Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2008 Ford Taurus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 118 Ratings for the 2008 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next

One of best cars I ever owned.

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "od"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable and quiet (even with 80K miles) Feels very safe when you are driving or riding in it. Gas mileage good for its size."

Great value for a reliable, spacious vehicle.

By on Sunday, May 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price / Quality / Quiet Ride / Cabin Space"

Cons: "Exterior is meh"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car from a former Farmer's Insurance employee (they used these as company cars) at around 55,000 miles. I'm at 90,000 miles now and haven't had any problems. The original battery is still in this thing. I had to change out the rear breaks, as they were grinding -- but other than that I haven't touched a thing. Very smooth ride, extremely spacious, and very safe. Considering what I paid for this, I recommend this car to anyone who wants a high quality vehicle w/o the high price."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car I hated to see it go !

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"So many things I liked about this car - it is really a great value. There is no downside."

Good, reliable,comfortable, still get comments on

By on Saturday, March 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It's been reliable easy driver for over five years. The only problems have been batteries, on third Ford battery since new, but were covered by battery warranty. Sync leaves a lot to be desired though, I still haven't learned hot to make a call without repeating names several times, maybe the latest versions are better. Good options for the price."

This was a fantastic car

By on Thursday, February 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,850

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "roomy, pick up, drove great, reliable"

Cons: "SENSOR INSIDE THE TRANSMISSION"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I only had one issue, a sensor in the transmission gave me issues at about 90000 miles which was something you might expect at that high mileage but it was within the transmission...something so simple as a sensor took the mechanic all day and 2,500 dollars to fix...the transmission shop said it was the dumbest thing Ford ever did. It was time consuming to fix..thats why it was so much money...but I loved this car!!!! Other than that nothing but oil changes breaks and tires!!!! SO RELIABLE"

Love this car! I'm buying another Taurus!

By on Sunday, November 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 173,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of room, dependable, good mpg"

Cons: "Don't want to sell, but should"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Current company program lucrative enough to upgrade to newer version. Likely buying new taurus. I'll drive the Edge and the Escape just to check them out. I've had so many Taurus', hard to imagine driving something else. This car has complete and total service record from local professional shop. Any buyer would clearly see this car has been serviced on time, every time. 75% plus of 173k miles are highway miles."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great bargain for my money!

By on Tuesday, October 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love this car, it's ride, acceleration and comfortable leather interior. I have driven this car long distance and it was just an awesome experience. The stereo system, SIRIUS Radio and 6 CD changer and MP3 dock is sounds great as well. I hope my next vehicle is just as dependable and comfortable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My husband & I Love this vehicle, best owned!

By on Saturday, September 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, storage room"

Cons: "navigation system upgrade cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased this vehicle in North Carolina to drive in the blue ridge mountains, where the all wheel drive worked wonderfully. We lived up a long steep gravel driveway and never had a problem climbing it. We then relocated to California. The drive across country was so comfortable and enjoyable in this vehicle. The sound system is excellent, as is the air and heating system. The only problem we have had with it is the transmission, which was very costly to repair. Also the navigation system needs to be upgraded, but it is too costly for us at this time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car

By on Monday, September 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great power, great traction"

Cons: "gas milage not the greatest, average 18 mpg,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this has been the best car I have ever owned, 181000 completely trouble free miles, only repairs done are 2 sets of brakes and driver heated seat gone twice. AWD is amazing, pushes through snow up to bumper no problems"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good car for elderly people

By on Wednesday, August 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Pros: Easy to enter and exit, comfortable seats, good views from all windows, has been very reliable, comfortable on long drives, good gas mileage on inter state freeways. Cons: Tan seats stain easily, glare on dashboard, window noise at 75 to 80 mph."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very comfortable

By on Monday, August 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "super nice touring car"

Cons: "Boxy styling"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Most comfortable riding car I've had. At highway speeds it just glides down the interstate. Boxy exterior, but that gives me the headroom I need, being a tall guy. My first AWD car so I can't really say if the transmission's hesitations are normal or not. Easy to get in and out of."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very good

By on Saturday, August 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good handle , comfortable to drive,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"20 to 21 mpg, comfortable, safe, good quality, handles very good,"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of my best over all

By on Thursday, July 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortible"

Cons: "Road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car is very roomie & comfortable, handles well, power is good & all the accessories that I need. On the down side road noise is a real problem, the 18" tires wear to quickly, gas mileage could be improved as it drops quickly once you hit 70 mph."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great family car

By on Wednesday, July 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, great value, nice ride,"

Cons: "Body style a bit boxy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Although only comfortable for five, this car is appointed like some of the luxury vehicles. We purchased it used with 22000 miles for $19000. We have replaced one headlight and have had no other repairs. We do service every 3000-4000 miles. We live in a rural area in the Midwest with moderate to heavy snow and love the front wheel drive. It is a good, dependable vehicle and will get passed to my son at college graduation. After looking at crossovers and SUV's I am leaning toward another Taurus for the replacement vehicle. Avg mpg 23-25. All Highway 25-27. All power, leather seats, moon roof, AM FM and multi CD, two 12V plug ins, cup holders, rear heat vent heated front and rear windshield, 18" wheels for tall husband, fold down rear seats for hauling long items"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

best car i ever driven!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Tuesday, June 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have had a number of spinal surgeries and i have a hard time even riding in a car and i could drive this car all day. fantastic car!!!!!!!!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not a bad car but no thrills here

By on Thursday, January 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "power, size, trunk"

Cons: "transmision"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"The car has plenty of power decent handling and a good sterio. the bad is that at 4k miles the transmision made a god awfull sound and has studderd ever since. im now at 90k miles and it is showing its age. the acceleration is sluggish unless i floor it then it surges down the road."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

the best car out thar

By on Monday, November 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love my 08 taurus"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

EXCELLENT CAR!

By on Sunday, July 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth drive, beautiful style"

Cons: "no sync avaiablity for my phone"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

bamm!

"I love my car! its beautiful,i feel classy in my car. it drives so smoooooth! ive never loved a car as much as mine!"

17 people out of 18 found this review helpful

bamm!

Great car with one exception

By on Tuesday, July 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "roomy interior, comfy ride, decent mileage"

Cons: "brakes drag"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Other than brakes drag a bit, which was also common with its predessor the Five Hundred, a great car. Rides as good or better as big car but handles comfortably like a mid size. Good gas mileage, comfortable interior, great visibility, nice sound on radio. Can't say enough good! I bought the car 2 months ago. I had planned on getting a new one, but did not like the feeling of setting in a tank even though the new style drove great. So, I dropped back and got this good used one. A good decision (for me at least). Only problem is noisy brakes as I said. There is a fix, but local dealers won't do it. You have to go to a private garage. It is great vehicles like this that has kept Ford on the move while other companies needed government bail outs. Great car and recommend to everyone."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever Fantastic Ride

By on Wednesday, June 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "gas mileage, but I knew that"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Everything about this car is great. Lots of power AWD in the snow and ice is fantastic. Great interior space, folding rear and pass seats make it like a truck for hauling all kinds of stuff."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

best

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the best car overall I've ever owned. It drives, rides well. Dependable, comfortable,"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great dependable car; great looks; proud of it

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great mpg interstate and stylish looks"

Cons: "only 21 mpg in city"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I can rely on this beauty going fast when I need it and cruising at 28mpg for good gas mileage. I don't like the city 21 mpg but I can live with it because it is sturdy, dependable in traffic and good interior features for convenience like heated seats in winter, navigation system, great audio for sound, good leather, quiet engine, and alot of room in trunk and back seat."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Fantastic car.

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fast, quiet, comfortable, loads of room."

Cons: "resale value."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Easily best bang for the buck sedan on the road. Its a quick quiet and smooth ride. Ive put over 35000 miles on the car with no issues and crossed the country twice with it. Stay away from the factory tires as they cannot handle the torque this engine has. Will eat the factory tires up in less than 12 months and I am not heavy footed."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Satisfied

By on Saturday, January 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Last of the truly comfortable full size cars."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice car, but Freeze Plug issue at 93000

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfy, roomy, powerful, great gas mileage"

Cons: "Early engine trouble, noisy interior and shifting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The car has a freeze plug issue. Upon determining that this needs to be repaired, I am told that it is necessary to change out the water pump and chain that drives it. Problem is, water pump is buried inside the motor. Rather than an external pump (which is most common), Ford engineers determined that putting it IN the engine was a good idea. I guess from a profit standpoint for Ford, it may have been a good financial move. However, from a consumer standpoint, this repair will likely cost me more than double what it would if the pump were external. Overall very disappointed in that fact - AND in the fact that Ford refuses to stand by it. Other than that, this is a beautiful car, roomy, comfortable, good in the snow and adverse conditions, safe and overall very nice."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 5 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Taurus near Honolulu. See local deals