Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2009 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 764 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next

GREAT TRUCK !!!!!

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "GMC SLT TRUCKS ARE A GREAT RIDE AND GREAT ON GAS !"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great truck, i'am having another hip surgery and then knee replacement. i have just moved back to a farm and i told my wife that i'am not going to mess up my truck, i have a brand new truck even though it's a 2012, it gets 21 miles to the gallon hwy and around 18 city i'am 63 years old and it's the best truck on gas i have ever have !! My wife told me if i was'nt going to drive that i needed to sell it and when i get over my surgerys that i could buy another one. told her that it would have to be one old because i'am not going to put scrathes on my new truck, the only thing i have done with any of my truck is pull my 520 ranger to the lake i got rid of my boat before i had my first hip surgery / then i bought this 2012 slt thought i was going to beable to fish again but not so yet / it still has warranty and everbody thinks it's a new one / the miles on it now is going down 85 back and fourth to doctors at Emory in Atlanta. All the miles on it is highway miles / it still can be certified and you will get more years warranty on it / like i said i don't like scrathes on my truck so until i sell it it won't be used on the farm i told her i would buy her a old truck to haul stuff/ she has a new yukon / and i want let her drive mine/ i'am very picky on my personal truck so if you want a good truck make me a resonable offer // thanks Carter I will buy me a new one again once i get back my health and able to bass fish again //// YOU CAN SEE MY TRUCK ON CRAIG LIST GREENVILLE SC 2012 CREW CAB HARTWELL GA YOU WANT A GREAT TRUCK THIS IS THE ONE YOU NEED/ IT NEEDS A GOOD HOME AND SOME ONE WHO WANTS A GOOD LOOKING TRUCK !!!!"

very good truck

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very good truck"

Cons: "dont need 3/4 ton. Fuel milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"bought this for North Dakota works excellent in all weather and snow conditions"

my second GMC Sierra - have really liked both

By on Wednesday, March 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, good looking,"

Cons: "Maintenance and repairs are expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have enjoyed this truck thoroughly. It is my second GMC Sierra 1500 SLT model. They have both exceeded my expectations and have proved to be reliable. Repairs are expensive, but I've had few. My previous truck is still going strong with 200,000 on it. My son now has that one and is still getting good service out of it."

4 people out of 11 found this review helpful

A Towing Beast

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "strong, reliable, great road manners, good on fuel"

Cons: "20" rims limit tire choices greatly, price tag"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 8th pickup truck and the most reliable and powerful owned to date. Being a Denali tells you it has all the bells and whistles for creature comforts but it is the Duramax engine coupled with the Allison Transmission that sets this truck apart. I pull a flatbed equipment trailer and a dump trailer that worked the 6.0 liter 2500HD very hard. The 2500HD Denali with the Duramax laughs at the load and does it all quietly and with a smooth precision that surprised me even after three years."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

09 Sierra is rock solid even after 110000 mi

By on Wednesday, February 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Solid, no flex rattlefree ride, fully-boxed frame"

Cons: "minor paint peel on roof"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The 09 Sierra is the best made and least-recalled truck in this series. The only item that went bad was the power steering cooler behind the front grille, replaced under warranty, nothing else broke of note."

5 people out of 15 found this review helpful

very nice and reliable truck

By on Tuesday, February 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "This is a solid truck, does what it is supposed to"

Cons: "The center console could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've driven this truck since it was new. I have had no minor or major maintenance issues whatsoever. I have changed the cooling to the green stuff and did change out the spark plugs at 80,000 because I wanted to change them, not because the truck had any performance issues. Mine has the 6L engine and we pull a 28' trailer on vacations and it does this task very well. It is comfortable to drive long distances in even with 4 adults putting the rear centeris too cosey, but we do it anyway."

6 people out of 11 found this review helpful

very dependable

By on Thursday, February 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "mpg and dependable"

Cons: "ground clearance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only thing that I have ever had to do is oil changes. Even the wipers are original love this truck. I have taken this out west, pulled my camper, hauled wood, and I have the worst driveway on earth yet 0 issues."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

excellent value

By on Sunday, February 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "above average ride comfort, nice towing vehicle"

Cons: "gas milage, not an extendable steering wheel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"overall excellent vehicle for multiple use, a little problem parking in typical shopping centers parking lots"

22 people out of 44 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Sunday, January 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good price"

Cons: "17 to 18 mpg in town"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i like this truck"

14 people out of 35 found this review helpful

Muck too overall height!

By on Thursday, January 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Drives great, fair price."

Cons: "Camera aand sensors needed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This truck performance is satisfactory. However, it was purchased site unseen, ordered form out of town dealer. It is much too tall and hard to get in to drive. I cannot, without a step ladder or long handle cleaning tool clean the windshield or get anything from the bed without climbing over the tailgate. I never attempt to wash it. I would not have purchased if I had known these problems. I would not buy another one because of above facts. My wife will not drive it. There is no reason for making this tall vehicle. If there an intelligent answer please publish it."

40 people out of 84 found this review helpful

Great Truck for the money. Smooth ride .

By on Monday, December 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had Ford trucks and some chevy trucks in past years. This truck is the best by far. 25,000 miles and no squeaks or towing problems. Love the smooth ride and the interior is comfortable and all instrument panel signs are easy to read. Love this truck for long trips."

74 people out of 147 found this review helpful

Best all around vehicle I have ever owned.

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort, visibilty, handling, load capacity, power"

Cons: "Fuel mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent long distance, and short run, vehicle. Drive coast to coast in comfort and safety. Love the visability, handling and power."

24 people out of 37 found this review helpful

Great truck!

By on Sunday, November 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "tough, reliable, fun"

Cons: "more power, cheap interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"i bought this as my first truck. ive had it for 2 years now and love it! never had a problem with it and it is fun to drive. i use this at the ranch i work at and it will do almost anything i need it to. and it will get anywhere i need it to go."

18 people out of 34 found this review helpful

My favorite so far out of the 50 plus i have owned

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "awesome looking ,stylish, comfortable, peppy"

Cons: "fuel mileage, wind and road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"all around great truck other than minor issues none mechanical ."

19 people out of 44 found this review helpful

This is a car trapped in a truck body!

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Wish I had one!"

Cons: "Gutless"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Great if all you do is flat highway. Not good on hills and worthless for towing. Can't wait to dump it."

17 people out of 43 found this review helpful

Just a simple 4x4 that is goog on gas.

By on Sunday, November 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good truck, good price"

Cons: "vent valve has went bad after 38,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It is a good truck that is not w/t but without the price tag of the sle model. In most cases under the expensive frills, their all the same truck."

28 people out of 59 found this review helpful

Wouldn't drive anything else

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great mileage, very comfortable, well built, solid"

Cons: "really can't think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely LOVE my GMC Sierra 2500HD. I wouldn't drive anything else. Even with it's powerful 6.6 liter turbo diesel, I'm averaging 15 mpg. That's better than a lot of other vehicles out there. And, being 6'6" tall, it's hard to find a truck that's truly comfortable to drive. I can sit behind the wheel all day long, and often do. I really can't find anything negative to say about this truck. It's perfect."

37 people out of 79 found this review helpful

Great vehicle including topper with locks

By on Tuesday, October 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very reliable Vehicle, smooth driving, downsizing"

Cons: "Paint is flaking on door panels, needs tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Interior driver seat torn, paint flaking off bottoms of doors, needs new tires, Thanks,"

25 people out of 42 found this review helpful

Excellent Truck, Never Needs Repair

By on Sunday, October 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great work vehicle, rides awesome"

Cons: "17 MPG could be better and acceleration is slow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We wanted a truck for a 3rd vehicle. In the fall of 2008 we bought a 2008 GMC Sierra work truck. 1500, auto, ac, stereo and that is about it for the options! It is a 4 door with the rubber floors, no carpet. Truck continues to run perfect all the time. The only thing we have done to it is normal maintenance and a set of tires. Drives and rides great and tows/hauls just about anything."

16 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Best truck ever!!

By on Wednesday, October 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 34,900

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this truck since 1/10. Absolutely the best vehicle I have ever owned. Will be buying a new truck next year and my son-in-law is chomping at the bit to get ahold of this truck......really not sure I want to get rid of it!! Five years old and I still get people thinking it is a brand new truck!!"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best Truck I've ever owned.

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 874

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best truck I've ever owned. Power WOW!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Towing Power is 10+"

Great Truck for work and/or pleasure

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides great, tows awesome"

Cons: "Seat material"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only issue/complaint about this truck was the seat covering. They are the worst material for cleanup. I take my dog everywhere with me and even though he has a sheet/blanket that covers his "side", any dog hair what so ever that lands on these seat takes forever to remove. Even light coffee spills, anything, it's the worst material ever for a truck. I hope they've made improvements on this. Otherwise, have owned 4 Silverados and although I loved them, now with the Sierra, I'll always stick with this."

23 people out of 42 found this review helpful

the truck has custom wheels and tires and lift

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lift kit , mud tires, heated seats and leather"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my truck has custom 17" rims and 33" tires with a 5" rough country suspension lift and has heated seats"

27 people out of 51 found this review helpful

Best truck I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Power, Looks"

Cons: "Gas Milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great Truck"

8 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Very reliable, no problems in 75k miles

By on Tuesday, September 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Appears to hold its value"

Cons: "Throttle lag"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For a baseline pickup, I am very satisfied with its reliability and driveability. The only negative is throttle lag with the 4.3 V-6 engine."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab near Honolulu. See local deals