Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2002 GMC Sierra 1500 Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1556 Ratings for the 1999 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 63 | Next

By on Saturday, January 02, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Have had this truck since 2003, purchased it used with 51,000 miles. Now has 278,000 and runs like the day I purchased it. Has the 5.3 and plenty of power with an avg rating of 20 mpg. The only thing I have done in terms of major repairs, is the fuel pump, twice..Not bad considering my driving habits..Always buy GM products but don't like the faulty abs system , my wife has a 2002 Tahoe, abs problems since 50,000 miles...Had it fixed at dealer, had it fixed again by a electrical guy on eBay, still abs won't work properly...My truck's abs works but light has been on since 80,000 miles...Overall I couldn't ask for a better truck and exceptional value..."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

GMC Trucks Rock!

By on Friday, January 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "See above"

Cons: "See above"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My first GMC truck had 280,000 miles when I sold it, and it still ran like a champ! I needed to get a 4 wheel drive since I moved from Texas to Colorado. I currently have a 2002 Sierra 1500 Denali. I bought it 10 years ago and it had 20,000 miles on it. It has 120,000 on it now. It has required only general maintenance for 10 years until 2 years ago when the fuel pump wore out and the next year I replaced the alternator. I kept the truck well maintained. I'm a firm believer in taking care of my vehicle and it will take care of me. This truck has gone above and beyond my expectations. This truck has not disappointed me. It has been very reliable and has performed well in all situations. It rides like a Cadillac,is very comfortable, it handles very well and is a good looking truck. I can hardly tell when I am pulling a trailer or the pop up camper. I would not even consider getting another truck in the near future, if...it got better gas mileage. Of course, if the cost of gas was not overinflated, that would not be an issue either. I love the 4 wheel steer feature. I had some carpal tunnel issues a few years back and the 4 wheel steer was extremely beneficial. It is a great feature even without hand problems. That is the only reason I will hate to get rid of this truck...I can not get the 4 wheel steer again, as they are not putting in trucks anymore. I'm afraid that feature got a bad rap for some reason? The adjustable lumbar support is very nice, especially on long trips. I can't say enough good things about my truck. This has been the best vehicle I have owned..."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best truck ever made

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"just cant kill it. 15,500 lbs tow rating. dubulied the tow rating on it has no problem with 30k behind her!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good fuel mileage. Comfortable ride.

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,003

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Stored inside. Never driven in salt (winter storage). New injectors."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Cool truck

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 237,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of power"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Lots of power 4x4 is great 0-60 faster then anything out there for what you can get got it 4000 under book"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

143,000 and still love this truck!

By on Saturday, February 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable to say the least"

Cons: "I get a Christmas card from the gas company"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have towed a lot with this truck, I have hauled a lot with this truck. I've been off road, in mud, on ice, on job sites. This truck has been awesome! Issues? Rear axle seal, two sets of brakes and two set of tires. That's it! Now I am over the top on doing preventative maintenance, transmission and differentials fluids were replaced with Amsoil from day one. Engine oil Mobil one from day one. Does not leak or burn anything. Seat wore a spot in the leather I replaced the cover and foam, like new! Bad part? sucks the gas! 12.5mpg and I drive it, no mamsey pamsy driving. Pulled a horse trailer and Skid steer loaders"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This by far the best truck i have ever owned.

By on Friday, December 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 284,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliabilty, longevity, pulling power"

Cons: "rear seat is not good for long legged people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have 284000 miles on this truck and it has never left me on the side of the road. I have pulled 22,000 lbs with it in the mountains with no problems. I was amazed that a 2500 would pull that kind of weight up mountains. It still has all the power and fuel economy it ever had. I bought it used in 2007 and have spent less than $2500.00 in upkeep excluding tires and batteries. It is a diesel and my next truck will be a GMC diesel."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck ever! Comfortable, powerful, reliable

By on Friday, December 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cheap parts, VERY RELIABLE, great power"

Cons: "None that I can think of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can't tell you how much I love my truck! Sure it has some "battle scars," but it just keeps plugging along. I've put this truck through the mill and with over 200,000 miles the engine and transition still run like they are factory new! The only real work it has needed is a new fuel pump and rotors, but that's nothing for the age and mileage. Even the fuel mileage is good for a truck. It is comfortable, powerful and reliable!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

In addition to obvious goodies like 4 wheel

By on Friday, November 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Wife hatted lights on top of cab, less than 10 mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Steering, AWD...most reliable - problem free vehicle I have ever had. Original factory brakes lasted over 100,000 miles. Up to then only regular service and tires!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Dependable truck

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable, comfortable, good ride, solid truck"

Cons: "Can't come up with much, it's been great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck in 2003 with 49,000 miles. Now has 171,000 and still going strong. Engine is still peppy I have been pulling a 27ft 5th wheel with it since 2008. Lacks a little power in hilly terrain with the camper but still managable. In the 10 years I've owned it I have replaced a power stearing hose, window regulators on both sides, a set of plug wires, Brakes(2X),battery, tires and oil. It has never left me stranded. One of the best vehicles I've ever owned. No major problems at all. Still wouldn't be afaid to take off going anywhere with it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best HD Truck for comfort, hauling and towing.

By on Friday, October 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,219

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great for pulling travel trailer and hauling."

Cons: "N/A for this Truck."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If it had a bathroom I'd live in it! I use to think the destnation was the fun. Now it's the drive!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Sunday, October 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable,MPG"

Cons: "Dash peels off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this truck has been very good bought it with a 100k on it now over 200k have had no problems with it other than normal wear other than 4 wd switch went out push button type no biggie. truck gets 19 mpg hwy and 15 mpg putting around the country.Just starting to look for replacment truck and it will be another GM."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

nice looking truck

By on Monday, May 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i own a truck just like this one i think theyre worth a little more like 5000, but anyways this truck is so comfortable nice looking. i have no words to describe its so convenient"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

jimmy

By on Friday, March 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"most dependable trk i hv ever owned,great towing .first time in 8 yrs i hv ever had to fix anything."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Monday, March 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "no complaints it does what it is supposed to"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"dependable, hard working, easy to live with. I have a remodeling business, and I haul materials, bid jobs, prospect jobs etc, out of my 2007 gmc sierra classic. It does its job all day without so much as a whimper. and at the end of the day you can clean er up and take it into town. I will definately recomend it to anyone!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Unbelievable Truck

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 367,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Unbeatable reliability"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never have I owned a vehicle that performed as well as this truck. I have put 367,000 miles on this '02 GMC with nothing but routine maintenance. The truck still delivers plenty of power and comfort along with rock solid gas mileage -- consistantly 18 mpg Hwy. I have so much faith in this truck that I just put new tires on it as i expect to get at least another 70,000 miles out of it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Truck

By on Thursday, January 15, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my truck very much. It's been the best vehicle I've owned to date. I've only had to have a few minor things replaced under warrenty, but I got my truck back by the end of the day. I've modified it since then, and now it looks and drives even better than before."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck I've ever owned!!

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned this truck for over seven years now and all I've had to replace is the alternater, 4wd switch and a fuel pressure reg valve. Best truck I've owned. I still get compliments on it today!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome Truck!

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Had a 2005 GMC Sierra 1500 for 4 years. Quality was outstanding from day 1 until I sold it 3 1/2 years later. Never had any major issue, minor stuff taken care of within first year ownership. Absolutely would recc a GMC to a friend."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck yet

By on Sunday, November 30, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this truck used with 130000 miles on it and I absolutely love it. It has great power and has no engine ping despite the miles. Very comfortable seating and enough room in the extended cab for two child seats. I'm getting 20 mpg on the highway and 15- 17 on winding mountain roads. The only down sides I have noticed are minor. It doesn't have a great turn radius and it is a little noisy when turning in 4 wheel drive. But other than that, I highly recommend it. I'm speaking from some experience after owning both Dodge and Ford pick-ups"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2003 GMC Sierra 1500 Ext Cab

By on Monday, October 27, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"Purchased the '03 new in June 2003. Many problems with instrument cluster module killing battery several times before GMC figured out problem. Front fender rust within 1 year...replaced under warranty. Intermediate steering shaft bad design leads to awful sound when turning at low speeds. Kit replaced 2 times under warranty but not considered to be safety problem but faulty design. OEM Tires lasted exactly 30,000 miles which is reasonable, but I expected another 10K before replacing. Front and rear brake rotors rust out early and often. Only 32,000 miles...but just purchased 2008 F-150.... Good things...fairly quiet...good looks and styling."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Substandard

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"This vehicle doesnt hold up to the professional grade it is labeled.From the way the transmission shifts,warped brakes to the bumper and wheels rusting I have only 6800 miles on this truck and regret ever buying it"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Asolutely wonderful

By on Friday, April 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had this truck since new, with 151k on it now,I still get about 20 MPG highway, 17 city and it rides beautifully. Outside of the time the field mice ate the wiring, this truck has NEVER failed to run and never left me stranded. AC Still works fine, no oil burning. I do my own repairs and I have spent less than 500 bucks on repairs outside of normal maintenance (tires, brakes etc. This truck has a V8 and a long bed and is always loaded and the milage is still fantastic,and the styling is handsome! Take that Toyota!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, March 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 63 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Sierra 1500 Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals