Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2012 GMC Canyon Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 278 Ratings for the 2004 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 10 11 12 | Next

Very disappoihnted

By on Thursday, August 30, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

"2005 4 cyl, 5 spd. bought used w/8,000 miles, put 30,000 mostly highway in one year. Problem with front end alignment and tire wearing on inside. Dealer tried 2 times to fix and somewhat better. AC blower resister failed. Dealer can't fix problem with AC evaparator freezeing up, been back 2 times. Now has 37000 miles and been in shop 2 weeks with intake valve seat problem, but GM covering with extended warranty, putting new head on. They would not give me a rental car while being repaired as they said out of original factory warranty. Cheap built truck w/ no outside door lock on passenger side, cheap seats and material in general. Truck does look good but too many problems to consider another one. I do get 25-27 mpg driving highway at speed limit and 22-24 combined."

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

5 cylinder motor

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"GM sent me an extended warranty for motor problems. Get rid of this pile of dirt as soon as you can. Nice looking truck. Too bad. Put the 4.3 in it. Tried and true motor. GM has lost their minds with the in-line 5."

Good All Around

By on Monday, August 27, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"'05, Z-71, 2-WD, EXT CAB. Good truck all around. The two most troubling things with this truck is its awful turning radius and that there is no key lock on the passenger side door, get power locks for certain! Performance is satisfactory and I especially like the stiff suspension of the off-road package. I've had to have the AC control replaced and a brake light socket replaced. I average between 17-20 MPG with combined city-hwy driving, 19-21 hwy alone."

Better than Colorado

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"For a midsize p/u it's awesome."

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

best truck ever

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"great styling great mileage best of all fun to drive very stylish."

By on Thursday, August 09, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Good Value

By on Wednesday, August 08, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Mine is Crew Cab, 4WD, AUTO, 5 Cyl with a cap on the back. Styling and ride speak for themselves, good. At hi speed, not towing, and cruise 'on' trani will shift in and out of gear when pulling smallest of hills. If air is on it's really shifting in and out with little guts. I've to force feed gas to keep trani from shifting in/out. Have had a couple of electric problems corrected by dealer. Seat material wears easily (i.e. cheap material). 20MPG on road, 17 in town."

A Superb Mid-sized Truck

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my 2006 GMC Canyon, all Black, Beautiful, 4x4, with the Z71 off-road pkg., and the Crew Cab, for a year and a half now, and absolutely Love this Truck! It does just about everything, everywhere, and on all types of terrain, and in all types of weather! It laughs at changing road conditions, and snow! Climbs the hills, and takes to the backwoods like a gazzelle! Plenty of Power gets kicked out of that awesome 5-cylinder engine, and I've had rider's on board who swore that it must a been a small V-8 untilI pooped the hood and showed it to them. All facets of this truck are well built and it gets great gas milage! Well into the mid-twenties for sure... Just get the interior a little more elegant GMC, and you certainly would have a World Class pickup here! --- Don't even waste youre time at Toyota and Nissan...save Money, and enjoy years of pleasure driving this one!....Way to go America!...GMC knows trucks Best!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This truck is okay.

By on Tuesday, August 07, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I personally have had many problems with the truck. I have had it for 3 years and have already had to replace the starter once, almost twice. I don't experience very much get-up and go from the truck and am afraid to pull anything too heavy. It gets pretty good gas mileage when it is just me in the car. With more people or carrying more items the mpg gets much worse. It is really great for getting in and out of tight spots. It turns much like a car and can manuever much better than a truck. It does occasionally lose rpm's and almost die or the rpm's will go really high and the truck will start shaking, but that happens very rarely. The dealership has not been able to find the problem but has helped in every other possible way. The truck has not been a bad purchase but I will not ever own another."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Monday, August 06, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I LOVE THIS TRUCK. I AM CONSTANTLY GETTING 20MPG WITH CITY AND HIGHWAY DRIVING. IT IS COMFORTABLE,RELIABLE,AND FUN TO DRIVE. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TRUCK TO ANYONE...YOUNG OR OLD. I AM 20 YEARS OLD AND THIS TRUCK IS PERFECT FOR ME."

By on Friday, August 03, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

truly great american truck

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"the quality of the plastic has to be improved, otherwise this is the best truck I have ever owned. get up and go go go to spare, and still has that mean looking front end. some of the controls are a little hard to reach at a comfortable pace"

Good value

By on Thursday, August 02, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This little truck is a good value, reliable, but a little slow on pickup due to weight vs. size of vehicle - standard transmission "logy" in pickup due to gearing ratio. Would have went with the power locks, etc. had I realized that there is no entry key in the passenger side door."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Power to spare

By on Wednesday, August 01, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this flame yellow 220 HP Canyon off the lot at first sight. I expected to buy a Sonoma but was pleased that GM had gone the next step. The box holds 40% more than my Ranger, has nearly twice the power, plus can haul more than 400 pounds more. It also beats 20 mpg in the summer and rides like a well-tuned sports car. So far I've changed the oil twice and fixed one flat, nothing else."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good buy

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Good buy, I traded ny sierra in, in 2005. so thats why quality got a low score. Great gas mileage, I am gettting 25, if I stay out of the gas."

Not bad for a small truck

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've only had mine for about 7 months, bought it used and I am very pleased with it. Even though it is classed as a compact or small truck, the crew cab Z71 suspension options makes it look bigger than it is. The stylings of the finder flares and overall mean look to it makes it jump out as a small truck. I personally like the GMC version of this truck over it's Chevy and Izuzu counterparts. I'd highly recommend for someone not wanting the bulkiness of a full size truck, but the versatility of a full size. Have fun."

best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"this car has been very dependable and comfortable. excellent fuel mileage and good for towing. also nice on the long haul."

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great truck. Performs great at the deerlease and comfortable as a passenger vehicle. Quiet cab, cheap on maintance, decent gas milege. In on dash 4wd buttons make switching from 2 to 4wd a breeze. We have every intention of keeping this one for a while...very good buy."

By on Wednesday, July 18, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my canyon in november of 2006 i drive 35000 milesa year it not bad on fuel handles very well and i love the look with minor upgrades like exuast and intake air filter its very fast and sounds great"

By on Sunday, July 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 10 11 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Canyon Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals