Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Editors' Page: 2014 Pickup Trucks
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

2005 Ford Ranger Super Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 1204 Ratings for the 2001 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next

awesome for its size

By on Wednesday, April 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"great power,good ride and handling and good milage"

I love this truck!

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,034

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great little truck"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this truck from my company when they replaced it with a Frontier. I drove the truck when it was purchased new and made sure that it had regular maintenance done on it. It is a 5 speed 4 liter that just keeps on giving! I wish Ford still made them because i would much rather have another Ranger than the Frontier Im in now."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent medium size truck

By on Friday, April 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great little truck"

Cons: "Difficult to get to area behind seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a very good truck with good gas mileage (21-23) and plenty of power with the 6 cyl engine. I have been towing a medium size tent trailer and there is absolutely no problem with the weight and even get 16 to 17 mpg while towing. It has a very smooth ride and for a truck very quite. Overall, best truck I have ever owned."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A great small pickup truck

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, comfortable, economical, safe"

Cons: "4 cyl could use more power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"A rock solid small pickup truck. Have owned for 3 years (purchased new from dealer) and have experienced completely trouble-free operation for 38,000 miles. Only maintenance costs have been oil changes every 5K, a fuel filter and cabin air filter replacement. It is an extremely comfortable ride on the highway and easy to maneuver in city driving. I average 26 mpg hwy and 21 city. I plan to own this truck for a long time."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this truck for two years now. It drives great, always starts, requires no maitenence, aside from oil changes and that type of thing, tows great, and goes through anything I throw at it. A very nice little truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best all around truck ever

By on Sunday, March 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Gets great gas mileage for a pickup."

Cons: "The 2.3L engine is a little slow going up hill."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Ranger new in 2008. So far, I've driven it 161,000 miles with very little repair. Most of these were highway miles. The only repair (besides a starter, alternator, battery), was a heater problem that cost $141 to fix. The truck still gets over 28 miles to the gallon (highway). It has been a very dependable and inexpensive truck to drive."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid little work truck

By on Monday, March 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable work truck, decent mileage, dependable"

Cons: "Interior is a little on the cheap side."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a mechanically solid truck. The 4.0L engine is very powerful and pulls well. The ride is fairly quiet and comfortable. The center armrest is poorly designed and the interior is not as well designed as the older model I had years ago, but this has been (and hopefully will continued to be) a good truck for me."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Needs a good amount of work.

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "One owner, all the repair information"

Cons: "Needs work on starter and induction system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"If I had a decent job and $1000 to spend i would fix the truck up and keep it since I bought it new. But since I am unemployed and have a second vehicle I need to sell. if i was mechanically inclined i would just fix the truck"

darn good truck

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle since it was new.I haven't had anything go wrong. it's amazing to me that my husband owns a different brand pick up and he has even had to get a new tranny! I would recommend this pick up to anyone. it's not a type-o...it does have 58,000 miles. Just change the oil every 3,000 miles and you're good to go. It's for sale now and that makes me sad.I hope the next owner appreciates it as much as i do."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Truck Ever!

By on Wednesday, March 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Best truck for the money"

Cons: "Really can't think of any.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is the best, great on gas, power, reliable, drives great. Love the fact you sit up higher than other small truck. Over all you can not go wrong. I would advise to get the extended cab. I have had both and the extended cab really makes the difference. I wish Ford had not stopped production, I would buy another one!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Bought New. Now have 197k on it.

By on Tuesday, March 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Dependable & Reliable."

Cons: "Seat broke and wont stay up. I have it propped."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2003 Ranger brand new and have put 197,000 miles on it and it still runs like new. Never had any major mechanical issues. One of the most reliable and dependable vehicles I have ever owned. I still can't believe they stopped production on such a solid vehice. As I approach 200k I am debating doing some repairs/maintenence such as new shocks (I still have the originals on it!), and it may need a tie rod and ball joints or getting a new vehicle, Tough decision as I believe this motor will go to 300k the way it starts and runs."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great all around work/pleasure vehicle, economicle

By on Saturday, March 01, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great mileage, good power, very durable, versatile"

Cons: "Room in cab is limited for longer trips."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This little truck with the 4.0 engine has all the power you need for anything within reason. It will travel at freeway speed all day long and with the 5 speed manual trans it gets very good gas mileage. (up to 24 mpg) I use it quite a bit to pull a10' X 5' steel trailer with a Can Am Commander loaded on it. The commander weighs about 1350# and the trailer a good 1000# and I pull it up and down mountain grades out in Arizona. The mileage is the biggest attraction with the other nice advantage being ease of parking and manueverability."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

More solid and better gas mileage than the import

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Solid, comfortable, pleasant to drive"

Cons: "fishtails on rough roads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this ten years ago as a rebuilt wreck, after having three small import pickups. This little Ranger feels more solid and gets better gas mileage. It has been a good little rig and now has 220,000 miles. The only complaint is that like all pickup trucks, the back end is squirrely on rough roads. This one is worse than usual. It has lots of power if you keep the revs high, otherwise it ifeels sluggish."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best compact truck on earth

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Economicness, wide range of power, towing power"

Cons: "2wd=no standard lsd= some low traction"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My parents bought me this truck for me 2 years ago for my birthday. It had 3686 miles on it. The previous owner drove it from his house to his semi and back. less than a mile each way. I now have just over 21000 miles. I noticed that my exuberant driving style rendered me about 16 mpg average. This past winter I put in a k&n high flow air filter in and slowed my driving down. I gained another 2-3 mpg average. This truck is now the best. The wide ranger of power in the mid-low rpm ranger is amazing. When the truck is in 5th gear, and you step on the throttle but never kick it into passing gear, the power just surges and 50-90 mph is dealt with in less than 1300 rpm and cruises at 90 mph at about 3000-3100 rpm. When you accelerate in the power band the full 207 hp puts you into your seat a little for the entire 1500 rpm power band. Its an amazing truck. Also I have towed a 12ft cargo trailer with a 1100 pound utv on it and I have no problem towing it up a 29 degree slope that is around our camp."

Garaged at home and seldom even wet

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,583

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"A showroom quality beauty- Black,extra chrome, 17 upscale wheels,floor mats,etc. 88 years and do not need. Brush only."

Pretty Good Small Truck

By on Wednesday, February 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I don't have many complaints about the truck besides the gas mileage - which I only seem to be averaging about 17-19 mpg city. For the price, I think next time I would look for a truck with a larger cab area and better mileage."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I purchased my 2003 FX4 4X4 Ranger brand new.

By on Monday, February 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Greatest truck I ever owned!"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck to date has been the best new truck I have ever purchased. I will never sell it. Ford has stopped making the Ranger. What a shame. This truck has been the most comfortable truck I have ever driven. The ride quality is second to none. As far as driving in four wheel drive in hazardous conditions it's like it's driving on bare pavement when there's actually snow and ice one the road. I have to take it out of four wheel drive to get it to slide around and have some fun. This is the first new truck I have paid off and kept because I love it that much. If you have a chance to buy one of these Rangers with low miles and from the original owner, you should buy it."

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I own 2 Rangers..1997 and 2004

By on Tuesday, February 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great dependability!"

Cons: "Ford discontinued. huge mistake"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 2004 Ranger Edge 4door Super Cab and it was worth every penny or dollar that i have spent on it. I bought it new and can say I made a great decision when buying it. Wish I owned other just like it. Very little issues with it..Had to replace the alternator at 200k and the fuel pump at 228k. Really wish Ford would bring the Ranger back. I am ready to purchase a new one."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

third one, they never die

By on Monday, February 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Getting bored with them since they hardly redesigned in 15 years but they are tough, decent mileage and tow and haul capacity is good.Interior is bland and i wouldn't trust an automatic transmission again."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not too bad of a truck.

By on Sunday, February 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Cons: Gas hog, the rear end is very light (that's a bad thing during Iowa winters), both windows freeze shut, the doors don't always latch when closing them."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome home use utility vehicle! I love my truck!

By on Thursday, January 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,432

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, durable, reliable, Very useful!"

Cons: "Would rather have the extended cab."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"For the average homeowner, The Ford Ranger is the perfect little household utility vehicle. I have hauled yard trash, appliances, and furniture with it. Why Ford quit making their best truck ever is beyond me."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Second Hand Workhorse

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 119,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Just enough comforts without being silly"

Cons: "Only minor problems - very few cons."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've seen so-called "trucks" these days that have more comfort features than my mother-in-law's Cadillac. This truck had just enough to keep you comfortable and it does what a truck is supposed to do: it gets the job done. I was originally looking for a manual transmission but the wife drives this vehicle occasionally and she convinced me to get the automatic. I don't regret it. It shifts well and runs reliably. The engine is bulletproof and the 7 foot bed has great cargo space. And, unlike the F-150, it's narrow enough to fit down my narrow driveway. Great truck if you're looking for a real workhorse and it gets about 18 MPG on the highway too."

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

very god veicle

By on Sunday, January 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "easy to drive"

Cons: "too light in the rear too much power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"very good truck. very handy good gas mileage"

Reliable and Inexpensive

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,750

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Everything so far especially reliabilty"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned the truck for a year and a half and I put 20,000 miles on it. The only repair I have had to make is the mode door actuator for the HVAC. Purchased the part for $40.00 and put it in myself as I am a technician. I drive 43 miles a day on the interstate to work and back and it doesn't skip a beat. I have the 4 cylinder with the 5 speed automatic and it does good on gas. I average about 27 highway. It hauls what I need it to and keeps up with traffic as well as any other small truck and it very comfortable like a car for the commute back and forth to work."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2002 Ranger

By on Friday, January 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Best compact truck I know of. I have own this truck from new and would love to run it until the wheels fall off!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 49 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Super Cab near Honolulu. See local deals