Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

1997 GMC Suburban 1500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 227 Ratings for the 1992 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next

Good solid truck

By on Monday, July 16, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"While it rides much better than the last body style, it still has a truck like handling. The 454 pulls great though. I can tow 8000 lbs at 75mph without even feeling it. Really stinky on gas usage though, 8-10mph on average. Fuel pump and distributor went out at 130000 and have had a variety of other more minor problems. Brakes aren't the best but aren't horrible. It's a big heavy truck and takes a while to stop. When I replace this one, I'll get another Suburban."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

GREAT TRUCK

By on Saturday, December 08, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this truck used in 2003 with 112 thousand odd miles. It now has 256,142. I've only replaced the brakes, alternator, and serepentine belt. I've traveled from MS to Chicago(12hrs), Houston(8hrs), Atl(6hr), FLA(19hrs), Baton Rouge(5hrs), and all over MS. This is a true SUV."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

If you haven't owned a Suburban...

By on Tuesday, September 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best over the road rig, a real truck. Safe."

Cons: "Mileage, but we have a diesel Jetta"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"These rigs are the ultimate family, vacation, ski-bum, soccer-mom, etc etc. rigs on the market. Don't forgwet Chevy was the first with such a vehicle (in the late 50's or so). Our present Suburban is a diesel, but we've had three gas jobs, sold the last one to our mechanic (it needed some work). He fixed it up and it still runs around locally. I expected more MPG from the diesel, but will install a chip to produce more power and MPG. It is not a duramax (Have a duramax in another truck), but just keeps on pluggin along. Ours has only 112,000- low miles for a 1996, southern car w. no rust, a real find. Want to keep it till the Lord returns!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Did it's job well

By on Thursday, October 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, safe, easy to drive, reliable."

Cons: "High gas bill, can be hard to park."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"You get what you pay for with one of these. I had the biggest model and I paid for the gas (with a 42 gallon tank, what can you expect). It always got me to where I needed to go and kept me safe when I ended up in a head on collision. I can't be more grateful to have owned one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good vehicle

By on Monday, December 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great Hwy vehicle on long trips, Minimal repair $"

Cons: "poor gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Has been a very reliable. repair costs, over the life of the vehicle- replaced fuel pump and power steering pump. Goes through tires 30-50k and brakes."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Suburban 1500 near Honolulu. See local deals