Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1998 Ford Taurus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 535 Ratings for the 1996 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    7.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next

Very reliable vehicle.

By on Friday, December 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive."

Cons: "Poor city gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Was 8 years old when I bought it. Selling it because I am moving. Otherwise I would keep it until it falls apart. Love my Taurus."

This car was very reliable for our family.

By on Wednesday, November 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,981

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "A very nice smooth writing car."

Cons: "Too much room for two people."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I did not want to sell this car, but I have to."

She has been a great car!

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,525

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Dependable and economic"

Cons: "Difficult to get in and out of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car has been a God Send. She has required only the natural maintenance needed, i.e. breaks, a/c flush and normal required service. She is just nearing the time when her transmission will need serviced. She is reliable and economic vehicle. My only real complaint is that is difficult to get in and out of as I am short and must pull the seat up to reach the peddles."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

One of the BEST autos out there; EVER!

By on Wednesday, August 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 248,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great milage, durablity, handling, and comfort"

Cons: "low to ground"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought used (was a rental/yr old w/22,000) and With one major bobble (in 2008) regarding the transmission going (we DID use this car in very harsh conditions prior to this though)... this car has been the best for running around locally and long distance trips. It is getting better now than it used to (32+mpg), drives smooth in any conditon (mud, snow, ice, wet/dry)...comfortable for our family of 4 (and we're all very tall...so it somewhat 'short for us)... my youngest (who was born well after I bought it wants this car when she's driving in a year or two...and pretty sure 'ol White will STILL be going strong! :) The only other car I'd have to rate just as high/higher (wouldn't work for our 'family' though) would have been my previous Ford Tempo 5-spd... Ford puts out GREAT cars (and trucks) :)"

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Good Vehicle just old.

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great value, pretty reliable"

Cons: "outdated technology, doesn't handle weather well"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've used this vehicle the past 5 years to get around and it's only broken down once due to horrible mechanic work."

10 people out of 18 found this review helpful

1998 Taurus SE, 3.0L Sedan

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,585

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outsatnding vehicle for the money"

Cons: "Wish it was equiped with a CD player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I cannot say enough about my recent purchase of a 1998 Ford taurus. The car is in top condition inside and out,has only 114,000 m, and the mechanicals work perfectly. I purchased the car for only $900. Need I say more?"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I have a ford taurus I would like to sell

By on Thursday, August 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I would like to sell the car for at least $1,000. I am trying to use the money toward the purchase of a new car. The mechanic that was working on it mentioned something about the problem being related to threading, pullie and thermostat pump. I really don't care what's wrong. I just want to sell it."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Long time Taurus fanatic

By on Saturday, August 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great on gas, reliable, great to drive"

Cons: "rides a bit low, but I am tall"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned several Ford Tauruses. I have had a 92 sedan, which ran all day every day for three years (and I only paid 800 for it!). I had a wagon, and a 99 sedan as well. I currently own a 97, which is the family errand car and only after a year of hard driving did I have to repair anything. This is a seventeen year old car, and she starts up every day. She is in need of some repair, but that is to be expected when virtually everything on her is original. I will continue to be a Taurus fanatic so long as Ford keeps churning them out."

6 people out of 14 found this review helpful

excellent value, great mileage and performance.

By on Saturday, July 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "parts hard to find."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car"

good power and performance for a 4 door sedan..

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Easy acceleration on highway merges and passing. Good comfort and climate control."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Taurus near Honolulu. See local deals