Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2002 Ford Ranger Super Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 1277 Ratings for the 2001 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 128 | Next

Very dependable, would buy a new one.

By on Friday, March 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Rear brakes require a lot of attention."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great vehicle, very dependable. If Ford still made them I would buy a new one. Instead I am updating this one, installing leather, replacing step bars and getting body nicks repaired. I have looked at the Toyota and Nissan trucks, too small to get in and out of."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very Nice Vehicle

By on Friday, January 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "4WD; Back Seat; Reliable; Looks Great; Fun."

Cons: "Low Gas Mileage; Basic Sound."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have owned this vehicle for less than a year as my vehicle to get to and from school. It has never broken down for the amount of miles on it and there are extreme cosmetic blemishes, just the ware and tare of 13 years of use. The only major issue is the low gas mileage, that is due to the oversize tires it came with. I can deal with that if that is the only problem!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Little workhorse.

By on Saturday, June 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good fuel economy, carry a decent load."

Cons: "Uncomfortable for trips over 200 miles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Reliable little truck; always starts in any weather. work on the farm or wash it and go to town; easy to maintain and easy to DIY - replace service items."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Why did Ford stop making these?

By on Thursday, December 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Small work horse with good mileage and comfort."

Cons: "No built in GPS."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned Rangers for years and always ran them into the 200 thousand plus miles. I bought this one specifically for pulling a travel trailer and is works wonderful. No problem pulling 3<000 lbs through the mountains, get approximately 14-15 mpg pulling it and in low 23-24 not pulling. Where can I find another when this one is done?"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable, easy to mod. Just a weak motor.

By on Wednesday, September 04, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,111

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "cheap, fun to drive, easy to mod, looks great,"

Cons: "weak motor, not good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Rides great, only had to change a pulley since ive got it almost 2 years ago. Very nice truck, very reliable, easy to mod and put your own taste on it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best mid-size truck ever!

By on Monday, August 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Tough, reliable, and powerful for a V6."

Cons: "VERY small, arm rests are easily breakable and MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I can honestly say that I have taken this truck to the underworld (forgive my terrible substitution) and back. I put it through some of Michigan's toughest terrains and this little truck seems to conquer them with ease! I would recommend this truck to anyone because it's practical for almost any job and can be quite fun to go off-roading in. If you're looking for a tough, AMERICAN, light-duty truck, this is it!(It is quite the little gas hog though!)I've driven it hard for 250,000 miles and all I've had to do is basic maintenance. I will never buy anything but a Ford after owning this 4X4 Ranger Edge."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Super Reliable Utility Truck

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Super slow depreciation"

Cons: "Wish it had more modern drive train"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Just large enough with enough power to perform weekend warrior tasks. Fits in parking spaces. Decent mileage at 17-18 MPG in 4.0 Litre Cologne V6."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Ranger

By on Friday, April 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "great work truck for its size"

Cons: "not a truck to take a road trip in."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Mutt Truck, two large dogs, one great little truck.

"Great truck for value, never a problem with mine, very hard working little truck, the seven foot bed makes a big difference when needing cargo space. Under powered, should have bought a 6cyl, mileage is good."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Mutt Truck, two large dogs, one great little truck.

Why did Ford stop making this truck?

By on Tuesday, January 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice truck, fun to drive"

Cons: "A few dents and dings on chrome bumper"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

Metalic gray

"This truck was purchased by my husband in 2004. He changed oil meticulously every 3000 miles. He loved it like his child. He passed away in December of Pancreatic Cancer. That is why I am selling it because he never would. He wanted to keep it for a lifetime. Nice looking vehicle with alot of power."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Metalic gray

My favorite vehicle of all

By on Thursday, October 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "beautiful vehicle, strong, reliable, value holding"

Cons: "pump brakes in Park when it has been raining"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Safety in winter is prime factor in northern Minnesota and I am 70 and a chicken driver. This 2001 Ranger XLT 4WD 6-cylindar keeps me safe at all times, and still gets 12 in town and 18 on the highway, but I don't travel a lot--what I do is move, it seems, and when I do this vehicle allows me to do it all myself. I keep my furniture simple and all belongings are in 33 full-sized trunks. It is a simple matter, really, to empty each, transport the trunks, follow with it contents in cloth carry-bags tied at the top and refill at destination, often a storage bin. In this manner my Ranger has given me freedom, as well as being strong and completely reliable. Only thing a little difficult is that at 70 I am shrinking a little each year, and getting into this medium-sized pickup is becoming more challenging, an energetic leg-up each time now. But I don't mind. I love this vehicle! Bought it for cash, sight unseen on Craigslist on the way back from Alaska and the seller turned out to be a second cousin, but my banker almost had a heart attack. I wanted a Ranger: this was the only one that week in my area--late 2009. Tonight I find out on Kelley's Blue Book that it has only lost $500 value in 4 years. A friend stands ready to buy it. In fact, 3 friends do. It's very handsome, as well! Best for me, it is simple. Not over-digitized. If you get one, pump the brakes in Park when you start out if it's been out in the rain. Otherwise, they are too sharp at first. Five quick pumps takes care of that. We were always a Chevy family, but I think even Dad would have allowed this particular Ford truck into the garage."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 128 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Super Cab near Honolulu. See local deals