Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2012 GMC Canyon Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 278 Ratings for the 2004 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Good Truck for the money and good gas milage

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good looking, milage, comfort, value"

Cons: "Bad brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only problem with it over thye past 50000 miles is that the brakes are weak, wear out sooner than average and are not the cheapest to replace."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

New Buy

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "IL 5 has great power, tuff little truck."

Cons: "Ride on factory tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Been a great truck from new. Never had a problem starts every time, and runs strong. The ride is much better after you change out the stock tires. Paid for great tires and I have a new truck that rides and drives better than ever after 75k on it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The most comfortable and reliable truck I've owned

By on Thursday, November 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My second GMC truck and like the first I've loved it. It has been very dependable. In the almost six years I've owned my Canyon it only had to go into the shop once for AC/Heat issues and it turned out to be just a loose ground wire. Extremely comfortable! Traveled all over the east coast in my Canyon and even my wife commented on how comfortable the ride was. It's going to be hard to let go of my 2005 Canyon but it's time to update."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

its a really good truck

By on Wednesday, November 09, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,020

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this brand new in 2007 and it has been a really good truck.got me back in forth from TX to GA quit a few times and has done great... the only falws i see is the plastic accesories on the inside break...ive had to make my own adjustments"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great gas mileage, nice driving vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned all makes of trucks over the years. This truck is great on mileage, it gets 28 mpg on the open road and 23 in town driving. It is comfortable, easy to drive and is roomy on the interior, power is not an issue its got the power when you need it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best one yet

By on Wednesday, November 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,900

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 3rd Canyon"

A good choice, 4WD, reliable

By on Sunday, October 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,200

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this GMC truck new in 2007. I have no complaints at all. I hope to trade it in for a new one next year."

First Model Year Piece of Junk

By on Thursday, October 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "It's a trunk you know the pros"

Cons: "Poor gas mileage, ton of recalls, Inline 5 engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I made the mistake when I was young of buying this truck. It didn't make sense then, and I am still regretting my decision. This was the first model year the vehicle had the inline 5 cylinder engine, and I have had a ton of problems with it. There have been several recalls on the vehicle including an engine problem that illuminates the SES light and was never communicated to me from GMC. I wouldn't recommend the purchase of this vehicle. Buy a FORD at least you know it will be reliable!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

mediocrity at detroits best

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "20 mpg in all driving situations"

Cons: "engine hesitation, GM apparently can not fix it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"engine hesitation since new. two recalls handles very nicely for a small truck"

love it!

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "gas mileage! plenty of room in cab and bed"

Cons: "not 4 wd"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"paid too much but i love it!"

Worth looking into.

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great looks, comfortable!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I rented this truck for the week at the Skyharbor airport National Rental. It was small enough to drive with comfort, not too big to get in and out of. Had great visibility and the gas mileage was terrific. Went to Tuscon, up to Williams and ran all over the state on very little gas. Did I say I am looking for one to purchase? I would recommend this truck to anyone looking for a comfortable ride and it looks good too!"

Really nice truck!

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Smaller, so good mileage for a truck."

Cons: "Would tow better with a larger engine."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this truck since it was 1 yr old. No real problems major or otherwise. Battery appears to need replacement but it's 5 yrs old now. I've begun towing a small camper trailer this year, about 2,800lbs, and it does the job, though I did have to add a transmission cooler. Overall, at almost 20mpg, I really like my Canyon."

Nice driving truck.

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Nice driving. Decent mpg for 4x4"

Cons: "Paint chips on gravel roads."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Needed a 4 wheel drive module (Taken out by corn stalks?) and had 1 repair under warranty. Can handle a good sized load even with the 4 cyl. 21 mpg carrying a heavy load on not all highway driving. Nice interior. Back seats very small. Get the good tire flaps to protect your paint. Throttle and brake pedal a little close together if you wear BIG boots. Has lots of nice features including message center for oil life and tire air pressure. Seats pretty comfortable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Sunday, September 04, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent vehicle, good gas milage, comfortable ride"

Cons: "Automatic door locks are an annoyance, and they can not be disabled."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Pro - Excellent vehicle, good gas milage, comfortable ride Con - Automatic door locks are an annoyance, and they can not be disabled."

2 people out of 7 found this review helpful

a relibable truck

By on Friday, September 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fair price"

Cons: "AC bower motor Wiring needs to be delt with. many complants"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It did what it was designed for."

I love my truck

By on Friday, September 02, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, easy to modify yourself with basic tools and pvc pipe for CAI"

Cons: "TPMS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought it new and have not had many issues other than a fuel pump at 100K, ignition switch at 115K. Only put pads and shoes on once at 95K. Not much in the way of aftermarket for this truck, gotta be creative. I recently put a header on it and got rid of the stock manifold...much more responsive definitely a worthwhile mod. Only complaint is the stupid TPMS system, would love to disable it or remove it. Has not worked since second set of tires at 30K. All the sensors have been replaced, the BCM is bad, and not worth paying $1200 to have it fixed...just use an air guage."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

can't imagine driving anything else

By on Thursday, September 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"roomy, comfortable, plenty of power, great looks, quiet. I can't imagine driving anything else. I love my 5 Cylinder GMC Canyon."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good Truck

By on Monday, August 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good price, looks good"

Cons: "Bad stock sound system, interior could be a little nicer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been very good to me. It rides great and has given me little trouble. the bass mileage is not great but it isn't bad either. It is a great truck for someone looking for a midsize truck, the truck is not too big and it is not too small. The only thing I didn't really like about the truck was the stock sound system, it was terrible! (I replaced the old sound system) Overall it is a great truck and gets the job done."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Really Good Vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Exceeded my expectations"

Love this truck!

By on Tuesday, June 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Just awesome truck."

Cons: "Back cup holder keeps falling off. Changing flat tire difficult."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was skeptical at first until I drove it. I've had it 5 years and still going strong."

By on Sunday, April 17, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, April 10, 2011

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great

By on Saturday, April 09, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great for work or pleasure"

By on Wednesday, March 30, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"best truck for its size and great on gas"

Ran her hard for 1 straight week.

By on Monday, March 28, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my first review so bare with me. I ecieved this canyon as a rental replacment for my poor poor wreck car. I have now had this truck for 1 week and i already managed to rack up 600 in city miles(Delivering Various Commodities). I have almost nothing to complain about either. As being a delivery guy i always hate something about every car i have ever driven. It also seems most cars show their flaws to me in record times lol. This truck has held up very well though. It's comfort, style, and performance almost make me forget its a truck at times, but when i take a corner with any speed i feel that notorious body roll thats custom to a truck. Even with that it still handles well. I would have to say my favorite thing about the truck is the little button on the dash above the radio, that disables the TCS!! Push it and hammer down! I had lots of fun with this truck. PROS Fun truck for a small family Better than usual mpg CONS Truckish body roll I can't keep it =("

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Canyon Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details