Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2005 Ford Ranger Super Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 1268 Ratings for the 2001 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 51 | Next

Only minimal carpet wear under pedals

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "like new"

Cons: "18 to 20 mpg highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"easy driven pickup. No towing or off roading."

Good Ranger

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "reliable truck"

Cons: "door and tailgate handles are worthless"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I've been very pleased with the reliability of the Ranger. No real mechanical issues. The normal replacement of belts, oil, etc that goes with owning a car or truck. Only complaint is that they placed plastic handles on the doors and tailgate of a truck. Really!!? It's a truck, not some kid's toy. I've had to replace 2 handles on the tailgate and would be more, but it cost $200 every time to go in and have it done. I'm too cheap to keep replacing it. Otherwise, I'm very pleased with it. I plan on running till the wheels fall off."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I DRIVE THIS TRUCK ON WEEKENDS IN THE SUMMER.

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "22 MPG. GREAT TRUCK TO DRIVE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"MY TRUCK SITS IN THE GARAGE FROM SEPT UNTIL APRIL. HAS NEVER BEEN ON SNOW OR ICE.OIL CHANGED EVERY 3 TO 5 THOUSAND MILES.EVERYTHING ORIGINAL EXCEPT THE BATTERY."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

VERY DEPENDABLE TRUCK!

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great little truck! I have had to do very little to keep this truck running great, mostly just routine maintenance. Although it is not the roomiest and most comfortable vehicle I have ever owned, it is definitely the most dependable and the one needing the least repairs of any that I have owned in the past 40 years!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Amazing Truck. Especially Considering the Mileage

By on Monday, March 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 278,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Hardworking, and good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have an 2008 Ford Ranger and it has a large number of miles on the engine. I haven't done any engine work to it and it still runs great. Most of the miles are highway miles but still anything over 150k is pretty amazing. I love this truck and will most likely stay with the Rangers after this one bites the dust."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Very good small truck, with great reliability

By on Monday, March 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This was a replacement for another small truck that had an engine that failed. The reliability has been excellent. The gas mileage is fair but this is a truck. The finish has been very durable and still looks new. Yes this is a 4 door but only very small people could fit in the rear. But having the rear door is very handy when shopping. The engine has more than adequate power. This has just been a very good truck"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable and Rugged Vehicle for work and commuting

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great Price, Reliable, Rugged, Tough"

Cons: "Rocker panels rust out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Towing

"I purchased the 2001 Ford Ranger XLT 4X4 4.0 V6 in 2012 with 97,000 miles. The truck was and is still in good condition. It presently has 140,000 miles on it. Since the purchase, I have had to make minor repairs such as break replacement (rear drum and front disc), fuel tank line(rust), and front differential (replaced with used) at 140,000. The truck is reliable, relatively good on gas for a 4.0. It gets about 20 mpg highway. I am generally satisfied with the vehicle and can rely on it for towing, off-roading, and commuting to work daily. Would recommend to any looking for a good deal on a reliable truck."

Towing

amazing truck

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, dependable, peppy"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck for 4 years it is the best truck I have ever owned I love everything about it. for a truck it gets decent gas mileage does everything I need it to do and hasn't really ever let me down. I wish they would have never stopped producing rangers"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

2003 Ranger excellent small pickup for light duty

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable affordable transportation."

Cons: "Location of heat control awkward with trans in 5th"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck 3 months ago in like new condition, only having 38,000 miles. It is minimalist, with few to no options and is exactly what I was looking for. 4 cylinder engine, 6 foot bed, manual trans, 2wd. Gas mileage is right at 30 mpg, measured with 75% highway and 25% city driving. Visibility is excellent. The AM FM radio gets great reception, and has surprisingly good sound quality. The truck will likely serve me well for at least the next 10 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great little truck

By on Saturday, February 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "price,long lasting,very reliable,looks good,size"

Cons: "not good gas milage-no longer made by Ford"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only regret with my Ranger is I can not buy a new replacement Ford dropped the ball and quit making them.These things last forever it will probably rust apart before you can wear it out,look around still many Rangers on the road today but the small Chevy and Dodge trucks where are they at????? I think we know. My only knock on it for a small truck gas mileage not great but to have a Ranger I can live with that."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best truck I ever had

By on Monday, January 19, 2015

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Selling was big mistake

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great truck, right size, dependable."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was one great truck, I had two rangers, both great bullet-proof drive train..big mistake in trading it."

14 people out of 20 found this review helpful

2004 68,877 miles Best Truck Ever!

By on Friday, January 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,877

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Tough, great value."

Cons: "Drives best with a load. a deffinate hauler."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

When she was still a young thing

"I loved my little truck. had her from day one. Only replaced tires and brakes. Nothing ever broke. I just lost her to my first accident. Skidded on overpass ice and flipped her. I came out without a scratch on me. She held up well and protected me. If i ever get another vehicle it will be a Ford Ranger."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

When she was still a young thing

2003 with only 72500 miles.in great shape for its

By on Sunday, January 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"everything works great.four wheel drive.spray on bed liner since New,been oil undercoated every year.air conditioning,CD player,power windows ,power door locks.interior in great shape.exterior,one small dent in box,minimal rust.trailer hitch.needs grill."

10 people out of 16 found this review helpful

All highway miles.

By on Saturday, January 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great workhorse vehicle, Excellent mechanical. Would look great with a few minor bondo repairs on box."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Small Truck

By on Friday, January 02, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "Rear seat too small."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the second Ford Ranger I have owned, and I have loved them both. When I sold the first one I had, it had 180000 miles on it and the only work I had done on it in all that time were one brake job (about $200) and a rear seal replacement (about $400). Other than that you just change the oil every 3000 miles and you're good to go. Great truck! I'll never own another type of small truck. And if I buy a full size truck it will be a Ford just based on the Ranger's reliability alone. If I were to make an improvement, I'd like to see a quad cab like the Dodge Durango, but I'll stay with the Ranger and wait for the bigger cab. I do like the 4 doors on the super cab Ranger though. It makes getting stuff from the back seat area a lot easier."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Tough little truck

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Tough, sturdy, good stereo, good for hauling"

Cons: "Small seats, cooling system problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have 213,000 miles on it. Have hauled stuff over the years. Have been rear-ended 4 times. It needs some TLC but still runs. The one major problem I've had in the cooling system. I've had to replace most of it twice......and the parts aren't cheap. Also, had the PATS system shut down a few months ago. Overall, it's a tough little truck."

20 people out of 35 found this review helpful

Very reliable, no major problems at all

By on Monday, December 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "Needs a few more "comfort" details."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Well made, no majors problems with correct maintenance. One thing ford needs to do is NOT integrate mechanical systems. ie. New front end parts needed when changing struts adding cost to the struts."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Best small truck I have ever owned

By on Saturday, December 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,501

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Ease of handeling and dependability"

Cons: "Must use load leaveler to pull real heavy objects."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would buy a new one if Ford still made it..."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

2007 Ford Ranger XLT Supercab 2wd

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Well built and never lets you down"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned five rangers and this by far is the best. Has a nice ride and is smooth on the road at any speed. Gets about 20-23 mpg with 3.0L V6. Can pull up to 4500 lbs. with no trouble. Sad Ford stop making the Ranger. I have always owned the 2wd. you only need the 4wd if you go off road. Great truck for the money, built like a full size truck."

Have owned several Rangers

By on Tuesday, December 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Size, Four wheel drive, price, reliability"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Pleased with this truck (my 5th Ranger) I like the size and the overall ride. Gas mileage is not great, back seat is not for passengers but for what I use it for it is great."

7 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great small truck no traction 2wd

By on Thursday, November 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "inexpensive dives nice has room decent payload siz"

Cons: "no traction poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Nice little truck if it was 4wd Id probably keep it till it dies. Don't like ford motor company and not paticularly found of my dealer but truck is nice"

4 people out of 15 found this review helpful

This is my second Ranger - I owned

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Tough and reliable"

Cons: "Poor fuel economy for a vehicle this size."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second Ranger - I owned a 1993 XLT 2 wheel drive for 12 years and upgraded to this one in about 2005. Both have been very good to me with little repair or maintenance necessary. On my third set of tires and second set of brakes - wears well. The only major maintenance I have had to do so far is a repair of the ABS system in one of the back brakes. Two of the best vehicles I have ever owned and at great value..."

4 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Best truck I have ever owned...

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good looks, reliability, inexpensive to operate"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better...but I can't complain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ordered this truck in Dec 2001. The 3.0L engine hasn't the power of any other trucks but it has been dependable beyond my wildest dreams when I ordered it. The looks and styling are still outstanding. 165,000 on the clock and the truck has never had a wrench on it outside regular maintenance every 7500 miles. Overkill? Maybe...but I would not hesitate to take this truck anywhere with confidence. Mine is 2WD so I don't use it for mud bogging and the like. But if you want a ride that is stylish, comfortable and dependable...you just can't beat a Ranger."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

reliable comfortable easy to drive

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "every good thing there is about a pick up"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"my ranger is the most reliable i have ever owned. i am bummed ford does not make Rangers any more. I cant think what I will buy next"

7 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great looking & running

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck for 6 years with no major problems. I now have 118,000 miles on it. The gas mileage isn't great at maybe 14 or 15 city driving. It does have all the bells and whistles on it. The body is still in great shape. We get a lot of snow up this way and this little 4X4 is excellent."

5 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 51 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Super Cab near Honolulu. See local deals