Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
Go

1996 Ford Taurus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 540 Ratings for the 1996 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.1/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    7.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 108 | Next

Engine great. Huge transmission failure @109,000mi

By on Friday, September 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, great pick up awesome looks great engine!"

Cons: "transmission probably will go, spectacularly, if not dangerously, if not caught early."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The engine is a workhorse (DOHC 24v V6). I love this car, mostly. But the transmission started slipping, and true of other Ford Taurus's the transmission failed by 109,000 miles. At first it was only slippage, but then it would drop into 2nf or 3rd gear from 4th quite suddenly, or not go into higher gears at all. In this case, after pulling the transmission, the converters had blown, sending little fine metal shards everywhere within the transmission. The transmission shop rebuilt the new transmission better (they said) than the factory built unit, but at $2200 (and that was at a $500 discount), Nearly the cost of the value of the car. Somehow a significant minority of transmissions built for these late 1990's cars just seem not to have been made not made well for long term mileage use 60,000 - 100,000 mileage, although the rest of the Taurus is GREAT (minus some deterioration in the molding surrounding the interior instrument panel due to heat). The A/C, the operation of the engine is awesome. Built to last hopefully a few more years. Knowing this, we replaced the transmission. If you are buying this car used, make sure you get it checked out for transmission slippage. If there is, suspect future problems, possibly expensive. It will take a tech to pull the transmission and open it up to see how serious the problem is, and that may take $600 alone for the diagnostic (no engine lights or codes to reveal any interior problem of this type). IF no slippage, you may be good to go, but get a transmission expert to to check it out anyway. Some shops will do the cursory check for free. good luck!"

17 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great Car to own

By on Tuesday, August 03, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this car since it came out in 1999 and this is by far the best vehicle I or anyone else in my family have ever owned. I live in the hills of WV so I obviously need a car with power to get up hills and something that handle well in the snow. This car exceeds at both of these. Also good to know, the car can take a hit from deer. Both times my mother was going 45 and hit the deer with no damage but a turning bulb that popped out of socket. I would highly recommend this car to anyone who is also looking for good fuel economy, 26 on the hills, 30 on the highway. A great car for anyone to own. The only thing that has ever gone wrong with the car are the usual wear and tear parts."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Work Horse

By on Sunday, July 25, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is the 4th Taurus I have owned including one SHO and I loved them all. If your thinking about buying a used one make sure it has the Duratec 24V DOHC or the V8 motor in it and the 14 bolt transmission; the Yamaha V8 (SHO) will have the 14 bolt tranny. Also look for service records that prove the transmission and engine were serviced as scheduled; if they were not then you will have problems especially with the tranny."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

It's a solid running car Reliable for around town

By on Sunday, August 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a reliable car for it's age. It starts right away every time you start it good pick good gas mileage"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Check transmission

By on Tuesday, January 29, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car is comfortable and nice to drive. I have a wagon and it is well designed and more spacious then you'd imagine from outside. At 106,000 miles it seems new. I am definitely happy, but only because when i bought it i also asked for a full warranty. The transmission needed to be replaced completely. I checked around and it seems a very common problem, together with brakes wear. I strongly suggest that you obtain a full warranty covering transmission when you buy it."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 108 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Taurus near Honolulu. See local deals