Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

2003 Ford Taurus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 1291 Ratings for the 2000 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next

When I drove the car it was very smooth

By on Sunday, September 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,200

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "this is a laid back car"

Cons: "not for young people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"My son was the main driver of the car. When I drove it, it was very smooth and comfortable. I really liked the feature on the outside of the car handle where you punch in the code if you locked your keys inside. The inside is really large, the trunk is large you can fit anything in there."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Trans hard 1-2 shift, no ABS, CD broke, noisy fan

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfy seats, low noise, mpg good"

Cons: "Trans hard 1-2 shift, no ABS, CD broke, noisy fan"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"When I bought this car, I needed it to go to work. Otherwise, I would not have bought it. The transmission has a hard 1-2 shift. This has been a problem for this model transmission for many years prior. The design problem should have been fixed. The CD player does not work. There is no ABS on a 2007 car!?! I was shocked and surprised by the lack of ABS on such a late vehicle. My '96 Chrysler Concorde was more advanced in design. To top it off, the vent fan is now making a lot of noise and will probably fail at some future date. The fuel economy is somewhat better than other mid size cars of the same age. The seats are comfortable. This does not make up for its shortcomings, and I regret making the purchase."

It's had a lot of mechanical problems

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I want this car

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Little over price for the amount of problems"

Cons: "Has a lot of cosmetic problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Unsure if worthy to purchase with all that gone wrong with it, and weather it's reliable."

great car till 90000 mi then trans

By on Saturday, September 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "plenty of power with 24 v engine"

Cons: "rust and door interior vinyl falling off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"At 90000 mi trans failed, 92000 AC air compressor failed."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A good combination of features at reasonable cost

By on Friday, September 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I owned a virtually identical 2002 Taurus before owning the 2004. Both were a good value and the right combination of features. There were some electrical issues with both, but no major problems. I like the seats, driving position, visibility. I like it running on regular (getting around 18 in regular driving and 21-25 on the freeway. Trunk could be better lit."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This car can't handle many short trips and city dr

By on Sunday, August 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Cheap, decent exterior and interior, cheap repairs"

Cons: "NOT reliable at all. Not for the big city!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"This car is my first car, and it makes for a decent first car. Repairs are cheap on this car, but they really seem to be never ending! This car has issues doing a lot of idling and city driving. This car seems like it does great on interstates and long trips. As far as gas mileage is concerned, I'd give this car a moderate rating. It gets horrible gas mileage in the big city...especially in rush hour driving! This car seems to have its own weird personality and needs to be babied a lot. It works for myself, a college student who doesn't do a ton of driving...but I still want something more reliable. I love the fact my Taurus SE 2000 is built in Chicago, IL, USA!! I love the Ford motor company, but this car could have been designed a whole lot better IMHO."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good reliable car

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"starts in the coldest weather"

Very nice car drives great

By on Wednesday, August 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable, Great Gas Mileage"

Cons: "Transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car used from a dealer in Garden Grove CA. The dealer kept telling me I should buy the extended warranty on the car because even with 51,818 miles the transmission might have problems.. I didn't, and it did. I had the computer control unit replaced at $1300.00 and it still slips once and a while.. The car also had no heat when I bought it, so $185.00 repair.. It also had an after market security system that would go on and stop the car from being drivable. However, once I took that off the car has run very well and I drive it every place. I have the 100th anniversary edition so it has all the options. I get great gas mileage, over 29 hwy when the tires are inflated correctly. I would buy this car again, but I think I would have test driven it a little more.."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

The perfect first car!

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Nice audio sound, Roomy, Large trunk"

Cons: "GAS GUZZLER!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Taurus has just over 187400 miles on it. It still runs great and gets me from A to B. Although my dad (i'm only 16) has put a lot of work into keeping the car running, parts are very cheap. The taurus is very easy to repair as well. If you're looking for a fun car, this isn't your answer. But, it has nice control on every surface, and is very good in snow and rain. Over all, The 2001 Ford Taurus is a fantastic car!!!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Very good, reliable car, great engine & interior

By on Monday, August 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "This car now has everything new or nearly new."

Cons: "Gets 20-22 mpg."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"New complete tranny rebuild at 123,000, new starter at 207g, battery at 197g; This is a top-of-the-line 2002 Ford Taurus SES (3.0) with 208,000 easy miles. It is in very good condition with no wrecks, fender-benders or the like, but a few minor scratches here and there. It had new: brakes @ 173g, coolant recovery tank @ 144g, brake master cylinders @ 154g, power steering pump @ 167g, new brake discs @ 189g, all ignition electronics @ 186g, most of the engine sensors @ 191g, and new windshield @ 107g. Also, top-rated tires (9000 miles on Pirellis w/80,000 mile warranty), also, replaced catalytic converters (3) @ 185g. It has been maintained properly with oil changes at no more than 5000 miles spacing. Interior is perfect."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Transmission

By on Thursday, July 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "new tires"

Cons: "no heat; no A/C"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This car will need a new transmission soon. It has no A/C or heat"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very good vehicle

By on Thursday, July 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, reliable"

Cons: "needs more trunk space"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The only problem we had is when someone rear-ended us, and the vehicle's whole trunk wound up in the back seat. Unless you get in an accident- the car is wonderful. It's reliable, very good on gas, controls all different roads (dirt, paved, and gravel). And is easy to work on."

15 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Enjoy driving this vehicle, this is my 3rd Taurus.

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car rides well and hasn't had problems. It still gets really good mpg. Everyone asks me if I got a new car when it rains or gets washed, the finish is perfect. I hope it lasts forever."

12 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Very dependable & comfortable

By on Wednesday, June 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very low maintenance costs; new starter & battery only expense above oil change, etc. Quite comfortable for a midsize car; have taken it cross country on two occasions. Has good acceleration. Compared to my 2008 Ford F250 with V10 it's like driving a sports car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good first car

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cheap and has plenty of space"

Cons: "Not exciting to drive and not great on gas either"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Owned an '05 for four years now and put almost 50,000 miles on it. I work as a delivery driver and it has never once left me stranded. There is massive trunk space and my 6'4 frame fits comfortably into the drivers seat (or even the back, which i've only ridden in once). This was my first car and while it's basic and boring, does what any first car should do; get me from point A to B without problem. I have no regrets in my purchase."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Good workhorse every day car

By on Monday, June 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great runner"

Cons: "boring"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Nothing special, but it works and continues to work. Spacious for 5 adults, or multiple teenagers. Great size trunk. Good winter car. Not very good gas mileage. I recommend the car for anyone who wants a car to get you from here to there safely and comfortably."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Not ever again!

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Nice design on the interior and exterior, sounds g"

Cons: "Junk.. Not reliable at all."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I bought this car for my mom june 12th 2011. When it was purchased, it was immaculate, only had 93,000 miles on it. When we first bought it, it was fine. After 2 weeks, it had to go into the shop, in and out of the shop twice a month. It has cost way more then this car is even WORTH to keep the piece of junk running...I will never buy another one and if you do, I cant help you."

1 person out of 7 found this review helpful

Average vehicle; great for a starter car

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "runs good when working well"

Cons: "bad gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I have had the car for about 6 years now. Only 1 previous owner. Performs well when car is functioning properly."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good vehicle

By on Thursday, June 19, 2014

I don't own this car

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
1/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Has been a good car but has been drove alto up in mountains and has been a accident hood of car damaged not running only in second have changed transmission and computer and still not getting out of second"

Pretty good value

By on Sunday, June 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Good value if you can find one for a decent price, get the 24 valve engine if you can find one, they'll last much longer."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Never another Ford car for this guy

By on Wednesday, June 11, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: tired of putting money in it

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "LOL REALLY NO PROS"

Cons: "TOOOOO MANY TO LIST NEVER AGAIN"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Wow thought I got a good deal on this car in 2008. It had 65000 miles on it and I purchased it for just over 6000 dollars. This car was okay for about 2 years and then everything started going wrong. Normal wear items I understand, tires, brakes. First of all the suspension on these cars are awful. Had to replace rear springs,shocks,struts. Front wheel baring's,stabilizer links, you name it. Heater quit working (needed new heater core) 400 parts and labor. And to top it off the blower would blow hard for about 30 min and then you could still feel the ac/heat but there was no force behind the blower. But the blower motor was not bad so I'm guessing it was maybe and actuator motor. I was so glad to get rid of this piece of junk and get my nice 2012 Honda Accord oh by the way with only 13500 miles on the Honda. I will never buy another Ford car again. Do love Ford trucks."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Worst car I've ever owned; extremely disappointed.

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "When working, drives smoothly."

Cons: "Codes don't show true problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Dealership couldn't/wouldn't fix my car a few years ago; finally took it to local mechanic. Codes never would reveal correctly what was wrong; finally just replaced the engine. So many repairs; it's basically been a money pit. I wrote to the corporate office for help but they didn't care."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Drove great at first

By on Tuesday, June 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Powerful, comfortable"

Cons: "Gas mileage failed inspect prob cheated by dealer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Was sold this car under the impression it was in pristine condition. It was at first, but then the shaking started and I had to get it aligned and buy 4 new tires, which are now bald themselves (after less than 3,000 miles of buying them!). Catalytic converter and tires made me fail inspection, and on top of that, the power steering fluid and coolant were thick and brown, like tar. I feel like I was ripped off."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Solid safe transprotation.

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "solid car at a good value"

Cons: "challenges with electrical as with all fords."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"We bought the car used off a corporate lease and found it to be good safe no frills transportation. The only draw back is like on all my Fords we began to have electrical challenges. This one was the heater stuck on high. If Ford can get it together together and keep the electrical together to last more than 10 years on their verticals than I would consider them a real world class automotive company."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

One of the best cars that I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, May 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 246,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car never let me down. It is daily driven both on highways and local roads through all types of road conditions."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Taurus near Honolulu. See local deals