Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2008 GMC Sierra 1500 Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 735 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 147 | Next

Good full-sized medium hauler

By on Wednesday, June 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,650

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ride, transmission, engine torque, turbo, ex brake"

Cons: "heavy, expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Interior comfort and noise abatement are excellent. Has very good towing manners and is comfortable with big loads. Stock headlights are very good, but fog lights are merely ornamental. Air intake for transmission cooler needs screen if you operate on dirt or gravel roads. Recommend upgrade to Caterpillar fuel filter (and housing), which has higher flow and lower micron rating than stock. Variable-geometry turbo is outstanding and incorporates a very effective engine brake by moving the stator vanes inside the turbo. This works much better than a simple butterfly exhaust valve such as Isuzu, Cummins and Ford use. It works in conjunction with the Allison transmission and keeps speeds where they belong on downgrades with moderate loads, but the installed trailer brake system handles the rest. If you intend to tow a 5th wheel, you will need a special sliding mount or risk hitting the cab with the trailer. I froze the DEF fluid while idling in Canada overnight at -40, but the tank is designed to allow that and although I had a warning light on for about fifty miles, it eventually thawed out and have had no further issues. I would like some kind of DEF level gauge or indication other that "Low" or "Okay". Truck front suspension rides better than the Ford or Ram trucks that I drove before buying. This may or may not be important to you, but I drive large trucks in rural environments and appreciate a smoother ride in my personal vehicle. I have added rear air bags for load leveling to avoid having to adjust my headlights every time I travel. Overall, it's a very good truck, no disrespect to Ford or Ram; all three are pretty good."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love My Truck

By on Wednesday, May 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the SLE 4X4 Diesel and absolutely love this truck. Powerful, comfortable, and reliable. I put new wheels and tires and everywhere I go people comment on what a nice truck I have."

17 people out of 32 found this review helpful

A great vehicle

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 97,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfy to drive- excellent handling for a larg"

Cons: "small outside mirrors- needs towing mirrors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Sierra is an ext. cab 4x4 with a 4.8 liter V-8 and it has never caused a problem. Reliability is outstanding and don't be afraid of the small engine- the 4.8 moves this vehicle down the road just fine and it really shines on the interstate with very respectable fuel mileage- even for a 4x4. Even with a full load in the bed- there is more than enough power under the hood."

11 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Best truck ever and I've had a few

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, ride and performance"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am a full time pickup truck driver and trade most times on a yearly basis not more than two years. I like this 2012 GMC SLT so well its time to trade and I just can't bring myself to trade it off."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very good truck.

By on Saturday, May 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,050

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good all around truck."

Cons: "The cup holder is in the wrong place."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I had a diesel before, I bought this gasoline truck because it was cheaper to fill up, but I find that I fill up more often with gas than with diesel. I am going back to a diesel. This truck is good not a thing wrong with it I would not hesitate to buy it again."

13 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 147 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Sierra 1500 Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals