Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2012 GMC Canyon Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 290 Ratings for the 2004 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

Great small pickup

By on Saturday, August 01, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Love my lil truck, at 50,000 miles it cost me $1100. To replace the head gasket. and the temp gauge falls to cold when getting on it to pass. Other than that Its very comfortable and rides and drives better than most newer cars I have driven.Very smooth ride for a Truck even with the Z71 upgrade. It still runnin like new with 80,000 miles."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

very reliabilty,fun to drive and easy on the walet

By on Thursday, January 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive,"

Cons: "arm rest needs to be padded"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been the best truck I have ever owned.It has neve had to go in for any work just oil changes any at 50.000 miles I had a bg transmision fluid change.The more I think about it I my just keep it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best value ever

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, extremely hard to find 2wd"

Cons: "no ipod jack, stock speakers are cheap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

my 2009 canyon 5.3 with ZQ8 suspension

"I have had more fun driving this truck than any other vehicle I have ever owned (20 so far). This truck gets a lot of looks, because it does not look as cheap in person as the other models. There are special paint colors that were available for this truck that were not for the regular canyons (mine was a Denali color). Lots of power, and you can get good gas mileage if you can keep off of the aluminum 5.3, which is hard. It takes a few small things to wake this truck up, but not very much. If you can find a 2wd, get it while you can, they are impossible to find. Good luck!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

my 2009 canyon 5.3 with ZQ8 suspension

Good Truck for the money and good gas milage

By on Wednesday, November 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good looking, milage, comfort, value"

Cons: "Bad brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Only problem with it over thye past 50000 miles is that the brakes are weak, wear out sooner than average and are not the cheapest to replace."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The most comfortable and reliable truck I've owned

By on Thursday, November 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My second GMC truck and like the first I've loved it. It has been very dependable. In the almost six years I've owned my Canyon it only had to go into the shop once for AC/Heat issues and it turned out to be just a loose ground wire. Extremely comfortable! Traveled all over the east coast in my Canyon and even my wife commented on how comfortable the ride was. It's going to be hard to let go of my 2005 Canyon but it's time to update."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great truck, had some minor electrical issues

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great power in small package"

Cons: "needs some QA work by GM on break and elect."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"had some minor electrical problems with window switches, and 4X4 actuator, however, repaired without problems by dealer. Do not like the front rotor/abs design but problem came up at 150K and was resolved by replacing with timkin hubs. Still, rotor replacement is a pain. Best think I can pass on is to replace rotors, pads, calipers, hubs, and abs sender all at the same time and you will have no problems. Had 154K on truck before first pad change !!!! all highway driving. I have the 20005 off road Z71, 4 door, 4x4 3.5L crew cab and should a chipped the the computer to increase mpg (g force chip) early in life!! the truck will pull a house (fully loaded dump trailer) !!! run 85mph down the road in wind, and have never been stuck (mud, snow up to the windows, and sand at angles. This truck would be #1 with a little more QA work by GMC"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great mid size truck very dependable

By on Sunday, February 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great economy,fun to drive,good looking ,"

Cons: "zilch"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck used,50,000 on the clock.its been very reliable, economical,fun to drive with the 5 speed,very comfortable.rides like a car. And I hauled many a bed full of stuff with no complaints from the engine. Pretty quick too with a intake and magnaflow exhaust. This is probably the best truck I've owned. And definitely the best looking."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great truck in its class, enjoyable to drive.

By on Wednesday, September 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great price, fuel economy, smooth and quiet"

Cons: "turning ratio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Canyon is very quiet for a mid-size pickup. The in-line five is smooth and quiet and supplies adequate power. The MPG is excellent with the economy gear ratio I chose. It has room for six, which often comes in handy."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Super dependable...

By on Sunday, April 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Dependable, nice ride for a little truck..."

Cons: "Interior is plain but it is a work truck :-)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have almost 200k on this truck and I have had no major repairs except the screens and U joints. I would buy another."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good truck

By on Thursday, October 22, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"At 115, 000 runs great, have had to repair wear items of course, but overall a very good truck!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching GMC Canyon Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals