Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2013 GMC Terrain Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $34,242 - $35,262.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $37,640

Fair Purchase Price $34,711
Fair Market Range ($34,242 - $35,262)

Invoice $35,802
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.5 of 10

10/7.5

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 221 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

A fuel efficient and sporty designed SUV

By on Tuesday, September 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Isn't top heavy, smooth drive"

Cons: "No back seat a/c adjuster"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It was the style and 22/32 miles per gallon that sold me on the Terrain, but it is the performance and how well it handles the road is why I'll purchase the Terrain again. I do a lot of highway driving (60K miles in less than 18mons) so I wanted something that was comfortable on the road with decent gas mileage. The Terrain has more than met my expectations...it also doesn't hurt that it looks fabulous with the chrome front design. Great mid-size SUV!"

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Do not buy a Terrain

By on Thursday, September 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,500

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior and comfort"

Cons: "Countless Mechanical issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought by 2010 Terrain in Oct 2009. It has been a love hate relationship since. I love the interior and the room and the amenities however have had nothing but mechanical problems- timing chains replaced 2X's, Water Pump, New Engine at 60,000, manifold and now after 28,000 miles on the new engine the transmission is shot. I have been stranded out of state 2 times due to a broke down car. Have had to travel back and forth to retrieve the car. Was stranded extra days out of town while waiting for parts. The Terrain is not a reliable vehicle mechanically."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

2010 GMC Terrain

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Looks great, good MPG, nice interior"

Cons: "Lacks a little power, drivers seat uncomfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased my 2010 GMC Terrain as a certified pre-owned vehicle. All I can say is I love the vehicle overall. Looks great, rides great, pretty good MPG for a 6 cyl AWD SUV. The drivers seat is a little uncomfortable for me, and I do wish there was more power under the hood. Those are the only 2 things I can say that I do not like, but then I am sure the MGP (I get over 21 mpg on average) would be drastically lower if there was much more power. I am not a big fan of leather - so that may be why the seat is not very comfortable for me, but it is easier to clean and lasts much longer than cloth. I do not have any issues with getting around in the snow (thank you AWD) and use the bluetooth all the time - great feature as well. Sound system is very good and the placement of all the controls is perfect too. Backseat folds down 100% or 60/40 split when I need to haul something around and I also have the tow package for small trailers. Overall - Awesome vehicle!"

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Won't purchase another.

By on Wednesday, September 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Great tire wear."

Cons: "Not reliable and poor visability."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Engine, electrical and fuel pump problems."

10 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Good smaller SUV for the money. Very reliable.

By on Tuesday, September 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,511

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Priced right and good ride"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The Terrain has proven to be rock solid and a good buy for the original purchase price of around $29,000 for the SLT2 model. The ride is very good and the usable interior space is wonderful. The only minor problem has been that the radio reception (FM) has been poor from the beginning. Gas mileage of 18.0 mpg for the 4 cylinder is also a bit disappointing. It is quite comfortable as I have owned it for nearly 40 months."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Get ready to sweat!

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,100

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Great styling."

Cons: "Back seat A/C Dead zone. Poor connect"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"A/C works extremely well...only for the front seats. If you are a passenger in the 2nd row, get ready to sweat! Definite design flaw. This car desperately needs 2nd row A/C. Has a USB plug, but does not stay connected to iPhone 5. Will charge, but will disconnect when listening to music or Pandora. Had multiple parts replaced and no solution to the problem and nothing but head scratchers at the dealership. Much better off going to the Acadia."

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

I love my Terrain!

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a sweet vehicle! It's very comfortable and handles like a dream. All of the added features such as the rear camera and side mirror defrosters are all great benefits to have. Lots of storage compartments and the 6 way bucket seats are so comfortable. It even has seat warmers for those chilly nights. The back seat slides forward for more cargo room, if you need it. The back seat is very roomy and will fit 3 husky men. The stereo system sounds really good as well. This has been a very reliable car for over 3.5 yrs for me. I've only taken it in for oil changes so far. GMC has really upped their game with the Terrain line. It's a very good looking crossover and you'll be so happy to own one! I recommend getting an SLT touring model. I have a V6 engine and I love it. When I hit the gas pedal, I want to go, and this Terrain does it extremely well!"

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Thursday, August 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good Fuel economy"

Cons: "Cannot think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love it. No problems. Great car!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best American vehicle ever owned or leased.

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Just a great vehicle"

Cons: "Rear vision screen too subject to glare in bright"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best American made vehicle that I have ever owned or leased. The only car we owned that I would rate higher is a 1990 BMW535i. This vehicle is fun to drive. Never had one issue mechanical or operationally. The only negative is the visibility of the rear view screen. It's almost useless in bright sunshine. The rear view screen on the 2010 Terrain located on the rear view mirror was better."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, never a problem, new 65k tires 3 months old, no rust, full roof rack, remote start, and tailgate, V-6, premium chrome package. Great audio system. Clean leather seats. Heated front seats. Up to date on all maintenance. Regular synthetic oil changes. Alignment perfect. Body great shape, waxed and detailed every year."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Words cannot explain the condition this auto is in

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "$19995 is $1000.00 under bluebook LOOKS LIKENEW!"

Cons: "AbsoluteyNONE-Ecellent auto in Snow with All Wheel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Exceptionately dependable SUV Like New Well Maintained-Lease isterminating shortly so want to sell to individual who is looking for a comfortable family auto with low mileage."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

from the bigining problem with transmision

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,685

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"gas usage average 22mpg on flex fuel regular gas 24mpg"

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have owned in this size

By on Tuesday, August 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Overall very good for price."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great vehicle. Size if just right and style is better than other similar size vehicles."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

A impressive vehicle.

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Go for it!"

Cons: "There is a blind spot on the right rear, serious."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had my GMC Terrain since 2011. Mostly I only saw the service dept. was for their scheduled maintenance . I was impressed with 4 cylinder engine. Lots of pep! I enjoyed the steering and handling. This GMC Terrain SLT has a great look also, with chrome wheels and chrome appointed touches really add some nice lines. I felt very comfortable in the fully adjustable heated perforated leather front seats. When the rear seats are folded forward the cargo area is spacious. I have had to carry many spinning wheels large and small for my wife. The inboard tie downs helped to secure the items. I could go on but instead I am going for a ride on a nice curvy mountain paved road so I can open the sun/moon roof and enjoy the fresh air in the NW."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great overall

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "Mikage could be much better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Except for the poor mileage, this has been a great car, car has been well taken care of as per owners manual."

16 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Excellent quality and comfort

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent price and easy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best Car that I've owned in the last ten years"

3 people out of 9 found this review helpful

The most reliable vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value. Well constructed. Peppy engine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Not a single issue with this car in over 2.5 years. I took it in to the dealer right before the warranty ran out to see if they could find a problem. Of course nothing was discovered wrong with it. That little 4 cylinder engine is a work horse, and surprisingly peppy. The only issue I have is the gas mileage is not as good as I was lead to believe. It averages about 24 Mpg, and I thought it would be in the 26-27 range."

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Nice car for the cost.

By on Monday, June 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Quiet, smooth, nicely equipped for the money."

Cons: "Expensive to maintain, poor MPG, poor cargo area."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Car does very good in snow. V6 has good power, but I only get 12 mpg city, 19 highway. 4 cyl. did not have any power, even with only 2 people. Tires are too expensive, must be T-rated for some reason, and with AWD you must replace with same manufacturer for one tire, or buy 4 if tire treadwear is under 50% because circumference must be the same or it will ruin the tranny. Oil change costs twice as much because it requires synthetic oil. These three facts were not mentioned to me when I bought it. Best price I can find for my tires is $235 plus mounting, etc. Drove it to Fla. from PA twice, and ride & handling was very good and quiet. Not very good storage behind back seat, but back seat slides up or back about 8 inches for legroom or more room for suitcases. Standard rear back up camera is convenient. Cloth seats are very durable. Smooth, quiet, & responsive handling."

14 people out of 22 found this review helpful

wonderful suv

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fuel economy roomy quiet cabin"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased the terrain for a family trip to Texas last year and have been impressed with the vehicle from the first day"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Overall good vehicle comes up short on details

By on Thursday, June 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,700

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good acceleration and comfortable seats"

Cons: "Went backwards on interior design of the details"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Comfortable seats, good ride and acceleration with the 6 cylinder. Harsh shifts both up and down. Noisy engine from outside. I replaced a Pontiac Torrent with the Terrain. The Terrain comes up short compared to the older Torrent. One closing handle on the lift gate, two on the Torrent. If the handle had a pass through it could be used to tie down the lift gate. This is important because the Torrent front passenger seat folded flat to accommodate longer items, not the Torrent."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

love my terrain just want more HP to pull camper

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Priced, value and style excellent"

Cons: "A little tight on steering and HP."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"had since January 2012 and love driving it. great vehicle for travelling with just wife. could do better on MPGs but I admit to being a little heavy on the "GO" pedal. Bought 20' camper this summer and concern about tow weight of 3500 gvwr and hoping to solve it with more Horsepower. Very low mileage due to being retired and own two other vehicles, so very little driving during the week. Looking at possibly 2014 Terrain with added HP. Currently have SLT2 with 19" wheels with NAV and TOW package with 264 rated HP."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love our terrain

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Runs great, power and looks good! American made!!"

Cons: "N/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had this car for two years and love it!! Wouldn't rather have anything else and love the safety ratings!! Great car and good on gas, for an SUV."

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Not the best choice

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Great looks, nice basic features"

Cons: "Poor air circulation-too hot in cabin!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This vehicle is great in interior design and size for a small family. The seats are uncomfortable, the body has some blind sides if you are not careful, and the air circulation is extremely poor. Purchased brand new, but within a few months of purchase it began to make a jolting thunk when you either accelerate or begin to slow down and pick up speed (such as you near a red light but turns green so you don't stop). The gas mileage is not as advertised. We used it to travel to and from work on the highway and we were appalled by the amount of refilling we had to do on a weekly basis. We only lived 14 miles from work! We have had issues with navigation (which they replaced the antenna) and have had major problems with our tire sensors. It is extremely spacious and very beautiful on the exterior, but it is not a car I would purchase again or recommend to anyone."

11 people out of 14 found this review helpful

28500 miles is less than a year. Very reliable.

By on Monday, May 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4 cyl engine very adequate."

Cons: "hwy mileage not what I expected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Highway MPG not what I expected. Otherwise the vehicle has performed up to my high expectations."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not so great Terrain

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price was ok"

Cons: "the engine is poor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I love the size and body type of the Terrain but the quality of the vehicle is far from satisfactory. This car burns a LOT of oil and you will need an oil change long before it should be time to do so. I have had the car less than a year and have had issues in which I've taken it to the dealership at 6-7 times. I'm always told "just put more oil in it". Needless to say... I'm extremely unhappy with the performance of the car."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.