Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2009 Ford Taurus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 127 Ratings for the 2008 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

A great car for the money.

By on Sunday, March 08, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Outstanding interior, looks good, fun to drive."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned our Taurus Limited for 7 years. During that time we have driven it for more than 120000 miles, without any major repairs. It has an exceptional ride, good gas mileage (24 city, 28 highway) and is a pleasure to drive. We have taken it on many extended trips and find that we are able to emerge from the car after driving 10-12 hours and feel great, ready to continue our day."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent 4 door Sedan

By on Tuesday, February 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "MPG great, fun to drive, comfortable, great handli"

Cons: "None that we could find, overall a ten!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Exceptinal ride, truly a super car for handling in bad weather. Gas mileage remains at a on even 30MPG. No major repairs. Leather seats, easy to maintain, huge trunk space with drop down capabilities, easy access to trunk. Comfortably seats 5 with excellent leg room for the tallest folks. Very responsive in handling,,with the feeling of a sports car. Very nice design body wise. You get the bang for your buck with this one, and retains it's value."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

good vehicle

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good driving and riding car"

Cons: "good leg roow in rear seat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"will probably buy another one"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

as fine a car as I have ever driven

By on Sunday, December 14, 2014

I want this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many cars over the past 60 years, from Caddies to Chevies,Fords , Dodges and Plymouths, this is as fine a driver and comfortable, trouble free auto as I have ever owned"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

A great car for traveling or for family.

By on Tuesday, September 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, room for luggage and other items"

Cons: "Has a blind spot that could be tricky."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this car for approximately seven years. During that time I have driven from upstate New York to California and back, plus to Colorado and back at least four times. Several times to Florida and back also. Never an issue. This car would hold four passengers and a load of luggage with no problem. My husband took three friends golfing. All four sets of clubs fit into the trunk. The mileage is good, the ride is very good and the seats are comfortable.It is easy to enter and exit, no ducking needed. The controls on the dash are user friendly, easy to identify, unlike some cars where you have to read the manual to turn on the heat. Actually, my sister has the exact same car, bought without my knowledge. She feels exactly the same about the ease and comfort of the car.The only things I have replaced are tires and brakes which would have to be done to any care with 128000 miles on it."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

best family car ever

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: wanted all wheel drive version

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "pleasure to drive"

Cons: "Traction on ice could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Was extremely comfortable and reliable, handled very well and got good fuel economy (28.5 highway) for a car of its size."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Spacious, Roomy, almost perfect

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy, quiet, comfort, good driving position."

Cons: "A few glitches, premature rust."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Fantastic driving, with lots of room and great visibility. Mechanically the engine and drivetrain are a dream, and with 144k miles, only regular maintenance needed. Super quiet interior, and for long haul travel is a very comfortable vehicle. Some issues encountered: - Drivers heated seat failed at around 50,000 miles. - A/C 'air door' behind the dashboard has some cheap plastic worm gears that failed. Makes an annoying ticking sound when calling for change in heat/cool. - Drivers side rear wheel well has premature rust-through. Local dealership says 'tough luck, out of warranty'. In checking with a local body shop, he said he's seen several with same issue. All that said, I love this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever!

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,248

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Will sell for $14,000 cash. White car!"

Cons: "No cons! I love the car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is in mint condition. I am the only owner and I have a clear title to sign over at the sale."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Nice car

By on Saturday, July 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth ride"

Cons: "Awkward climate control and CD player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Rides like a dream on the highway. Very comfortable and spacious. Climate controls are awkward. 6 disk CD player is hard to use. I bought it for it's very comfortable seats and smooth ride which I love."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One of best cars I ever owned.

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "od"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable and quiet (even with 80K miles) Feels very safe when you are driving or riding in it. Gas mileage good for its size."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Great value for a reliable, spacious vehicle.

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price / Quality / Quiet Ride / Cabin Space"

Cons: "Exterior is meh"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car from a former Farmer's Insurance employee (they used these as company cars) at around 55,000 miles. I'm at 90,000 miles now and haven't had any problems. The original battery is still in this thing. I had to change out the rear breaks, as they were grinding -- but other than that I haven't touched a thing. Very smooth ride, extremely spacious, and very safe. Considering what I paid for this, I recommend this car to anyone who wants a high quality vehicle w/o the high price."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great car I hated to see it go !

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"So many things I liked about this car - it is really a great value. There is no downside."

Good, reliable,comfortable, still get comments on

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It's been reliable easy driver for over five years. The only problems have been batteries, on third Ford battery since new, but were covered by battery warranty. Sync leaves a lot to be desired though, I still haven't learned hot to make a call without repeating names several times, maybe the latest versions are better. Good options for the price."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This was a fantastic car

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,850

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "roomy, pick up, drove great, reliable"

Cons: "SENSOR INSIDE THE TRANSMISSION"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I only had one issue, a sensor in the transmission gave me issues at about 90000 miles which was something you might expect at that high mileage but it was within the transmission...something so simple as a sensor took the mechanic all day and 2,500 dollars to fix...the transmission shop said it was the dumbest thing Ford ever did. It was time consuming to fix..thats why it was so much money...but I loved this car!!!! Other than that nothing but oil changes breaks and tires!!!! SO RELIABLE"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this car! I'm buying another Taurus!

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of room, dependable, good mpg"

Cons: "Don't want to sell, but should"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Current company program lucrative enough to upgrade to newer version. Likely buying new taurus. I'll drive the Edge and the Escape just to check them out. I've had so many Taurus', hard to imagine driving something else. This car has complete and total service record from local professional shop. Any buyer would clearly see this car has been serviced on time, every time. 75% plus of 173k miles are highway miles."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great bargain for my money!

By on Tuesday, October 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love this car, it's ride, acceleration and comfortable leather interior. I have driven this car long distance and it was just an awesome experience. The stereo system, SIRIUS Radio and 6 CD changer and MP3 dock is sounds great as well. I hope my next vehicle is just as dependable and comfortable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My husband & I Love this vehicle, best owned!

By on Saturday, September 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, storage room"

Cons: "navigation system upgrade cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased this vehicle in North Carolina to drive in the blue ridge mountains, where the all wheel drive worked wonderfully. We lived up a long steep gravel driveway and never had a problem climbing it. We then relocated to California. The drive across country was so comfortable and enjoyable in this vehicle. The sound system is excellent, as is the air and heating system. The only problem we have had with it is the transmission, which was very costly to repair. Also the navigation system needs to be upgraded, but it is too costly for us at this time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car

By on Monday, September 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great power, great traction"

Cons: "gas milage not the greatest, average 18 mpg,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this has been the best car I have ever owned, 181000 completely trouble free miles, only repairs done are 2 sets of brakes and driver heated seat gone twice. AWD is amazing, pushes through snow up to bumper no problems"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good car for elderly people

By on Wednesday, August 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Pros: Easy to enter and exit, comfortable seats, good views from all windows, has been very reliable, comfortable on long drives, good gas mileage on inter state freeways. Cons: Tan seats stain easily, glare on dashboard, window noise at 75 to 80 mph."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very comfortable

By on Monday, August 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "super nice touring car"

Cons: "Boxy styling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Most comfortable riding car I've had. At highway speeds it just glides down the interstate. Boxy exterior, but that gives me the headroom I need, being a tall guy. My first AWD car so I can't really say if the transmission's hesitations are normal or not. Easy to get in and out of."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very good

By on Saturday, August 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good handle , comfortable to drive,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"20 to 21 mpg, comfortable, safe, good quality, handles very good,"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of my best over all

By on Thursday, July 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortible"

Cons: "Road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car is very roomie & comfortable, handles well, power is good & all the accessories that I need. On the down side road noise is a real problem, the 18" tires wear to quickly, gas mileage could be improved as it drops quickly once you hit 70 mph."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great family car

By on Wednesday, July 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, great value, nice ride,"

Cons: "Body style a bit boxy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Although only comfortable for five, this car is appointed like some of the luxury vehicles. We purchased it used with 22000 miles for $19000. We have replaced one headlight and have had no other repairs. We do service every 3000-4000 miles. We live in a rural area in the Midwest with moderate to heavy snow and love the front wheel drive. It is a good, dependable vehicle and will get passed to my son at college graduation. After looking at crossovers and SUV's I am leaning toward another Taurus for the replacement vehicle. Avg mpg 23-25. All Highway 25-27. All power, leather seats, moon roof, AM FM and multi CD, two 12V plug ins, cup holders, rear heat vent heated front and rear windshield, 18" wheels for tall husband, fold down rear seats for hauling long items"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best car i ever driven!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Tuesday, June 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have had a number of spinal surgeries and i have a hard time even riding in a car and i could drive this car all day. fantastic car!!!!!!!!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not a bad car but no thrills here

By on Thursday, January 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "power, size, trunk"

Cons: "transmision"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"The car has plenty of power decent handling and a good sterio. the bad is that at 4k miles the transmision made a god awfull sound and has studderd ever since. im now at 90k miles and it is showing its age. the acceleration is sluggish unless i floor it then it surges down the road."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Taurus near Honolulu. See local deals