Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1998 Ford Ranger Super Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 706 Ratings for the 1998 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 142 | Next

Reliable Little Pick-Up

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, Small yet Mighty, Reliable"

Cons: "Bed Size, Rear Cab Room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just polished!

"Bought it used- 55K miles. Had for 6 years. Took it mudding once, ruined lots of things- Don't recommend that for daily driver. Once all repairs were done, she treated me well. Only reason I'm ridding of it, is because it's time for a big boy- the F-150 FX4. Would recommend as a first vehicle or for a nice little utility truck. Living in Ohio, the 4x4 on the fly was nice- never failed me."

Just polished!

best vehicle I ever owned

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "excellent general quality and driveablilty"

Cons: "poor traction going up hill in ice and snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought it new in 2000 for cash. Compared to the toyota I had previously this is a cadillac. It drives better, is build better, and it handles better. The only problem is driving in snow and ice for which you must have newer tires, and even then its traction is terrible in icy conditions driving up hills. I suggest installing heavier springs as soon as they begin to wear, which they will if you carry heavy loads. Otherwise, with max 1,000 lb load, it drives well, especially on the highway."

4 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Saved my life

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: It was bent in half by a semi truck

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Saved my life"

Cons: "hard to find in good shape"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I owed this truck for years. It rarely had issues and the ones it had were normal wear and tear for a heavily used vehicle. I would still be driving this truck today if I hadn't been rear ended by a semi truck. This ford pick up saved my life! If any of the safety features had failed or if the truck had not been as well made as it was I would have been pancaked. The truck didn't make it as it more closely resembled the letter V after the accident than it did an automobile, but it did it job and more."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

love it

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love to drive it - fast and steady"

Cons: "kinda high ( 16 inch tires) so no abrupt manuvers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this truck for 11 years and am as happy with it today as I was the day I bought it. Plenty of power , easy to handle ,great look too . Only drawback is you cannot do abrupt turns at high speed ."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Nice truck

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent battery & exaust system. Handles well."

Cons: "No tilt wheel or cruise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought my 2000 4x4 Ford Ranger XLT in 2001. It was new and a left over. It had 35 mi on it. I now have over 144,000 miles on it and it has the original exaust and battery. The truck started up with no problems this yr at 18 below zero. It has a 5 speed manual transmission.MPG before ethanol was 22/19 now it is 20/17.Engine is 3.0 V6 is not a power house but served my needs very well and I have hauled a lot in the pick up bed,firewood, shingles, gravel etc. I have had no major maintenence problems with this truck but I keep it very well manintained and clean. Still a sharp looking truck. I did rustproof it myself when it was new."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 142 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Super Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details