Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 GMC Terrain Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $35,690 - $36,381.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $37,830

Fair Purchase Price $36,036
Fair Market Range ($35,690 - $36,381)

Invoice $35,984
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.4 of 10

10/7.4

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 207 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Great overall

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Mikage could be much better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Except for the poor mileage, this has been a great car, car has been well taken care of as per owners manual."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent quality and comfort

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent price and easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best Car that I've owned in the last ten years"

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

The most reliable vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value. Well constructed. Peppy engine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not a single issue with this car in over 2.5 years. I took it in to the dealer right before the warranty ran out to see if they could find a problem. Of course nothing was discovered wrong with it. That little 4 cylinder engine is a work horse, and surprisingly peppy. The only issue I have is the gas mileage is not as good as I was lead to believe. It averages about 24 Mpg, and I thought it would be in the 26-27 range."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Nice car for the cost.

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quiet, smooth, nicely equipped for the money."

Cons: "Expensive to maintain, poor MPG, poor cargo area."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Car does very good in snow. V6 has good power, but I only get 12 mpg city, 19 highway. 4 cyl. did not have any power, even with only 2 people. Tires are too expensive, must be T-rated for some reason, and with AWD you must replace with same manufacturer for one tire, or buy 4 if tire treadwear is under 50% because circumference must be the same or it will ruin the tranny. Oil change costs twice as much because it requires synthetic oil. These three facts were not mentioned to me when I bought it. Best price I can find for my tires is $235 plus mounting, etc. Drove it to Fla. from PA twice, and ride & handling was very good and quiet. Not very good storage behind back seat, but back seat slides up or back about 8 inches for legroom or more room for suitcases. Standard rear back up camera is convenient. Cloth seats are very durable. Smooth, quiet, & responsive handling."

11 people out of 19 found this review helpful

wonderful suv

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fuel economy roomy quiet cabin"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased the terrain for a family trip to Texas last year and have been impressed with the vehicle from the first day"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Overall good vehicle comes up short on details

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good acceleration and comfortable seats"

Cons: "Went backwards on interior design of the details"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Comfortable seats, good ride and acceleration with the 6 cylinder. Harsh shifts both up and down. Noisy engine from outside. I replaced a Pontiac Torrent with the Terrain. The Terrain comes up short compared to the older Torrent. One closing handle on the lift gate, two on the Torrent. If the handle had a pass through it could be used to tie down the lift gate. This is important because the Torrent front passenger seat folded flat to accommodate longer items, not the Torrent."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love my terrain just want more HP to pull camper

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Priced, value and style excellent"

Cons: "A little tight on steering and HP."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"had since January 2012 and love driving it. great vehicle for travelling with just wife. could do better on MPGs but I admit to being a little heavy on the "GO" pedal. Bought 20' camper this summer and concern about tow weight of 3500 gvwr and hoping to solve it with more Horsepower. Very low mileage due to being retired and own two other vehicles, so very little driving during the week. Looking at possibly 2014 Terrain with added HP. Currently have SLT2 with 19" wheels with NAV and TOW package with 264 rated HP."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love our terrain

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Runs great, power and looks good! American made!!"

Cons: "N/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this car for two years and love it!! Wouldn't rather have anything else and love the safety ratings!! Great car and good on gas, for an SUV."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Not the best choice

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Great looks, nice basic features"

Cons: "Poor air circulation-too hot in cabin!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This vehicle is great in interior design and size for a small family. The seats are uncomfortable, the body has some blind sides if you are not careful, and the air circulation is extremely poor. Purchased brand new, but within a few months of purchase it began to make a jolting thunk when you either accelerate or begin to slow down and pick up speed (such as you near a red light but turns green so you don't stop). The gas mileage is not as advertised. We used it to travel to and from work on the highway and we were appalled by the amount of refilling we had to do on a weekly basis. We only lived 14 miles from work! We have had issues with navigation (which they replaced the antenna) and have had major problems with our tire sensors. It is extremely spacious and very beautiful on the exterior, but it is not a car I would purchase again or recommend to anyone."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

28500 miles is less than a year. Very reliable.

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4 cyl engine very adequate."

Cons: "hwy mileage not what I expected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Highway MPG not what I expected. Otherwise the vehicle has performed up to my high expectations."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Not so great Terrain

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price was ok"

Cons: "the engine is poor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I love the size and body type of the Terrain but the quality of the vehicle is far from satisfactory. This car burns a LOT of oil and you will need an oil change long before it should be time to do so. I have had the car less than a year and have had issues in which I've taken it to the dealership at 6-7 times. I'm always told "just put more oil in it". Needless to say... I'm extremely unhappy with the performance of the car."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

2013 GM Terrain Denali

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Denali branding, sliding rear seat"

Cons: "steering groans, wide turn radius, no air in back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Don't waste your money. Bought brand new and now feel I paid $10,000 more than I should have after having it a few months. This vehicle has no bells and whistles like it should for a Denali in this day and age. Kia has more standard features than this Denali. Only one climate control, really? Should have dual zone. No back seat heat or air and should. No turn signals on the mirrors. The steering groans when you take off turning a corner. Wide turning radius making it difficult at cornered drive thru's or parking garages. The blind spots are really bad in traffic. The back up camera is a low quality camera with no grid lines. The digital speed display looks like something out of the 80's. Come on. They really went cheap on this vehicle. Of course I had to have because of the "Denali" branding. The say the interior seats and leather but I can't smell any leather in this vehicle. The door arm rest is really narrow and hard and the window control button are placed up too far out of reach. It feels ackward. The radio and navigation is also a strange device and not user friendly. This vehicle is a big miss in my book. Anyone looking for a good deal on one? Give me a shout! Stupid me trading in my 2007 Trailblazer SS. Should have kept. Loved it! The SS had more features than this so called Denali wanna a be."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

AWD SUV worth having

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "quiet- comfortable ride, nice interior layout,"

Cons: "touch panel closer to driver,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"nice smaller SUV very quiet comfortable ride, we have the AWD 4 cyl and it is good for our use. we average approx. 22mpg and have not experienced any problems with the vehicle, the ride with windows up and no radio on is very quiet and the handling is great,, we where caught out in a snow storm which dropped a quick 3 inches in 2 hours ,,we drove home through 2 lane country roads with no trouble sliding or slipping, it is equipped with factory M&S tires,,,great suv for us."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

All plactic

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "looks good"

Cons: "Seats are terrible"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This is the worst vehicle I have owned in the last 15 years! The seating comfort is terrible."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my Terrain!

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love the look, favorite crossover"

Cons: "No third row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Terrain! I am in the process of buying a second one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love this small SUV!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage"

Cons: "no 3rd row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Terrain, plenty of room for our family of 4 and great gas mileage!!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love this small SUV!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage"

Cons: "no 3rd row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Terrain, plenty of room for our family of 4 and great gas mileage!!"

Love this small SUV!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 54,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage"

Cons: "no 3rd row"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my Terrain, plenty of room for our family of 4 and great gas mileage!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

STAY AWAY!!

By on Wednesday, April 09, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Transmission showing signs of problems

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Nice features"

Cons: "Powertrain doesn't last long"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I loved the features on our Terrain (heated seats, sunroof, push button open hatch and leather seats) but thats abaout it. When I took my Terrain recently to get brakes done and suspension (after a bad winter in the tristate and all the bad roads) I was informed that my transmission was starting to show signs that it was going bad. Now this is only after having it a year and a half as i traded in my Chevy Equinox for this vehicle for almost the same reason. Since GM only gives a 3-5 yr 36,000 mile warranty on their vehicles, i was left with the choice of going to a dealer and trading in my vehicle. After many discussions I was able to finally get my husband away from GM vehicles (after 3 falied attempts at their SUV line) and get a Kia/Hyundai which have the best warrantee on the market. GM will need to invest some money into their powertrain and warrantees before i would consider going back."

10 people out of 13 found this review helpful

love my suv

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love it but paid way 2 much for it will check around more next time."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Please read if you're a mom considering this car

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "Back seats need ventilation."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I absolutely love my terrain, as long as there is less than 4 people in the car or it is not hot. I purchased my terrain because I wanted a bigger vehicle than a car and absolutely love it, but 90% of the time I am the only person in the vehicle. It is reliable and I have never felt unsafe in this vehicle. If you are a mother purchasing this car please consider that there is no ventilation in the rear seats and when you are sitting in the front two seats you would never feel how hot it gets in the back of the car until you ride back there yourself. Also the middle seat in the back seat is not meant for trips longer than 30 minutes, it is very uncomfortable. We took a 5 hour trip in the car and we were suffocating and when we turned up the AC so it could reach those in the back seat, those in the front were extremely cold. For 2 or less people in regular temperatures the car is wonderful!"

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

overall nice driving and handling

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Hate the hard seats, get leather seats!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car for the money

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "room, functionality, mileage"

Cons: "engine a little rough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Roomy with a comfortable ride. Four cylinder is a little rough but returns good mileage and has been reliable."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Ehhh

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car
Reason: Uncomfortable ride and wind noise - My approximate mileage is 8,500

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
2/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Purchased this vehicle new. Only has 8500 miles on it and I'm tired of it already. The ride is far too stiff, the 4 cylinder feels too underpowered, the radio is too complicated and all the buttons are too close together and similarly shaped. I have to take my eyes off the road if i want to do anything besides temperature, fan speed, or volume. It is a well designed and beautiful interior, however it isn't functional."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great all-around vehicle"

Cons: "Lacks a rear-seat vent"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this vehicle. I've never had any problems with it. It drives nicely and has lots of space in the back seat. It's very comfortable, looks nice, and has great amenities! I can take the whole family, including two large dogs and there is space for all the kids' equipment. My one suggestion would be to add a vent to the back seat for faster heating/cooling of that space, but since the heat and a/c both work so well, it's not a major concern."

12 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.