Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2009 Ford Ranger Super Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 1253 Ratings for the 2001 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 51 | Next

Tough little truck

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Tough, sturdy, good stereo, good for hauling"

Cons: "Small seats, cooling system problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have 213,000 miles on it. Have hauled stuff over the years. Have been rear-ended 4 times. It needs some TLC but still runs. The one major problem I've had in the cooling system. I've had to replace most of it twice......and the parts aren't cheap. Also, had the PATS system shut down a few months ago. Overall, it's a tough little truck."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable, no major problems at all

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "Needs a few more "comfort" details."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Well made, no majors problems with correct maintenance. One thing ford needs to do is NOT integrate mechanical systems. ie. New front end parts needed when changing struts adding cost to the struts."

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best small truck I have ever owned

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,501

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ease of handeling and dependability"

Cons: "Must use load leaveler to pull real heavy objects."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would buy a new one if Ford still made it..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

2007 Ford Ranger XLT Supercab 2wd

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Well built and never lets you down"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned five rangers and this by far is the best. Has a nice ride and is smooth on the road at any speed. Gets about 20-23 mpg with 3.0L V6. Can pull up to 4500 lbs. with no trouble. Sad Ford stop making the Ranger. I have always owned the 2wd. you only need the 4wd if you go off road. Great truck for the money, built like a full size truck."

Have owned several Rangers

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Size, Four wheel drive, price, reliability"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Pleased with this truck (my 5th Ranger) I like the size and the overall ride. Gas mileage is not great, back seat is not for passengers but for what I use it for it is great."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great small truck no traction 2wd

By on Thursday, November 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "inexpensive dives nice has room decent payload siz"

Cons: "no traction poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Nice little truck if it was 4wd Id probably keep it till it dies. Don't like ford motor company and not paticularly found of my dealer but truck is nice"

2 people out of 8 found this review helpful

This is my second Ranger - I owned

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Tough and reliable"

Cons: "Poor fuel economy for a vehicle this size."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second Ranger - I owned a 1993 XLT 2 wheel drive for 12 years and upgraded to this one in about 2005. Both have been very good to me with little repair or maintenance necessary. On my third set of tires and second set of brakes - wears well. The only major maintenance I have had to do so far is a repair of the ABS system in one of the back brakes. Two of the best vehicles I have ever owned and at great value..."

4 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best truck I have ever owned...

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good looks, reliability, inexpensive to operate"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better...but I can't complain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ordered this truck in Dec 2001. The 3.0L engine hasn't the power of any other trucks but it has been dependable beyond my wildest dreams when I ordered it. The looks and styling are still outstanding. 165,000 on the clock and the truck has never had a wrench on it outside regular maintenance every 7500 miles. Overkill? Maybe...but I would not hesitate to take this truck anywhere with confidence. Mine is 2WD so I don't use it for mud bogging and the like. But if you want a ride that is stylish, comfortable and dependable...you just can't beat a Ranger."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

reliable comfortable easy to drive

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "every good thing there is about a pick up"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my ranger is the most reliable i have ever owned. i am bummed ford does not make Rangers any more. I cant think what I will buy next"

6 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great looking & running

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck for 6 years with no major problems. I now have 118,000 miles on it. The gas mileage isn't great at maybe 14 or 15 city driving. It does have all the bells and whistles on it. The body is still in great shape. We get a lot of snow up this way and this little 4X4 is excellent."

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

excellent vehicle,

By on Thursday, October 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "dependable and rugged,easy and cheap to repair."

Cons: "not a lot of power on highway,ok gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"dependable,cheap to repair,great a/c.this vehicle has always ran well,i love my truck and would recomend it to anyone,it would make a great first vehicle"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best possible first vehicle I could have had

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "High durability, forgiving gear shift, low maint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"My dad bought me this car for my first vehicle and it was the best decision. I pushed this truck during high school and it has stayed dependable all the way past 200k miles. The only problem she ever gave me was when the transmission suddenly gave out around 150k miles. Dependable non-flashy vehicle great as a first car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very good condition for a 2005

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,995

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Nice ride"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

2011 4x4 Ranger - great all around truck

By on Wednesday, October 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Can do just about anything"

Cons: "It's not a full-size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I'm very happy with this truck. It's like the 'Little Engine that Could'. Goes anywhere. Drives nice. Gas mileage has improved after a decent break-in period."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

purchased '01 new, 158000 miles, never any problem

By on Monday, October 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,466

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very reliable and dependable"

Cons: "poor mileage and wind noise in the 4 door."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased 2001 Ranger Supercab new in '01, 4 liter engine, most all the bells and whistles, have pulled a camper all over the south, never any problems with this vehicle. Has 158000 miles, routine maintenance would not be scared to get in it right now and go across the U.S. Only kick I have is the mileage, w/o camper, about 18 to 21, depending on how driven, with camper, 14 to 16."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

For the age of vehicle, it is great

By on Sunday, September 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "still looks great and drives smoothly"

Cons: "none except age"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Truck in very good condition, has only required routine maintenance. The paint (red) has held up extremely well on truck and back cover. I only part with it because I don't have a need for it now."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

very reliable pickup

By on Thursday, September 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "bright yellow love color.."

Cons: "could get better mileage hwy19-20"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No major problems a great little pickup."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best truck Ford ever made

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck was one of the best trucks Ford ever made why they stoped making it boggles my mind , since buying this truck in 2003 I have had it back to the dealer only 3 times for minor things it is now 2014 and this truck runs just like it did in 2003 start making them again!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

amazing truck!!

By on Monday, September 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability and ease of driving"

Cons: "gas but i did recently get 21mpg going up to tahoe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i actually own two! the first one is a 1994 with 280000 miles and runs/looks amazing still with the original engine and transmission never rebuilt. my other one is a 2003 FX Level II, both are daily drivers. this is the best/most fun truck I've ever had and would recommend it to anyone!!"

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

RANGER IS IN EXCELLENT CONDITION.

By on Monday, September 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "LOVE THIS TRUCK, FUN TO DRIVE AND VERY HANDY."

Cons: "NON ELECTRIC WINDOWS AND LOCKS."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

IN MY DRIVE WAY FROM THE REAR. ASKING $4995.

"REPLACED WATER PUMP AND TIMEING CHAIN GASKET. HAS HARD COVER OVER BED WITH BED LINER. HAS AN EXTENDED BED RACK. LED LIGHTS ON FRONT, REAR AND CAB LIGHT OVER BED. ADDED FOG LAMPS. ONLY DRIVEN IN TOWN AND TRIPS TO CHARLOTTSVILLE, VA."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

IN MY DRIVE WAY FROM THE REAR. ASKING $4995.

This is my 2nd Ranger supercab, I loved the first

By on Saturday, August 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "none for me"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"AS I was saying loved the first one, very reliable, that is why when it got totaled by another vehicle I bought another. Had to get new, no good used ones available that I would consider buying. Very happy with this one, even though its 4 years old and I have only 9000 miles on it, VERY HAPPY with my Ranger super=cab. I call it my "tonka" bigger that a regular cab, (matchbox) but smaller that a full size truck, Gas mpg may be a little low, but I didn''t buy the 4L engine to get good mileage, I want my ZOOM when I step on the peddle, and its got Zoom!!!."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

very nice vehicle

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I want this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "comfortable to sit in with plenty of room"

Cons: "too pricy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"It is the type I am looking for. Very nice color,plenty of room."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

great ride good looking

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"dash board lights dark green glass with black lettering. at night ok to see day time I use small flash light to see time radio speedo is just ok"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

4th Ranger OWNED and my last

By on Sunday, August 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Needs a little more HP."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In short 4x4 XLT supercab, basically everything but remote start. 24k miles on it since purchased new. NEVER BEEN BACK TO THE SHOP for any problems! What more can you ask for? It is my last Ranger because they've quit making them."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This was my first vehicle, its been through a lot

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Its a Tank! It never stops for anything"

Cons: "Its not a 3/4 ton truck, gotta remember that"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This was my first vehicle, its been through a lot, I have probably driven it beyond what it was created for, but it has never let me down. Its had all four wheels 4 feet off the ground, and just kept going (stupid high school days). I still drive it to this day, only problem I have had is the 4 wheel drive went out (to much beating on it) and the thermostat went out... I don't know why probably its age and sitting out side. This little truck is awesome for a first vehicle or for hauling stuff around in the bed, soon its gonna be a plow truck for snow removal as well. It never seems to quit."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 51 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Super Cab near Honolulu. See local deals