Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1998 Ford Ranger Super Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 723 Ratings for the 1998 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 73 | Next

If Ford still made Rangers, I'd buy again

By on Thursday, November 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "A reliable machine, ample cargo ability for DIYers"

Cons: "typical rear-wheel slipage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This machine has performed well over the past 16 years. It has given no significant problems that I could not fix myself. One irritant has been the windshield wiper control, which while it has mind of its own - I simply got used to it over time. Other than that it's performed admirably: the extended cab is a significant plus (cargo, tools, and extra passengers etc.) The upgraded upholstered seats make for comfortable long-distant driving"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

reliable

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Just did a complete tune up (2 wks ago) Replaced brake line today. Tires good. Reliable. Grandsons vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

The best vehicle I've had.

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,430

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "They're tough and go forever."

Cons: "I didn't really not like anything about it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The entire time I had this vehicle, it was a well diversified truck. It was decent on fuel and could do a lot of work. It was tough and didn't take damage too easy. The Ranger had a good ride and it handled well too in all the elements. I always felt safe in it. It also had pretty good ground clearance for a smaller truck."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

dependable,but gas milage not very good!

By on Wednesday, October 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 157,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "body style looks nice"

Cons: "gas milage low and power low"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"looks good,rides good ,very comfortable,but I think I licked my Nissan truck better"

I have owned this vehicle for 10 years. It's a

By on Thursday, October 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "affordable price, reliability"

Cons: "choppy ride, road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Solid performer and after nearly 150000 miles, had its first major repair (intake manifold gaskets)."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

great shape-never wrecked

By on Friday, September 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good looking, drives very well, great for small to medium jobs"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

appropriate sized pickup for commuting and jobs

By on Thursday, September 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very responsive acceleration, steering, and brakes"

Cons: "a bit too "cozy" for some passengers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ford seems to have the most durable of the small pickups, and incorporates the convenience features of an automobile. My mechanic likes Fords and I like small trucks because I haul stuff from time to time. He says parts are easier to change, and need less servicing. The engine stays in tune better and MPG stays consistently high without 'tinkering' or changing parts. Particularly nice is the rear doors because I carry an extra passenger sometimes, and I like to lock up my tools without sliding and flipping the seat every time. The guy who loads sand and gravel will give me full measure, but he won't in other small pickups because they FAIL with that much weight. I've pulled a concrete trailer with every kind of pickup, and the Ranger pulls and handles far better with that much weight."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Holds value

By on Wednesday, September 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Value has not halved in 12 years!"

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

SURPRISED BY THE YEARS OF QUALITY

By on Sunday, September 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "LOAD YOUR FUN EQUIPMENT AND DRIVE INTO THE SUNSET"

Cons: "NO POWER SEATS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"THIS VEHICLE HAS ENDURED THE ROADS IN MICHIGAN FOR ALMOST 17 YEARS. WE CALL OUR RANGER BIG BLUE, WE GET GOOD GAS MILEAGE, EXCELLENT FOR HAULING CARGO; A LITTLE LITE IN THE REAR ON ICY ROADS, BUT OVERALL AN EXCELLENT VEHICLE TO DRIVE. FAMILY AND FRIENDS LOVE IT, WE GET OFFERS FROM SOMEONE TO PURCHASE BIG BLUE ABOUT 5-6 TIMES A MONTH. IT RIDES SMOOTH, YOU CAN FORGET YOU'RE DRIVING A TRUCK"

Most reliable truck I've owned

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 231,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Runs strong since day one, minor problems and nothing constant or hard to fix."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 73 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Super Cab near Honolulu. See local deals