Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2011 GMC Canyon Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 282 Ratings for the 2004 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

I LOVE this truck!!!

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Nice ride"

Cons: "no mirror on sun visor on drivers side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Thought about trading this year but don't know what I could get that would compare. Love the ride. The power lumbar support."

14 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Great truck in every way, except gas mileage.

By on Friday, August 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Everything..."

Cons: "... gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Gas mileage is it's only fault. About 15 mpg around town, but about 21 highway"

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

You can't beat this ride !

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Don't drive unless your bold."

Cons: "passes everything but the gas pump"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a V8 equipped with a Diablo package and will scare even the quickest muscle rides out there !"

Been a great dependable truck.

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love my Canyon I have had almost no problems in nine years I have owned it. Gets great gas mileage runs good for a four cylinder engine."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice truck, but not perfect

By on Saturday, June 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good for towing, good looking, reliable"

Cons: "Poor fuel economy, stiff seats, horrible OEM radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Other than a 1,500 dollar wheel hub replacement at 58,000 miles, I've had no major maintenance issues. Even with the V8, it's still slow to the get go. Enough to move on an on-ramp, but towing a trailer leaves some power to be desired. Fuel efficiency isn't great for a modern V8. I spend around 60-65 dollars to fill up. Somewhat comfortable truck. Seats are stiff but you get used to them. Center console and cupholders are well placed and there is plenty of storage. Overall it's a sharp truck and I'm glad I bought it."

26 people out of 53 found this review helpful

Good truck

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I was not sure about buying this truck but I wanted a GM product mid size with a V8 in it, this truck I have ia a great machine its fast reliable and it has all the creature comforts I am used to in a truck, being that this truck is rare because it has a 5.3 L V8 I ended up with the color black, its not that hard to keep up but it does require more attention than another color would, other than that gas mileage is about 20 mpg on the freeway and about 14 in town with A/C on I do not regret this purchase and feel I got a good price on the truck."

20 people out of 41 found this review helpful

190 thousand and going strong

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Mechanically solid, good mileage"

Cons: "Could tow a bit stronger"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this truck new and have personally driven 99% of the miles. Good power out of the 5-cylinder engine with consistent 23 MPG (blend city/hwy). Have had a few minor issues with the Delphi electronics, mainly nuisance stuff like the fan relay and window switches. Truck has held up well to rural conditions - bumpy dirt roads & such. Could have a bit more strength in the towing capacity - a friend with similar model added spring stiffeners and greatly increased towing."

10 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Has a great deal of power

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "A lot of power and zip"

Cons: "A lot of cabin noise. Not comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"V8 provides a great deal of power. The turning radius is poor. Ride is average with quite a bit of noise when on the highway. Problem with consistent spark knock."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Truck, best I ever had

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good price fun too drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This truck has been the most dependable of any car or truck I have ever had. When I needed to use as a truck it was great, As a car it was very good on trips and the gas mileage was good."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great truck, had some minor electrical issues

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great power in small package"

Cons: "needs some QA work by GM on break and elect."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"had some minor electrical problems with window switches, and 4X4 actuator, however, repaired without problems by dealer. Do not like the front rotor/abs design but problem came up at 150K and was resolved by replacing with timkin hubs. Still, rotor replacement is a pain. Best think I can pass on is to replace rotors, pads, calipers, hubs, and abs sender all at the same time and you will have no problems. Had 154K on truck before first pad change !!!! all highway driving. I have the 20005 off road Z71, 4 door, 4x4 3.5L crew cab and should a chipped the the computer to increase mpg (g force chip) early in life!! the truck will pull a house (fully loaded dump trailer) !!! run 85mph down the road in wind, and have never been stuck (mud, snow up to the windows, and sand at angles. This truck would be #1 with a little more QA work by GMC"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2004 Chevy Colorado, reliable, great on fuel

By on Friday, January 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "reliable, fuel efficient 4 cylinder, good comfort"

Cons: "plastic parts cheap/break, radio/speakers poor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Cab interior has held up well for a 10 year old truck, medium trim level cloth, manual adjust seats. good comfort for a 6 foot two inch frame. 4 cylinder engine has been dead reliable with only routine maintenance. Good gas millage around 20 city/highway with regular gas. Interior cab still fairly quite with no rattles(I do not do any off road travel). 6 foot bed handy with corner tie downs. Haul fire wood, top soil, etc. no problem. Also pull trailer with bumper hitch, 3,000 loads up a mountain no problem. Some small plastic parts broke in first year,(clips on under seat boxes in back of extended cab), radio n speakers had to be replaced. Cruise control, warning lights/beeps, still work good."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Tough and Reliable

By on Sunday, December 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Needs a bigger center console"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have driven this GMC Canyon over 180K miles and never had any problems aside from your typical routine maintenance things (new battery, new fuel filter, etc). Good fuel mileage, plenty of power, plenty of towing ability, and plenty of room inside. way more than comparable year Toyota trucks."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

fun overall

By on Saturday, December 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great reliable fun to drive pick up"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck. has served my family and I well.

By on Wednesday, November 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My parents bought this truck new in 04 and has been nothing but an amazing truck since then. It has gotten us to an from the racetrack every weekend and pulled a uhaul all the way from Colorado to California with no issues. All in all, great truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best value ever

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, extremely hard to find 2wd"

Cons: "no ipod jack, stock speakers are cheap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

my 2009 canyon 5.3 with ZQ8 suspension

"I have had more fun driving this truck than any other vehicle I have ever owned (20 so far). This truck gets a lot of looks, because it does not look as cheap in person as the other models. There are special paint colors that were available for this truck that were not for the regular canyons (mine was a Denali color). Lots of power, and you can get good gas mileage if you can keep off of the aluminum 5.3, which is hard. It takes a few small things to wake this truck up, but not very much. If you can find a 2wd, get it while you can, they are impossible to find. Good luck!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

my 2009 canyon 5.3 with ZQ8 suspension

I love this mid size monster.

By on Sunday, October 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "denpendably,easy to drive,good on gas"

Cons: "door arm rests"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"From day 1 may 2005 canyon has been a very dependable.Just normal care.Gas oil turn the key and go.The only thingI do not like are the door arm rests .They should have padding."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This incredible crew cab GMC Canyon runs super.

By on Wednesday, October 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great deal,cool to drive, tight ride."

Cons: "Can haul small loads or small boat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The style is classic GMC. Excellent. It drives like a dream; stays solid on the road; firm suspension. The dark teal with metal fleck; a great color for camo addition or keep it original: classic chrome trim. The transmission is quite smooth and Canyon maintains full power with the AC and premium stereo bumpin'. Tinted windows - tight."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, September 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very strong motor. At 250,000 miles truck still runs just as good as the day I bought it. Easy to work on I have did many repairs myself. For someone who is willing to service a vehicle correctly and make needed repairs this is the best truck in the world to buy. I am selling mine because I have to have the money but it is going to break my heart to sell it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Not bad for small truck

By on Thursday, August 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,850

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good on gas .Rides nice."

Cons: "arm rest not locked down."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have a 2012 canyon sle ext cab 2,850 miles on it so far.Iam retired so i don't drive it a whole lot.gets good gas milage around 23 mpg so far.Only problem so far is that left side is 3/8to1/2 inch lower then right side.Took it back to dealer they said it was 1/8 whithin ride hiehgt.I will be taking it back to them.Don't care for center arm rest open to fast and every flies back with top.Would remmend if they still made them."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

very good truck

By on Thursday, August 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the interior is simple,comfortable.easy truck to service,very reliable.only recall were brake lights;our's was good.one battery,nomal maitenace,no prolems.i would recomend this vehicle to anyone looking for a very depedable,inexpesive,economic,work horse;very good truck!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very good vehicle and reliable.

By on Wednesday, July 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable - no majors problems for 3 years"

Cons: "not good gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Like this truck very much except it does not get very good gas mileage."

Great Truck

By on Sunday, April 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is awesome with great power and stability. Highly recommend!!"

Better than a sedan

By on Monday, April 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good quality useful truck"

Cons: "A little basic, but that is money in your pocket"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was considering a sedan for my next car, but was excited to buy this 2009 truck from someone who rarely drove it. I knew they had no problems with it so far. To get a good sized car you really can see the price tag get high. A lot of people look at this as a “small” vehicle, but compared to the cars out there now, it seems huge. I found even a small truck can be very useful for hauling a number of things for yard and home. Even if it takes a couple of extra trips when hauling, save a ton on gas over all. I was dreading what kind of new tiny car I would be stuck with and realized a truck solved the problem. I like how basic it is, it is hard to get a car that has some basics without these huge package upgrades. There is a reason why trucks are the best selling vehicles."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

lots of compliments on its looks

By on Saturday, March 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought a used 07 with 59000.so far i like everything about it.gas millage could be better but i knew that going in."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Truck Tranny should have been tougher!

By on Wednesday, February 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent looking, quick, great in snow"

Cons: "Needed head work warranty @ 7k miles. trans @52k"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought the truck new in 2006. Crew cab. Automatic tranny. Had a spray in bed liner. Had a fisher plow LD mounted on it at the dealer and only this blizzard of 2013 with 36 inches of snow proved a bit too much for my baby! However, it did drive in 2 solid feet of snow once you kept it moving.! The tranny blew at exactly six years and 52000 miles but it did plow five winters and about 3000 driveways. I will definitely recommend this truck. My family drives it reliably. Had a head displacement issue taken care of under warranty and truck drives great now."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Canyon Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals