Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
Go

1995 Ford Taurus

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 213 Ratings for the 1992 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Reliable if not flashy

By on Sunday, July 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, parts are cheap, quite, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Dated design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Good reliable car as of 07/20/14

"Dependable utilitarian car provided you maintain it. I have spent over $2300 in parts alone over the past 2 years. Now I am satisfied it will continue to be reliable for another 5 years. Secret to any dependable auto is maintenance. Have used synthetic motor oil and serviced the transmission with synthetic ATF better than Ford spec. NO engine or transmission problems. A/C is the coldest of any car I've owned any yet it uses 134a Freon!"

Good reliable car as of 07/20/14

Really good value, ahead of its time

By on Friday, February 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 92,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, automatic windows, 26 hwy mpg, 7 seat"

Cons: "Stalls occasionally, 3 seats w/only lap belt"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car is a great deal for its price. It gets a surprising 26 highway mpg. It comes with remote lock/unlock, front and rear spray wash, 7 seats (2 are rear facing, 4 have shoulder belts), automatic window sliding for the whole car, and and power steering. This car has worked pretty well for me, but mine only has 92,000 miles. It does occasionally stall when parked, but overall for a 20 year old car that you can get for under $2000, you should consider it if money is tight."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

very good condition car

By on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,240

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"very good condition car that has a maintenance history"

Great, comfortable, good value motoring.

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, Size, Comfort, Reliability."

Cons: "None in my opinion."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I previously had an 87 Sable sedan and a 94 Sable wagon, the Mercury Sable being basically the same as the Ford Taurus. Both were brought with low mileage and were good clean cars. I used both for a round trip daily commute of 125 miles and they gave outstanding service. When the wagon gave up I got my current Taurus from a used car lot. It had 77K on it with one owner and was in excellent condition. I have owned it now for nearly a year and a half and it is reliable just needing the regular maintenance and repair you expect year to year. I usually get around four years / 120000 miles of service from a $2000 Taurus/Sable before retiring them for another one. I think this is great value, and bargain on around $750 a year average a year on service and repairs. My annual costs to own and run at 30000 miles a year equal somewhere around $1250 ( not including gas ). If you equate that to the average 12000 miles a year it would be around $500 a year or less than $42 a month. The best bargain motoring available in my opinion, especially as you get a nice looking, comfortable and roomy midsize car with electric windows, door locks and on the Sables even electric seats. A much better buy than a new small bare bones inport car that's going to cost you five times as much each month. I am really happy with the Taurus/Sable range and have no near term plans to drive anything else."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Amazing vehicle for its age

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,800

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Super fun to drive and very, very fast."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Super fast, responsive, gets a lot of compliments, very un-common, comfortable, reliable. Is a little high maintenance so I don't recommend to people who aren't mechanically inclined."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great drivable car!!!

By on Saturday, October 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "nice riding car, dependable too"

Cons: "none, i realy like this car alot!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"very reliable and great driving car. "doesnt hurt it has a 5 star crash test rating either" i would recomend this car to anyone who just wants a nice reliable vehicle."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

20 years and going strong!!!

By on Tuesday, October 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good handling, nice acceleration, good solid car!"

Cons: "As I mentioned the driver door panel that's all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This car is solid piece of machinery. I inherited it from my grandparents. For twenty years old it's running great, runs like clockwork. I'm only 18 years old and it's a fine first car. It handles great lots of grip on the pavement. The start up is smooth as butter.the only flaw is the driver door panel is a bit loose but that's it!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Last of the true 5-speeds

By on Tuesday, September 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FAST FAST FAST"

Cons: "Rare car, expensive parts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 1995 Taurus SHO in 2002 with 77k miles on it. 11 years later I've replaced the AC pump, rebuilt the tranny (it was out of fluid, didn't know a sealed tranny leaked!), replaced the fuel pump and a few tires. Overall I haven't spent what I paid for it so that's good in my book. The ride is solid and smooth proving you have good tires and alignment. I've been hit numerous times but the other cars always fared worse. The body is still in great shape with the only paint issues being on the plastic wing but even then you only see it up close. I admit I wasn't religious with the interior so the seats look bad and the old ceiling fabric is tearing. Still plenty of power from the Yamaha power plant Ford gave it yet still makes for a great commuter car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

own this car

By on Sunday, September 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "20yr old car looks fantastic."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Was rebuilt at Freedom Ford Norfolk-new body work,paint,suspension,radiator,A/C-added after work at dealer-new silverstar headlights,led tailights,Sony CD stereo,and Momo Winter Pro aluminum wheels."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

garbage in garbage out

By on Thursday, August 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 245,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"if you do not do factory scheduled maint. you should not expect flawless reliability,we inherited my father in laws 94 taurus lx 3.8 with 245000 miles,it has been in the family since new and after replacing the tranny at 170k and one tune at 190k it now takes my teenage daughter to and from school and work,it is not her dream car but the price was great and my younger daughter has her eye on it as well,when it finally dies we will ship it to the junk yard with a tear knowing it gave it`s all,so dont go buying these cars 10 or 15 yrs down the line with out knowing anything about them and expect miracles"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

very quick

By on Monday, April 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fast comfy and good looking"

Cons: "drinks premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love driving my sho. Its quick big and comfortable. No rust and its 20 years old. Only work i have had to do is regular maintenance and replace the rear struts."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

bought it for a temporary car and price was right,

By on Monday, April 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "keeps right on running"

Cons: "interior is very fragile and paint did not hold up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"After an accident in my SUV I needed something temporary until I could decide what to do. Bought this car two years ago, milage was low price was right,still have it and it runs great. I tote a lot of kids and the interior did not hold up well at all. But the smog test was the cleanest the mechanic had ever seen. He said the engine was strong. I do do my due maintenence had had the engine and transmission flushed right after I got it and I have had to replace the serpinetine belt. Was not fond of this car before I bought but it is running great. I think the year is one of the best."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very good car.

By on Thursday, March 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"very good car,if taking care of and my car is very good to me.i had this car for a year and half and so far it been good to me.i has one little thing to add that it not as great on gas, but it run very good if taking care of and that what i do.i change oil every 3 months or every 3ooo miles sin i has it.and tune it and change it oil went it need it.so far it been great."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best value and comfort for the price!

By on Saturday, October 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Smooth drive, safe and solid."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased my used 1995 Taurus 8 years ago with 68k mileage. It now has 170k. I usually drive within a 15 mile radius but have taken many trips out of state as well. I have replaced the brakes 3 times and they need to be replaced soon. I have also replaced the transmission with a rebuilt transmission 7 years ago, which now needs some repair. I replaced the water pump over 6 years ago. The radiator under the dash went out 6 years ago, but I never replaced this because the cost of removing the front dash was not in my budget and because I live in So. Cal I never use the heater that much. The seating is comfortable and the trunk is huge, which has helped with car-pooling and transporting sporting goods for the kids. Now that my son is in college, I have no use for this space but after researching newer cars, I have decided that keeping my Taurus and the low-cost care is far better than paying monthly payments. Finding parts for the older Taurus's can be found from salvage/towing companies. I would also like to mention that the Taurus is comfortable and very roomie compared to the newer models."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Free Car Given sat in uncles yard for a while

By on Thursday, May 17, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: died/junkyard

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great in snow! Will last for a while if taken care"

Cons: "ok on gas, cheap interier"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"My sister got this car when she got her license and then I got it. Car was a 1994 Lx V6 with 117,000 miles C]car was a tank! Drove the thing into the ground until it died. Interior is cheap but will last. Cup holders are in the worst spot. Car drove awesome in the snow plowed right through it. Car was rusted out under neath but lasted 5 years. Was a great free car and is great for a new driver because it will last!"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best 1st car i've had since last sept.

By on Tuesday, May 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,355

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable engine, handles good."

Cons: "differnt cup holder maybe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Reliable, easy to work car, low maintenance, good gas mileage."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A very reliable and comfortable old car

By on Friday, March 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Good people mover. easy to get parts"

Cons: "suspension is a little too firm at times."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My second old Taurus had it about 5 years now. Use as an around town vehicle although have taken long trips with it. So far I have not had to add any oil or other fluids to it between oil changes. Gas milage is not to bad for its age and size averaging around 20 mpg. Holds the road fairly well on snowy roads. It has been a good second car to have to commute with. Body and interior are in good shape although I admit because of its age I don't worry too much about where I park it like I do our newer car."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

So Reliable

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price, reliable, comfy, awesome"

Cons: "cup holders are not good, no cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my old Taurus! I've driven it through high school and college. I have put it through so much and still has never let me down. Never had a break down of any sort. I would suggest this car to anyone who wants a reliable car and really comfy car."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

the most reliable car i have ever drove!

By on Monday, March 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it has never broke down on me and is soooo reliable. i alwase know it is going to start. it also gets great gas mileage!"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

What a blast

By on Thursday, March 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Yamaha motor"

Cons: "cheap interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a very fun car to drive. I have the 5Speed version. The Yamaha motor makes the car!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

ONE OF BEST

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 192,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "GREAT ENGINE 6.0L A MILESTONE CAR FOR FORD."

Cons: "BASIC CAR. NOT LUXURY."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I AMM 66 YEARS OLD AND HAVE BEEN DRIVING SINCE I WAS 16. I BOUGHT THIS CAR 5 YEARS AGO AND THE 3.0 ENGINE ALWAYS STARTS AND RUNS SMOOTH AS SILK. DEFINITELY ONE OF MY BEST EGINES EVER. TRANSMISSION HAD NO ISSUES OR FILINGS WHEN CHECKED OUT. I HAVE FIXED MOST OTHER PARTS ON A 19 YEAR OLD CAR. EXAUST, BRAKES,,SUSPENSION, AND FRONT SPRINGS. I THINK MY TOTAL COSTS INCLUDING $400 PURCHASE AND $3,500 OF REPAIRS AVERAGES TO AROUND $85 A MONTH AND IT'S STILL FINE.AND IT HAS MINIMAL RUST FOR VERMONT. MY MANY SUBARUS WOULD BE TOAST AT THIS AGE."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vechicle ever.

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 154,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have loved this car. It has been so reliable."

(I am working on getting another one just like it.

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: it fianaly blew up

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Absolutely the best car I have ever owned. I loved it for every mile of the way. Best bang for your buck. Drove mine from 50k to 260k miles. All it took to keep going was just basic maintenance. Only bad part about the car, parts for it are getting harder to get.... and are getting expensive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Friday, January 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "small cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I got this car in CT and drove it to AZ and it did great... That was over a year ago. And it is still going strong... She (the car) might need a little face lift but other then that she is great. :-)"

I bought this car new in 1995

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great mid size car and a fair price at the time"

Cons: "no flip seats to the trunk - sometimes handy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very few repairs besides normal wear and tear. Will be finally trading her in on a new model due to travelling more miles daily (and a kid off to college!)."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Taurus near Honolulu. See local deals