Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

1997 GMC Suburban 1500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 227 Ratings for the 1992 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next

Did it's job well

By on Thursday, October 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very comfortable, safe, easy to drive, reliable."

Cons: "High gas bill, can be hard to park."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"You get what you pay for with one of these. I had the biggest model and I paid for the gas (with a 42 gallon tank, what can you expect). It always got me to where I needed to go and kept me safe when I ended up in a head on collision. I can't be more grateful to have owned one."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great working truck! Gas mileage is terrible

By on Monday, December 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Hauls a big load of people or cargo."

Cons: "Low mpg. Handles like a much bigger truck."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this vehicle used 1n 1997 in Anchorage Alaska. Perfect for the winters up there. All my friends would call me when they got stuck because they knew I could get to them and that I could pull them out. Also used this truck on my farm in Iowa. It would go anywhere on the farm, pull any load I needed hauled, clear the driveway of snow and many other tasks. If the low miles per gallon (9 city, 11.5 Hwy) could be increased, I'd keep it forever!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

This vehicle is very good and very reliable.

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, and 4-wheel drive"

Cons: "Not a great stereo system."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I believe that it isnt the best car if your looking for good gas mileage. But for a bigger family it works great."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Thursday, October 16, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"If you need a large vehicle or truck- it is wonderful- hauled many kids, dogs and horse trailers. remove the 3rd seat and it's unbelievable how much you can load into it. Nothing beats it for traveling long distances in comfort. (roomier and heavier than the newer models- I also have a 2001) Decent mileage for such a large vehicle(15- 16 city- 20-22 highway) (these days it is a big OUCH to fill the 42 gallon tank) Though now semi-retired, I have put all of the nearly 300,000 miles on this vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Friday, July 20, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"i put 290,000 miles on mine and it still ran great till it was toataled in a wreck. every fun off road and drives great on road."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 46 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Suburban 1500 near Honolulu. See local deals