Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

2002 Ford Taurus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 1317 Ratings for the 2000 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next

I've owned a 1997 and a 2004, both are excellent.

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is probably the most reliable car I've ever owned. Great performance and many great features."

Loved so much I bought another

By on Friday, April 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 253,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Reliable, inexpensive to fix compared to other mod"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2005 Taurus with roughly 19k on in 2005. This has been the best, most reliable car I have ever owned. I kept up on all the maintenance and fixed any issues there were with it which weren't many other than wear and tear. Now it is showing it's age at 253K, mainly because of the winters in NY, but I am confident it could easily drive for another 50K. So it looks like it is time for it to retire. I loved this car so much, I bought the same car one year newer with less miles!"

Who wouldn't love the Taurus?

By on Thursday, April 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Unique looking, nice ride, corners well in mtns"

Cons: "Plastic headlights, bad self-locking system-extra"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car at the beginning of 2005 and it has 2200 miles on it when I drove off the dealers driveway. I have: along with regular oil changes, replaced a starter and that has been the extent of problems I've had with this car. Roomy, comfortable, corners well and is nice to drive in the curvy old mountains. Not too crazy about the detailing stripes and I absolutely think Ford should throw out the plastic front headlights. They get pretty murky without a lot of cleaning. Its a great car to own and gets pretty good gas mileage as well. 5 people can sit very, very comfortably in this car."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great reliable SAFE car..very low maintenance.

By on Tuesday, April 07, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "roomy, comfortable, reliable"

Cons: "gas mileage, doors freeze in winter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I admit that a Ford Taurus would never have been my first choice for a car. Bought this car after driving a sporty Honda Civic. Was recently involved in a serious accident and the car flipped end to end twice. Due to the solid construction of this car I walked away with not a scratch. From the mechanics to the police..they all said the same thing. If I had been in any other car..say a Civic..I would not have survived. I will be replacing that car with another Taurus without a second thought."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Has been very Reliable

By on Wednesday, April 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Perfect for a first car. Inexpensive Easy drive"

Cons: "Pref higheroffgrd, O2 sens purchased not installd"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

I loved it but now she's ready for some younger blood! (but I'm only 70)

"4 New tires, new brakes. White with gray leather . Never wrecked. Everything GOOD to VERY GOOD condition"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

I loved it but now she's ready for some younger blood! (but I'm only 70)

Best car I've ever had. I am 64y.o.

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,127

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, easy and fun to drive. made well."

Cons: "After age10 repairs start."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives very well even now, at age 15. Still very comfortable and made well. Powerful car. We always felt very safe inside it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

best ever

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had 3 of these and they are the best thing on the road. If ford had a brain they would bring them back!!!!!"

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

true flagship

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 227,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fords flagship sedan once again proves itself. I've owned a few between the Taurus and the Sable, as well as one 500. Comfortable, reliable, and just an all around fantastic automobile."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best, most reliable & most useful car. Ever.

By on Monday, March 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

""Sexy" transportation, no, but in terms of usefulness and reliability, a "10!" Please Ford, update it and bring it back! Breaks my heart that I can't buy a brand new "Bess!""

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Good value for a family sedan

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good value for cost."

Cons: "Interior is rather spartan."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Have owned since 2009. No major problems. Normal maintenance and expected repairs. A good value for the price paid and the cost of ownership."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Very reliable companion

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, stylish, ample power"

Cons: "Nothing comes to mind!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We've been together through middle eastern summers and mountainous winters and she's still going strong. The heat's caused some paint damage and dried belts. The cold has caused a windshield chip to become a crack, but all major systems are still running smooth!"

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I love my Taurus!

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For a high mileage care, it starts every morning and has needed minimal maintanence."

5 people out of 11 found this review helpful

good car

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"good car"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Needed more repairs than my other Tauruses.

By on Saturday, December 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good value at time of purchase"

Cons: "Disappointed in repair needs before 100,000 mi."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought car used, low mileage, was good reliable car for several years, but at 10 years of age, repairs for rust and dry rot seemed to escalate around 79,000-82,000 miles. I do not recall my past two Tauruses costing so much in repairs at this point on the odometer, had driven both for over 100,000 miles before trading them."

14 people out of 25 found this review helpful

2003 Ford Taurus SE

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "5 Star safety ratinging, roomy, great gas mileage"

Cons: "They all have their quirks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Not actual Vehicle but the same condition

"Just purchased this vehicle used. Looks and drives like new. My future concern is about the transmission because this particular year has issues on certain transmissions. For a larger vehicle, it is very comfortable, easy to drive and the best part is the gas mileage. You hardly have to give it gas and it goes. If it were still made like this, I would recommend it so the next best thing was purchasing used"

16 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Not actual Vehicle but the same condition

Meticulously maintained vehicle, have records.

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,470

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent price, looking to sell it to ASAP"

Cons: "One set of keys"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

2009_Ford_Taurus

"Meticulously maintained vehicle, have records. Excellent first vehicle for a high school or college student. Runs GREAT! Passed State inspection back in June/2014. New tires, oil and filter recently changed. Will sell it with a full tank of gas. I'll be honest with you, this vehicle won't last, it will sell fast."

9 people out of 15 found this review helpful

2009_Ford_Taurus

quality vehicle

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: got a new car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "it can really take a beating"

Cons: "it looks like a old person car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"this car runs great, very solid vehicle, gas mileage could be better. I got this car for free, but i already had a car, therefore thats the only reason why i didnt want to keep it."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

i am second owner car had 100000 miles .

By on Monday, November 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very comfortable automobil. it sets good on the ro"

Cons: "car is fully equipped."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"add to above car was owned by a traffic scout, he was the only one who ever rode in car. interior is exceptional clean. dash board is in excellent shape."

19 people out of 34 found this review helpful

THIS IS ALSO I BELIEVE, A GREAT CAR

By on Sunday, November 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "SOLID CAR,NO RATTLES,VERY DEPENDABLE"

Cons: "BURNS GAS IN CITY DRIVING"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I BOUGHT THE WAGON SE STYLE BRAND NEW IN 2003 IN THE DEALERS LOT AT THAT TIME.I HAVE TAKEN CARE OF MY BABY VERY WELL.2000 MILE OIL CHANGES PERSONALLY.TRANSMISION OIL CHANGE WITH FILTER EVERY 2 YEARS PERSONALLY AND FAITHFULLY AND ANTI FREEZE CHANGES BY JIFFY LUBE(EASIER AND LESS OF A MESS)EVERY 3 YEARS.PROFESIONALLY DETAILED EVERY YEAR SINCE NEW,PERSONAL HAND WASHES WEEKLY SINCE NEW!IN FREEZING WEATHER I USE THE TOUCHLESS CAR WASH. STILL TO THIS DAY SHE STARTS RIGHT UP.CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT ON MAYBE 4 TIMES SO FAR FOR OXOGEN SENSOR AND BAD COIL PAK.BUT BESIDE THAT NOTHING ELSE BESIDE BRAKES AND TIRES/SPARK PLUGS EVERY 4 YEARS AND A BAD BRAKE BOOSTER THAT WAS LEAKING."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Junk

By on Saturday, November 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Roomy, lots of pep"

Cons: "Unreliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"It was a good car for the first 5 years. After that, everything started to go. The blower motor, wiper motor, breaks, struts, the body, paint just peeled off after a couple of years, rust all over, constant electrical problems, exhaust, power steering issues, doors won't close at all when it is cold, major rusting out of the body, power windows won't work, car won't start, and on it goes."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great Car Expecially for the Money (24v)

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 131,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great gas mileage (20 city), good power, spacious"

Cons: "watch for small rust spots"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car last year for 2300 and it has not let me down at all. When buying one of these cars make sure you pick one that was taken care of by its previous owner. This will prevent any major repairs from being needed. The reason I say this is because I used to have a 1996 (same car but different styling) that was beaten and the transmission went at 125000. My 03 has more mileage and runs like new. Also make sure you buy one with the 24v engine, it is faster, more reliable, and has a better built transmission. Lastly get one with ABS its worth looking for. IF YOU THINK YOU HAVE A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM, get a fluid/filter change from a trusted reputable shop and change your fuel filter (can mimic transmission problems)"

7 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Too many repairs

By on Friday, November 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 242,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable to drive and to ride in"

Cons: "Repairs, repairs and more repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I bought this car new. Once the warranty ran out, it was one repair after another. $300 here, $400 there, $1200-1500 over yonder. The blend door actuator for the climate control system goes out every summer or two. Many repairs entail removing the whole dash, or taking the motor halfway apart. Mechanics who've worked on it have called it "the beast" & reported having nightmares about working on it--seriously. I do love the comfort features & the way it drives, but that's the nicest thing I can say about it."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Friday, October 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was a purchase from my mother's estate and it is one of the finest cars that I've ever owned. It has an abundance of power for a V6 and the transmission shifts smoothly at all times. The handling borders on that of a mid sized sports car and holds the road really well. My only fault with the car is portions of the leather upholstery on the doors had to be re-installed and re-glued by an upholstery shop. That is the only blemish I have for this car front to rear."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Good car!

By on Thursday, October 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I just bought this car not too long ago, and it was really been treating me well. Very low maintenance and dependable. The only negative about it is that the gas mileage is a little low (sitting at 20mpg), but it really is a great car. There's plenty of space for my legs, and I am 6'3", so that is a big deal to me."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great driving fun to own

By on Monday, September 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "New tires Drives great,"

Cons: "I have had some issues of slipping in the snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A great car to drive vary responsive. I love My car."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Taurus near Honolulu. See local deals