing, but the key design is awful. It is too thick to fit well on a standard key ring, even more difficult if you have a few other keys that need to be in the same place; an awkward design. The turn radius on the car is terrible. We test drove it on highways near the Dealer. Dealership happens to be located away from town. Don't know what I was thinking!! I have driven numerous vehicles in tests. My husband was with me and I didn't take the time to truly run it through my usual test criteria. I should have. I'm too practical to lose a ton of money by trading out of a nearly new car, but this one makes me consider it strongly. I just hate it."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Fantastic gas mileage

By on Tuesday, February 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Luckily for me I have a company vehicle that I use for work, so the Terrain is used only on weekends and long trips. It is a very comfortable ride (coming from the Acadia). The gas mileage is fantastic. On a recent trip from Houston to San Antonio I got 33 mpg, which is above the rating.. Ask me if I am happy!!"

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best vehicle vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great look and features"

Cons: "Abrupt shifting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overall, I love this vehicle! I gave 9's on some of the ratings due to "abrupt" shifting - very noticeable. I love the lighted dashboard, heated mirrors, heated seats, back-up camera, auto-close back door, and the increased gas mileage. I get about 30 mpg combination of highway and in- town driving. My husband likes it too. The memory seat and mirror settings are very much appreciated since my husband and I are different heights."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Very good car. Needs more power. Will buy V6

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Roomy and good an solid built."

Cons: "4 underpowered. Gas Mileage Have AWD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I Like the car very much. Easy to get in and out. Also Have a 2013 LaCrosse which is hard to get in and out of. Plan on trading it off for a V6. Overall a very good car in the snow. (Have AWD) The 4 is a little underpowered."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

This vehicle has been a great car.

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,450

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good riding for travel."

Cons: "AWD V 6 is gas hog."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Limited turning mobility is it's only downfall. More comfortable sitting for passenger."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

In tip top condition!

By on Saturday, December 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,690

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love the price, looks, features, mileage"

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Road noise is somewhat high. Gets great gas mileage. Looks great."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Monday, December 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "beautiful, reliable, comfy"

Cons: "no vents in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my car. Beautiful inside and outside. Auto start and heated seats rock into the winter! Auto start rocks in summer too! It drives well. My three kids fit in the back seat. The back seat moves back and forth also. I got the 4cyl for the awesome gas milage but she drives really well, too."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Love the vehicle, great control, smooth ride

By on Sunday, December 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,548

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "great to drive"

Cons: "garage door opener"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great quality, would not buy another brand."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Smart Choice

By on Wednesday, November 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price, gas mileage, technology"

Cons: "rear cargo space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I looked at every mid-size SUV/CUV on the market before making my purchase, and by far the GMC Terrain was the best bang for my buck. I was looking for a mid-size SUV with good gas mileage and all the bells and whistle to replace my outdated 2002 Isuzu.I LOVE THIS TRUCK. The interior is classy and comfortable, the technology at your fingertips rivals my 645BMW, sitting in my garage that I haven't driven since getting my Terrain. So far my best gas mileage has been 29miles to the gallon and my daily commnute is half hwy, half city. Happy with that. We had our first snow this week and I was impressed with the handling on the front wheel drive. Spacious seating front and back. The only thing this missing is rear cargo space. Never had a four cylinder before but the pickup not bad. A little noisy on acceleration in eco mode.GMC Intellink is great. Movie showing, Gas prices, Weather , Pandora, they have thought of it all. If you are looking for good gas mileage, all the new technology, and great bang for your buck, take a look at the GMC TERRAIN."

22 people out of 23 found this review helpful

LOVE IT!!

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very attractive, good on gas, roomy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had wanted one of these since they came out in 2010. Finally in 2012 I had the opportunity to purchase a new one! I have not have one complaint, or problem. And I get MANY compliments on my vehicle everywhere I go."

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Engine disappointing

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Size looks"

Cons: "Engine and transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Noisy engine. Transmission downshifts too quickly. Terrible trans calibration. Very nice vehicle other than that. Engine burns oil. 2-4 quarts between oil changes."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Ride

By on Wednesday, October 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "On Star and XM Radio"

Cons: "Would like bigger cargo space in back."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this SUV, I got in in April, I drive a lot for work and it is very comfortable and it has all the luxuries and On Star is great as I use to always get lost and its worth its weight in gold for road side assistance. I also love the way it handles in bad weather and the xm radio is also great. I would recommend this for sure. It has a lot of leg room in front and rear seating."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 10 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.