Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2003 GMC Envoy XL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 908 Ratings for the 2002 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 182 | Next

Best GM vehicle ever made! Hands down!

By on Wednesday, April 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "50 characters? I'll just say EVERYTHING!"

Cons: "THEY NO LONGER MAKE IT!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a 2004 Envoy used in 2006 with approx 20k miles. It needed tires and the brake rotors gave a pulsation from the rust that accumulated due to it sitting at dealer lot for a while. They put new tires/brakes on it, and I replaced tires at 85k and they were by no means bald. And the brakes I recently replaced (120K) with about 15-20 pad left and rotors still ran out straight creating no pulsation in the pedal whatsoever. Other than that, at approx 80k I replaced spark plugs (no wires-coil on plug), fuel filter, serpentine belt, and FPR. I use the factory Oil chg monitor and Mobil 1 5-30. That is it. Not a single breakdown, original battery still has loads of power, every single feature in the car works as it did they day it was made. I am a mechanic, and I do maintain my vehicles meticulously, but I have never had one go this long without a water pump/fuel pump/alternator/wheel bearing/u-joint, etc. failing. Best car GM ever made too bad it was short lived!!!!!"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Great multi use all purpose vehicle

By on Monday, September 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Versatility, comfort and equipment options."

Cons: "Not enough cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"High quality and reliable vehicle. Retractable roof converts SUV into open bed pick up mode, mid deck window keeps inside comfortable, when carrying cargo in back. Great for towing and outdoors activity. Inline 6 cyl provides plenty of power and torque. Tail gate swings out or folds down. Rear seats fold up to allow very large loads capacity (large furniture for example) My 6 cyl engine gets a respectable 19-21 mpg. Lots of options, xm, cruise , heated seats, steering wheel controls, tow package, etc."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

HAS SERVED US VERY WELL

By on Sunday, February 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 248,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"WE HAVE PUT 200000 MILES ON THIS RIDE. GREAT CAR, REASONABLE FUEL MILIAGE FOR A FULL SIZE SUV. ONLY DOWN SIDE IS THE SLACK IN THE AWD MODE. 2WD AND FULL TIME 4WD ARE GREAT. A GREAT CHOICE IF YOU NEED A DEPENDABLE SUV WITH GOOD LUGGAGE CAPACITY AND GOOD TOWING CAPABILITIES."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, very reliable, highly recommend!

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable, good ride, great size, comfortable"

Cons: "low gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owned vehicle almost 8 years, and it has been a great investment. No problems whatsoever. Replaced the battery twice, windshield wipers, and performed regular maintenance. Just rolled 100,000 and going strong! Great vehicle that has been reliable, and I would highly recommend it!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Excellant vehicle, high quality, very reliable.

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort, acceleration, true 4WD,"

Cons: "rear door a little small for each of getting in"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"218,000 miles, only problems have been oxygen sensor replacement and tie rod replacement other than normal maintenance. Still drives and handles like a year old vehicle, and is very peppy."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 182 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Envoy XL near Honolulu. See local deals