Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2002 GMC Sierra 1500 Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1510 Ratings for the 1999 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next

RELIABLE

By on Friday, July 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a great truck and I have only had to replace the fuel pump and put tires on it and just rolled over 260000 don't be afraid of high mileage on these trucks will tow anything pulled a 35 foot big tex with my deer 612m with it all the time. gas mileage isn't the best I get about 12 all around but for the reliability its perfect"

The best truck on the road!!

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 378,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "No cons!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Black GMC Z71 enuff said!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck I have ever owned

By on Thursday, June 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, powerful, nice looking, roomy"

Cons: "V8 gas mileage, 2WD not great for snow, ice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

All around terrific vehicle

"I have had this vehicle for 7 years and it has not needed anything major. I have been diligent on oil changes and other services. The only thing that has been an intermittent concern is that it is only 2WD. Washington doesn't get that cold, but when it does, the truck is not very good in inclement weather. It is sturdy, powerful, comfortable. Holds up great to wear and tear!"

15 people out of 26 found this review helpful

All around terrific vehicle

great all around truck!

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great in all situations, drives like a car!"

Cons: "gas mileage nothing great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i purchased this truck used with less than 100k on it and never looked back. strong motor great ride and the ability to work when necessary, plus she looks good to boot!! maintainence was easy and she never let me down!"

Leak prone 5.3 hurts experience

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable,Powerfull"

Cons: "Leaks,Clunks,Leaks some more"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"First the good, the seats are SO comfortable, the truck has a lot of room in it, it does what it should do these days, hauls people and stuff. That's about it. For the rest of it: Small thing, when in Drive, the shifter is in the way of the speed knob for the HVAC, oversight I suppose, but it's clumsy and not appreciated. Medium thing, the rear doors sound awful hollow and pop when closing, but they seal tightly. Unlike the passenger rear window, they leak, this truck is the pop out window, does not roll down. But the top of the passenger side leaks on many of these trucks. Then, there are the big issues.. The 5.3L leaks oil. It drips on the exhaust pipe. It drips out front of your house, driveway, work, school... it smells terrible, and you have to remove the transmission (4L60E that is a so-so tranny) and 4wd transfer case to get to the rear seal to even hope to fix it... and it's about an 90% success rate from what I hear and read if you DIY. It's a THOUSAND DOLLAR FIX for a shop or dealership! The Ford's $1200 spark plug issue is just as bad, but still, that is ridiculous, an oil leak???? We've been building engines for how many years now? We should not have leaks this day and age. Also the slip yoke slides around quite a bit, and therefore gives the "famous" (infamous) driveline clunk. Another "normal" issue. Supposedly no damage, but I don't believe it. They've made a $300 replacement nickel plated yoke, but who's realistically going to buy that? Overall, it gets from point A to B, it's a nice truck, it's a shame that it has issues that it just flat out should not have."

Not a Bad Truck

By on Friday, June 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I got this truck with 137,122 miles on it. When I got it home, it didn't pass WV inspection. I had to replace both front ball joints and the daytime lights for it to pass. I later had to replace the bumper because it was rusted out. I recently took it to the shop to replace the left front ball bearings. Eventually I will have to replace the front bumper. Other than that, it has been a wonderful truck. I would call my truck a fairly reliable truck with miner repairs. It's comfortable, maybe a little stiff with a good and OK smooth transmission. I wouldn't trade my truck for and new truck."

Excellent Work truck now in retirement

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this truck since it had 14k miles, have always enjoyed the handling even though it spent most of its life fully laden or close to it. It has been replaced in the field and is now enjoying retirement. Now that I get to enjoy it without the burden of tools and supplies, I plan/hope to see it hit at least 300k as it still runs strong and sails through emissions testing every time."

Good value for price and resale is also excellent

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable ride, plenty of power in the 5.3"

Cons: "front end is lower than the rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really like the ride. The power is really good. I like knowing I can run E85 in it if I want to and switch back to regular gas if I want. I've owned mine for over 7 years and I love it. I will definitely by another GMC when I am ready for a new (or newer) pick up. I've only replaced tires and brakes in it besides fluids."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

This is the 2nd Denali purchased.

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,212

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, Ease of handling. perfect on trips, turns"

Cons: "headlights could be a little brighter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the comfort, Easy handling, Very dependable. Best truck ever purchased. Would not trade for a new one."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

its been very dependable, fun to drive, econimcal,

By on Thursday, June 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, classy, dependable, very economical"

Cons: "can't really think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 03 GMC Sierra is the best vehicle I have ever owned. I'm very tall and not very comfortable in most cars, yet my fiance is just 5'4", she loves driving it too. Its very comfortable, yet classy and sporty all at the same time. It handles great in adverse road conditions. One of the nicest things about my GMC is how quiet and sound the cab is. Thanks GMC!!!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

80000 easy diesel miles HARD FIND

By on Saturday, May 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GRTMPG LOW Miles Youll never run out of POWER"

Cons: "I LIKE IT A LOT, IT CAN'T BE REPLACED"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"-CUSTOM KATSKIN LEATHER -CUSTOM JL AUDIO WITH WIDESCEEN RETRACTABLE IN=DASH DVD -NAVIGATION ON DVD SCREEN -BUILT IN HEAT AND MASSAGE IN FRONT SEATS -NEVER PULLED IN COMPETITIONS OR HAUL ANYTHING MORE THEN MY BOATO ICE SHACK -NEVER BEEN A PLOW TRUCK -21-24MPG ON HWY -DOES HAVE EDGE ATTITUDE TUNER HELPS GREATLY WITH MPG AND NO BOOST LAG -I COULD KEEP GOING BUT THEN I'LL PROBABLY WONDER WHY I'M SELLING IT, ALSO AMSOIL BEEN RUN IN IT SINCE NEW!!!"

5 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Real good truck

By on Friday, May 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort and reliable"

Cons: "Dash electronics"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only real problem with mine is gauges and dash lights like most all GM cars from that era."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Happy, happy, happy!

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependability, good looks."

Cons: "Too bad it doesn't get about 50 mpg."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2006 GMC Sierra new. As of today, 2014, I've not had any problems with it. My first set of tires lasted until 60,000 and other than replacing them and routine maintenance, I've not had to do anything else. I plan to pass it on to my 13 year old son when he turns 16. I would definitely recommend GMC!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Love my truck

By on Saturday, May 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new 04, 1500 SLE, crew cab, 5.3 litre. I`ve always taken care of my vehicles so it`s fair to say that this truck has not missed a regular maintenance requirement. I had an instrument gage recall. However with any make something can happen, these things just do, but this truck has been FLAWLESS.... It took 9 1/2 yrs. to kill first battery and headlight. First tune-up at about 100k, including new wires just to keep her with that new feeling. At this point it has equaled my praise for my last truck, also a GM(89Chevy, Reg.cab, 279k mi. just wanted to upgrade for grandkids), I upgraded the exhaust, and added air springs,and brake control for towing(7000+, with loaded bed , keep in mind it`s a half ton), it has travelled 10 western states camping, and vacationing regularly all 10 years , hard and fast, she has never been babied, has never left me on the side of the road, and absolutely no work done beyond regular maintenance, and above all it`s my commute. Very good gas mileage,20hwy fairly religiously , still at this age, I check regularly and that`s not driving slow, I use cruise control every time I hit freeway, average about 9-10 towing. She has a few battle scars, but just scratches(she`s been around), I have the oversized 20" rims and the rare blue, and with a bed shell, WOW!! she still looks great today. I guess it can be said I can`t say enough, I LOVE THIS TRUCK"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

dissappointing

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Needed multiple trips to dealer to repair defects. interior wore out before its time (window cranks froze, AC went out at 40K miles and again at 77K)"

love this truck

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "roomy,rides great and looks good"

Cons: "cant think of any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been great! comfortable to drive holds 6 adults comfortably. 91000 miles and haven't done a thing to it but regular maintenance. now the truck is 11 years old and still looks great and drives like the day I bought it! couldnt be happier"

14 people out of 23 found this review helpful

I love this truck!

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "power and dependability"

Cons: "maybe mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very dependable,awesome plowing power, I have owned a lot of vehicles in my life for the last 5 years this truck has been my favorite. anybody out there looking for a truck this is the one!"

best truck GM produced.

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfortable, handles like a car"

Cons: "wish for 3rd door at times."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really like this truck. Wish it had 4 door's instead of 3. Handles like a car. Has excellent acceleration. Not had any problems with it....just normal maintenance."

great truck

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,880

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great for having fun"

Cons: "Not for a big family"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This is a great truck for having fun and work. It only has had one owner me. I dont have room for this truck since I recently got a family car. It does have scrapes minor touch ups that are needed and it does need some electrical work that I have been trying to fix but since I am a woman mechanics seem to want to take advantage of that and Im pretty sure any man/guy out there wont have a problem getting this fix. I love this truck just love and I am saddened that I have to sell it. I have kept up with everything that is needed so far."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is a great vehicle. Rides and drives like new

By on Monday, April 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this vehicle new in 2005. It has been very reliable. It is loaded with lots of extras and it's very comfortable to drive. Quiet with lots of power to spare. Gas mileage for a truck this size with a V8 engine is very good. I've have had no problems with it since I drove it off the lot."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Looks good, Dependable, comfortable"

Cons: "Owned since 01 - No Cons..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has exceeded all expectations. This has been a wonderful vehicle. Bought this new and plan on keeping it a long long time."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Good truck. Still looks good and runs great.

By on Monday, April 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Looks great, smooth ride, luxury leather seats"

Cons: "Stepside bed = loss of some utility. Gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck a few weeks after 9/11. It still looks great after 220,000 miles. I get compliments on it all the time and offers to buy it. I have replaced the usual parts such as alternator, fuel pump, front wheel bearings, etc. I did have a valve spring break about 5 years ago which cost about $300.00 Still has good power and 4wd still works. Clear coat is beginning to flake off but it's been kept outside and unfortunately I rarely waxed it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Awsome, Smokin Hot. But kicking Dodge Eating Truck

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "No rear seat entertainment package,or cooled seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Looks Good, Sound Good, Drives Great, Fun to Drive Goes Anywhere, Pulls Anything"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

wonderful truck

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "very comfortable, very reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought new, love this truck, mostly highway miles, my being the only driver, well taken care of, michelin tires one year old"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I bought new and have been very satisfied.

By on Friday, March 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 73,000+ miles only two repairs, starter and tailgate handle mechanism. I repaired both myself. Also had clunking sound when steering. had mechanic repair that. some hi-way conditions cause some chassis oscillation."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Sierra 1500 Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details