Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2012 Ford Taurus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 208 Ratings for the 2010 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 42 | Next

great full size car

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "cratures features excellent, very comfortable"

Cons: "winter tires limited for 19" wheels"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for year now. Purchase used with 20K miles. It drives great and fuel mileage is as good as rated. Good leather and features are handy (temp control, heated seats & cooled seats). Very large truck. Compared to other full size cars when purchasing and it stood above them for creature features and quality of features. Very satisfied with car. Drives like a dream and handles well with 19" tires, in the summer. Needs winter tires to replace 19" summer tires in northern MN winters."

One of the best cars I've ever owned.

By on Thursday, October 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, feels like your in a cockpit!"

Cons: "No passenger seat controls on my model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable car & easy to handle. Great car for family or elders. Great height for them to get in & out of vehicle. I've had more compliments on the style of this car than any I've ever owned, even after almost 5 years of owning it. I haven't had any trouble with the car & would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great car! My only complaint on the car is my model doesn't have passenger controls for the seat."

8 people out of 15 found this review helpful

love the Taurus

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,682

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive, comfortable, and attractive."

Cons: "Back seat seatbelts are difficult to do up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Taurus is the best! Tried other models & always come back to the Taurus. I still get compliments on it after 4 years. It handles great, has all the bells & whistles I need, and gives me a good ride. What more can you ask for?"

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Sporty car....... if you drive like an old man

By on Saturday, October 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good drive,nice key fob, smooth capactive control."

Cons: "Noisy, loose suspension, far from luxury."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The 6th generation Taurus is a great car for those looking for a cushy ride, simplicity of operation, and occasional nuisance from the Sync operating system. In general, the car has great steering feel for the size of car, although the large size of car still is present. Acceleration is more than adequate, although it has the svelte of a 4-cylinder. Cabin design is nice (yet niche in aesthetic) yet tight for a car with such huge exterior dimensions. Practically no other sedan is larger than the Taurus on the outside, yet the interior is on-par with the size of a mid-size sedan (i.e. the 2014 Fusion). The car is too long, too wide, too tall, and needs to go on a 200 pound diet. Capacitive controls in the cabin are sophisticated, yet a matter of taste. Lack of overall amenities is disappointing for this class of car......garage door opener, full power seats with memory, auto-down passenger window, and auto-dimming driver's side mirror should be standard on all models of this car. Keyless entry FOB is one of the best in the industry.....sleek, yet it's chrome can be damaged by key ring. Whistles, excessive wind noise, and rattles are recurrent problems. Have had into the dealership (great bunch of gentlemen), but their best efforts could not resolve the noise issues much. Interior materials are acceptable, but lack the near-luxury value of competitors. Rear seat too room is disrupted by a protrusion in the floor under the front seats and a flap at the bottom of the front seats which prevent sliding one's feet under the front seats. Windows are too narrow. Integrated wide-angle mirrors in the side mirrors are a bonus.....yet work to make up for the car's large blind spots. Bumper LED lights do not provide meaningful light and hence are a lost opportunity to function as fog lights. While every other Ford has mirror turn signal indicators, the Taurus does not. Overall the car is a nice car, if bought at a low price, but Ford chose the wrong path on too many decisions to make this car a contender shortly after its initial launch. Oh, heralding back to the comment about a car for an old man, the suspension system on the car is great for a smooth ride, although likes to bounce a lot and gives into body roll too much. I put lowering springs on mine to tighten the ride...and lower the car for better aerodynamics."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Large car with bad drivers seat

By on Saturday, October 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,700

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Huge truck, realiable, drives well."

Cons: "Seat comfort is terrible. Terrible console."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car is very good and stylish overall. Very large trunk, smooth engine and transmission. However, if you have any back issues, you will find the drivers and front passenger seats making you want to sell the car ASAP. The seats will not adjust to a 90 degree angle. This is not unique to this car however as most manufacturers have adopted the "low rider" type seat configurations. I just can't understand why a car company with all of todays technology, puts nearly nothing into seat comfort. The other issue with this car is the center console. It is so large that claustrophobic doesn't begin to state it properly!. Your right leg will not lay comfortably for most people while driving. The bottom line is if you want a large car that performs well that has a very bad drivers and passenger front seat, this is the car for you. There is one plus. This is the first car I've ever owned that had a more comfortable back seat than front seat. Ah, if I were only 17 again!"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 42 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Taurus near Honolulu. See local deals