Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

1999 Ford Ranger Super Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 740 Ratings for the 1998 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 148 | Next

Good all-around pickup

By on Wednesday, December 19, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have a 1998 supercab 4x4 in xlt trim, with the 3 liter v-6 and 5 speed manual. I bought it with 49,000 miles in april 03', it now has 89,000 miles. Here is what I've experienced: -Averages 20 mpg overall. -If you have 4x4, get the 4.0 for better torque, especially if you're towing. -The front ball joints wore out by 80K, there are no grease fittings on them either. -Replaced alternator around 80K. -Factory exhaust is still in good shape. -Be careful how you engage the automatic hubs, or you can wreck them. "Read the owner's manual." -Paint is still very glossy, not a speck of rust anywhere. Alloy rims are pitted from road salt though. Overall, this has been a very good, tough truck. If you're going to buy a ranger, make sure you get the one that fits your needs. Get a 4x4 for sure if you live in the snowbelt. Stay away from earlier rangers with twin I-beam suspensions. The older 2.8L and 2.9L had problems as well."

17 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great First Vehicle

By on Sunday, March 30, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This was my first vehicle and lasted me a good 5 years. We bought it used in '03 and it already had 76,000 miles on it. Other than having to replace the Air Conditioner once, we have had no major mechanical problems. There have been many times where we used this truck jump start or replace our primary vehicle when it had failed. This truck always came to our recue. PROS: *Dependable - Has never not started on the first try *Looks sharpe *Great little off-roader *Easy to drive around town CONS: *Fuel-Economy - I typically get 13mpg city *Passenger room - I fit just fine in the truck, but I can't haul more than one other person comfortably."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great bang for the buck!!

By on Saturday, March 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've had my truck for about 4 years now, bought it used with 100,000 on it. It has never let me down, just regular maintinence, and now with gas prices the way they are, its great that its the flex fuel model and I can run e85 in it. only 2.50 a gallon rather than 3.69 for regular! still getting 24miles per gallon!! with a 4x4 that isnt underpowered at all thats pretty dang good!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

my 4th ranger in a row

By on Tuesday, August 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great for outdoor sports support"

Cons: "really cheap carpet, windshields always crack"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"these are very useful vehicles overall. i can't believe ford is disc. them in the us. who will be the 1st co to bring a good small pickup to this mkt? That will probably be my next new vehicle."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

best little truck ever made

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i have a 1998 4.0 ranger 4x4 and have never had problems after 125000 miles of hard driving on it. this is a strong little truck,will take you almost anywhere off-road,very durable and dependable!! gas mileage isnt the greatest,but will sacrifice for being trouble free driving..i will continue to drive this truck untill it falls apart,which i believe will be at least another 100,000 miles. if you are debating on buying one of these trucks just stop and buy it, you wont go wrong!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 148 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Super Cab near Honolulu. See local deals