Go

2012 GMC Canyon Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 296 Ratings for the 2004 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Perfect Truck on a Budget

By on Monday, October 08, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We love our GMC Canyon! It is very stylish and runs great. We have the crew cab so were able to still fit people in like a car but have the bonous of a truck bed. We have had very few problems with our truck and it is a 2004. Very well built, very stylish, great room inside, easy to drive, pretty good gas mileage for a truck, and the bed is actually fairly large for the smaller truck and is able to transport stuff really good."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A Superb Mid-sized Truck

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my 2006 GMC Canyon, all Black, Beautiful, 4x4, with the Z71 off-road pkg., and the Crew Cab, for a year and a half now, and absolutely Love this Truck! It does just about everything, everywhere, and on all types of terrain, and in all types of weather! It laughs at changing road conditions, and snow! Climbs the hills, and takes to the backwoods like a gazzelle! Plenty of Power gets kicked out of that awesome 5-cylinder engine, and I've had rider's on board who swore that it must a been a small V-8 untilI pooped the hood and showed it to them. All facets of this truck are well built and it gets great gas milage! Well into the mid-twenties for sure... Just get the interior a little more elegant GMC, and you certainly would have a World Class pickup here! --- Don't even waste youre time at Toyota and Nissan...save Money, and enjoy years of pleasure driving this one!....Way to go America!...GMC knows trucks Best!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good value

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This little truck is a good value, reliable, but a little slow on pickup due to weight vs. size of vehicle - standard transmission "logy" in pickup due to gearing ratio. Would have went with the power locks, etc. had I realized that there is no entry key in the passenger side door."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

fun overall

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great reliable fun to drive pick up"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck. has served my family and I well.

By on Wednesday, November 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My parents bought this truck new in 04 and has been nothing but an amazing truck since then. It has gotten us to an from the racetrack every weekend and pulled a uhaul all the way from Colorado to California with no issues. All in all, great truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this mid size monster.

By on Sunday, October 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "denpendably,easy to drive,good on gas"

Cons: "door arm rests"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"From day 1 may 2005 canyon has been a very dependable.Just normal care.Gas oil turn the key and go.The only thingI do not like are the door arm rests .They should have padding."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

lots of compliments on its looks

By on Saturday, March 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought a used 07 with 59000.so far i like everything about it.gas millage could be better but i knew that going in."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck for its price!

By on Saturday, February 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, fun to drive, great headlights,"

Cons: "Turning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought new in 2005.Plan on more miles with this truck. Has proven itself to being reliable, comfortable and I like the body design. The major likes are the oil change monitoring system. No more fast lube places that guilt you into thinking you needed oil changes every 3000 miles. My wife likes the seat warmers. Me, not so much!Have had the battery replaced once and relaced the AC/Heater fan blower wiring harness due to defect at contact point.Other than these this Canyon has been very reliable and maintenance free.I would certainly buy another Canyon or Colorado."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"traded down from full size p/u and do not regret it!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Little Truck

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have had it for 5 yrs. in shop once. Oxygen sensor wire rubbed bare"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great little truck

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very Dependable. Does everything i need it to do. I have two of these trucks. A regular cab for my son and a extended cab for myself. Both of them are 2007's One has 30,000 miles and the other 72,000 miles."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck!

By on Saturday, December 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Off Road package makes the truck look great."

Cons: "Center console arm rest breaks easily."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck new. I have only had to replace tires and brakes in 98,000 miles. The truck has only been in the shop one time for recall work. I am considering buying another one. GMC got this truck right!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Overall ok but has it's problems

By on Sunday, November 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "5 cylinder is strong at 21 mpg interstate, 18 city"

Cons: "Brakes. Likelyhood of front hubs going bad."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Never used off road but had to replace both front hubs at around 100,000 miles. Front axle bearings had to be replaced at around 90,000 miles and need to be replaced again. Very VERY complicated to replace front brake rotors, up to 3-3.5 hours per side. Other than that, I've had no problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

New Buy

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "IL 5 has great power, tuff little truck."

Cons: "Ride on factory tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Been a great truck from new. Never had a problem starts every time, and runs strong. The ride is much better after you change out the stock tires. Paid for great tires and I have a new truck that rides and drives better than ever after 75k on it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

its a really good truck

By on Wednesday, November 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,020

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this brand new in 2007 and it has been a really good truck.got me back in forth from TX to GA quit a few times and has done great... the only falws i see is the plastic accesories on the inside break...ive had to make my own adjustments"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, nice driving vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned all makes of trucks over the years. This truck is great on mileage, it gets 28 mpg on the open road and 23 in town driving. It is comfortable, easy to drive and is roomy on the interior, power is not an issue its got the power when you need it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

First Model Year Piece of Junk

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "It's a trunk you know the pros"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage, ton of recalls, Inline 5 engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I made the mistake when I was young of buying this truck. It didn't make sense then, and I am still regretting my decision. This was the first model year the vehicle had the inline 5 cylinder engine, and I have had a ton of problems with it. There have been several recalls on the vehicle including an engine problem that illuminates the SES light and was never communicated to me from GMC. I wouldn't recommend the purchase of this vehicle. Buy a FORD at least you know it will be reliable!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

can't imagine driving anything else

By on Thursday, September 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"roomy, comfortable, plenty of power, great looks, quiet. I can't imagine driving anything else. I love my 5 Cylinder GMC Canyon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Truck

By on Monday, August 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good price, looks good"

Cons: "Bad stock sound system, interior could be a little nicer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been very good to me. It rides great and has given me little trouble. the bass mileage is not great but it isn't bad either. It is a great truck for someone looking for a midsize truck, the truck is not too big and it is not too small. The only thing I didn't really like about the truck was the stock sound system, it was terrible! (I replaced the old sound system) Overall it is a great truck and gets the job done."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

new 2010

By on Friday, March 04, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"got mine back in sept. z71 off road pkg. so far it has proved itself a nice solid truck. fun to drive. had one water leak around the drivers side kick panel that the dealer promptly fixed."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, February 09, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Over all a great truck! Lots of power for a small truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Quality Truck

By on Thursday, January 20, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my 2006 GMC Canyon in June of 2006 with 23 miles on it, and overall it has been the best vehicle I have ever owned. Other than normal scheduled maintenance, it has never been to the shop. The only issue that I can think of is one of my own fault: I bought the regular cab when I should have gotten the extended cab for the extra space. I would definately recommend this truck to other people."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good value

By on Thursday, January 13, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought new in 06. tires wore out at 19k miles. New wranglers have 18k on them and are still like new. front and rear brakes also wore out way too early. Gas milage is so so. Rides good, has good power."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Monday, September 27, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Owned almost 2 yrs. no major issues. Very good ride and comfortable for an off road vehicle, tows my boat without any strain. The 5 cyl has plenty power gets average 19 mpg combined in hilly terrain goes very well off road most places use only 2 wheel. thats pretty good for southeast Ky. mountains."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

NICE TRUCK

By on Tuesday, August 17, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"5 CYC HAS LOTS OF POWER"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Canyon Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement