Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Editors' Page: 2014 Pickup Trucks
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1999 Ford Ranger Super Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 702 Ratings for the 1998 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 71 | Next

Nice truck

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent battery & exaust system. Handles well."

Cons: "No tilt wheel or cruise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought my 2000 4x4 Ford Ranger XLT in 2001. It was new and a left over. It had 35 mi on it. I now have over 144,000 miles on it and it has the original exaust and battery. The truck started up with no problems this yr at 18 below zero. It has a 5 speed manual transmission.MPG before ethanol was 22/19 now it is 20/17.Engine is 3.0 V6 is not a power house but served my needs very well and I have hauled a lot in the pick up bed,firewood, shingles, gravel etc. I have had no major maintenence problems with this truck but I keep it very well manintained and clean. Still a sharp looking truck. I did rustproof it myself when it was new."

good truck

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good truck"

2000 ford ranger 4x4 xlt off road model excellent

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "every thing new has everything as far as options"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck 1 year ago since then I have invested over $21,000 new engine from ford 24,000 warranty left, new brakes, new wheel bearings all the way around, new hd shocks, rear ends rebuilt, new air conditioning,drivers seat rebuilt and recovered, new $1500 camper shell with $800 ladder rack. tinted windows, bed liner. nothing on this truck has not been gone through have receipts"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

GREAT

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage; sturdy truck"

Cons: "Small cab; not made for giants."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove this truck for 10 years and put 140,000 miles on it. Great truck. Never had any engine or transmission issues. The only thing I had to replace are typical things that wear out over many miles (tires, alternator, suspension, timing belt, etc.) Ford makes great trucks."

Truck needs work

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,366

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "great for hauling and has a lot of power"

Cons: "just needs repairs I listed in coments"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"passenger side rear brake line has leak ... needs 2 back tires...driver side rear has slow leak ... in process of getting new battery ... unsure of breaks depending how far you will have to travel ... Looks good burgundy body and matching full cab over bed ... may need tow and I could help with that cost ... great fixer upper / farm truck ... Make an offer"

most durable and reliable vehicle in its class

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "bulletproof reliability, easy to maintain"

Cons: "smaller inside than other mini pickups"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Ranger and they have both been totally bulletproof. Have 175,000 miles on this one. The 3.0 V6 is unbreakable and continues to run strong. The ONLY issue it has ever had is the notoriously weak factory radiator with the plastic end caps. This is the only major component that has ever been replaced. Everything else is original except wear items of course. They might be a bit rattly and smaller inside but if you want a totally dependable vehicle this is definitely one to consider."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best truck I've owned.

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A lot of truck for the money."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is so dependable I would recommend it highly."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

First On Race Day

By on Wednesday, January 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First On Race Day! Love my trophy ranger!"

Reliable, efficient, but not good in snow

By on Friday, December 27, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Winter driving conditions

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "Handling in winter driving conditions."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought this truck new off the lot in 97 and have enjoyed it ever since. It's small size makes it easy to drive in a large city but is also functional for hauling small loads. Sold the car due to handling on the snow and inability to carry 4 people."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

got me whare i wanted to go.

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "grate price, on burning of oil great in mud & snow"

Cons: "Had to make a few repairs but it has 24500 on it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It gets good fuel milage. worked very well puling a trailer. I had plenty of power. would by another if they still made them."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 71 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Super Cab near Honolulu. See local deals