Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2012 GMC Sierra 3500 HD Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 768 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next

Best truck for me

By on Sunday, May 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best 3/4 ton truck I've owned"

Cons: "Prefer the current double cab door over ext cab."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable, no problems, just standard maintenance of oil changes and tire rotation. Pulls my 11,000 fifth wheel RV very well, even on hills. Very seldom needs to shift down to 3rd gear."

15 people out of 28 found this review helpful

EXCELLENT Truck!!!!

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Exceptional quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best of the Best HD truck"

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Good truck overall -- 2012 GMC 1500 SLE 4x4

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My truck had to go back to the dealership a couple times after I brought it home. The front bumber needed the alignment tweeked. The rear axle was not installed properly at the factory, which caused the truck to crab walk. They pulled the shackle apart and reassembled correctly. Otherwise, the truck has run well and the auto select 4x4 got a workout this winter in MN. This feature alone knocks dodge and ford out of consideration to me. I use the truck mostly empty, so I did install some torsion shackles. I have used them on other trucks and are well worth the money for a smoother ride."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

nice truck

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "a excellent truck overall"

Cons: "soft front suspension"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"only bad is the soft front springs"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

fast!!

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "poor gas mileage"

Cons: "solid truck tons of power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"great truck with plenty of room in the back with seat flipped up(extended cab)-like xm radio-fast,but drinks gas because of 6.2 engine-like the 20" chrome wheels!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck i've ever owned.

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, ride, looks, handling, great ride."

Cons: "Too much plastic on the inside. The rest is great!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best truck I've ever owned and the most comfortable. The gas mileage is great for a full size four wheel drive."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Solid Straight forward Truck plus Comfortable

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,393

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good vehicle for the price."

Cons: "With moderen technology gas milage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned other trucks which did the job. But this GMC not only does the job with ease, ride and comfort. I have not ever been stranded by this vehicle."

Solid Straight forward Truck plus Comfortable

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,393

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good vehicle for the price."

Cons: "With moderen technology gas milage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned other trucks which did the job. But this GMC not only does the job with ease, ride and comfort. I have not ever been stranded by this vehicle."

These trucks are excellent trucks

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,990

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great truck too drive"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truck is a great truck only down side is fuel mileage"

21 people out of 47 found this review helpful

This is a great truck and a great value.

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value and holds it's value."

Cons: "No down side to this truck."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The GMC Sierra 1500 extended cab is one of the best trucks I have owned. I have a 2012 and like it so well, I am having a hard time selling it. I love the new design, so I will probably will end up trading. This truck is well worth the money and really holds its value. Buy it, you won't be sorry."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

oil changes as schedule, tire rotation as schedule

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "yes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"repalced air filter at 41000. truck is like new, iside and out"

Good sturdy truck / rated mileage inaccurate

By on Tuesday, February 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Only two issues: Max mileage rating of 21mpg is @ 55mph on level road & more interior road noise than I had expected. No other issues."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent truck!

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is has been better than I even expected. Still enjoy driving it 2.5 years later and 49000 miles."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This is a great truck, my needs changed

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "confident,reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"added a tonue cover and nurf bars"

great truck for pulling travel trailer

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Really good price"

Cons: "If something breaks, get ready to pay for it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love the power this truck has for pulling our travel trailer. Rides good even with the heavier suspension and fuel mileage is not bad. Does everything I could ask of a diesel 4x4! Have talked to fellow truck owners that have Ford and Dodge, think I came out on top with this one!"

Tried Dodge, Toyota, Ford---GMC best

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, comfort and reliability all there"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned toyota, dodge, Ford and this GMC blows them all away. Towing is great. I use synthetic lubricants and no problems yet."

One of the very best trucks

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"One of the best trucks we've ever owned. Unfortunately we lost it in an accident but I truly believe that the safety features in this truck saved our lives. Thanks GMC for making quality vehicles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

lots of power, handles good, comfortable

By on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"lots of power, handles good, comfortable"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GMC

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great price, Looks great"

Cons: "Fuel Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got a great deal on this truck at the end of the model year. It looks great, drives great and is very smooth on the road. The fuel mileage is not so good but that is to be expected with any full size pickup. Hopefully, this will improve in the future. I plan on driving this truck for at least ten years like the Silverado I had previous to this Sierra."

best truck I've owned..my 3rd and soon 4th denali

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 148,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "moon roof drain hoses go after 4 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third one. Been a truck guy for the last 30 years and this is the best luxury with power a man can have if a gas vehicle is desired. Pull a big boat thousands of miles at high speed...AWD lets me pass in any weather. Simply the best."

Awesome Truck

By on Saturday, January 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Pulls well. Luxury. Love the power. Super comfortable. Back seat is okay for shorter distances only but good for kids. Long bed is versatile. Love that this truck is keeping its value."

Engine, cab, interior, paint

By on Friday, January 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,100

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable enough, drives well, brakes good, looks g"

Cons: "eng. hesitates, noisy cab, int. cheap, thin paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This truck drives real well(providing alignment is adjusted properly(some dealers do not have good front end alignment tech's)The brakes work very well, The ride is pretty decent, The tranny shifts well most of the time, The engine surges and hesitates because of the fuel management system, The interior is very cheap, the paint is very thin, the cab is very road noisy, the controls are hard to operate, you have to take your eyes off of the road (for to long) to make most adjustments. Overall, truck is decent."

Best truck I've ever owned. Tremendous power.

By on Saturday, January 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very responsive, thinks it's a racer!"

Cons: "Should offer automatic running boards!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've never owned a truck that had this much raw power on tap, and ready at even 60 to 70 mph. I tow a 24 foot trailer with a 3,500 show car and the GMC DuraMax doesn't breath hard on even the longest upgrades. All that, and 14 to 16 miles per gallon at 2,000 RPMs with the trailer. I get 19 to 22 MPG without the trailer. It's very comfortable for long trips - the seats seem to just cradle you, and the heated seat feature is one of the best options available. I love this truck - and I could keep on singing it's praises, but I'm too busy looking for a 2014 Model to purchase right now!"

do not buy

By on Friday, January 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "nice looking, comfortable to drive"

Cons: "poor turn radius, bad gas mileage, cheap parts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"stearing gear broke within a year, still not right. poor turning radius; does not pull heavy trailers well. Very comfortable ride; nice leather. Scratches easily; gas mileage 16.4 only--even driving slow. Would not buy this truck again...cheap compared to Yukon."

Love my truck!!

By on Friday, December 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2012 Gmc is very comfortable. The only con is the door handle is in an odd spot."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Sierra 3500 HD Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals