Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1996 Ford Ranger Super Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 617 Ratings for the 1993 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

This is a good reliable vehicle

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "Reliable--hauls a good load--every thing works"

Cons: "No cup holders--no leather seats--no power windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"This truck has a new airconditioner, a fairly young battery, a new brake master cylinder. the complete brake system was reworked about one year ago. The engine uses less than one quart in 30 days. It is an old friend."

I love this truck!

By on Wednesday, July 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome for camping and fishing."

Cons: "It's an older car so it has some quirks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I always wanted a Ranger, Splash edition with the bigger engine and side-step bed. So, while stationed in the USA for a year, I bought one. I love it so much. Off to Guam in September and I really don't want to sell it. But storage being such a hassle, I guess I must. I hope I find her a good home."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

no rust good paint few schratches and small dings

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"new trans"

good, reliable small pick up.

By on Sunday, July 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"just as reliable as a Toyota sr226"

For Sale 1995 Ford Ranger XLT V-6

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Body in good shape and recently painted"

Cons: "Head gasket and main seals will need replacing."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Vehicle purchased new by my Father-In-Law. Has approximately 210k miles (odometer broken. Body in good condition. Painted (1/2011.; new shocks; new brakes. Local mechanic advises Head gasket and main seal are leaking. Would recommend to a friend that has time and ability to work on head gasket and main seal"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

best value for the price

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "$1500 r best offer"

Cons: "cup holders front and back"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"truck has been very reliable all these years, it has taken me back an forth to work about 65 miles back and fork, an go many miles almost on empty, just needs some TLC. I would keep it but have two other vehicles.Asking $1500 obo"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

very good condition

By on Wednesday, April 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"well taken care of by one owner"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

ford trucks are great

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"if I had to buy another truck it would be a ford"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Great little truck, good mileage, and neat looking

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have had the truck over a year. Bought it with 145000 miles on it. So far, I have replaced the water pump and timing belt, both original. The overall fuel mileage varies from 18.5 to 21.5 mpg. Most of the driving is in "town" for short distances. On the interstate at 70mph, I got around 27mpg.The cab is small, making a big grocery or shopping expidition out of the question. A tonneau cover would greatly enhance the usability of the truck. I would recommend the truck to anyone."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One of a kind

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Cons: "Gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very very very reliabie"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle!

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,790

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, fun to drive"

Cons: "Too small & crowded if you have grandchildren!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a very dependable truck! I have not had any mechanical issues with it, at all! I bought it from my dad & have been driving it for 2+ yrs & it still runs great!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good all-around vehicle

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value, fun to drive, very reliable"

Cons: "Definitely a 2-person vehicle,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owned this truck for 9 years. Bought with 100,000 mi, now has 190,000. Drives great, good noise level for a truck of its day, excellent ride and handling - especially considering its a 4x4. Comfortable, simple straightforward instruments and controls, all clearly labeled. Supercab provides plenty of storage space. Factory automatic front hubs were unreliable, switched to manual. Plenty of power with the 4.0 V-6, but it does like its gas, then again the truck weighs in at a little over 4,000 lb. This one was Ziebarted when new, has no rust. Oil changes are on Mobil 1 10W30 extended drain @ 15,000 mi intervals, only uses 1 quart between changes. Repairs are on par or a little better than average for a vehicle of this age and mileage. We just went through several days of -14°F at night, high of 0° F days, starts right up. In hot weather the 94 and earlier 4.0's had a fuel vaporizing (like vapor lock), runs rough on a hot start in the summer, smooths out quickly. All in all one of the best vehicles I have owned in my 40 some years over ownerships. Has Century cap, one of the better brands, would also recommend that brand."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck I ever owned

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Runs great . Body & frame in good shape"

Cons: "AC doesn"t work but all else does."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is actually a 1993 but 94 is as low as blue book goes. I've had this truck for 12 years and it's been the best truck I've ever owned. Never once broke down on the road. I've loved this truck but it's time to move on. I'm going to miss her. I'ld like to get $2500.00 for her to go toward a down payment."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

wish I had it back...

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: bought new vehicle, didn't need 3

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great looks, great handling,dependable and fun."

Cons: "a little small, not much storage behind seat."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I loved the styling (changed starting this year and stayed basically the same for 18 years). Was very reliable and dependable. Didn't have to replace front brakes till over 90000 miles, rear brakes around 125000 miles. Regular maint. schedule (oil change every 5000 miles)(rotate and balance tires 7500-10000 miles). Only problem was with factory heater hoses (defective design where hose size decreased from 3/4"[radiator side] to 1/2"[heater side], After about a year of use they would leak at this reduction area). I had two replaced under warranty and carried a spare with me."

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

This is a great truck.It gets really good gas mi.

By on Sunday, December 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,111

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "lots of fun and a great work horse"

Cons: "I'm going to miss it,need lft.ankle surgery,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this w/only52,000 mi.I've done regular maintenance.I just put new tires on."

1997 ford ranger.

By on Tuesday, November 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great for small jobs, good mpg"

Cons: "maintance a must . Needs more storage in cab."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love my truck! It was my fathers before me. He loved it and put a lot of hard miles on "Besty" . She needs a transmission job and basic maintenance , after over 250,000 miles . L.O.L. The odometer and gas gages stopped working in 2009 at 253,000 miles. A lot of a lot of tender miles ago. I will get her to a car Doctor . fix her up and keep her . I just wanted to say... Thank you Daddy !"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

i love my ranger

By on Friday, November 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "fun to drive, good on gas, cheap"

Cons: "small inside and out, not a friend of heavy snow"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

just got new tires and rims! had mustang rims/tires

"my first truck was my 2.3l 5speed manual 97 ford ranger. my grandpa got it for me i asked for a f150 but he told me "trust me boy you will thank me later" and yea i did. i now have a 79 f150 custom, 02 dodge durango,and of course my ranger. out of the three the ranger has been the most reliable and the most fun. i can put twenty bucks in the tank and drive to work and back all week plus i drive all over during the week just driving having fun. of course the truck had no get up and go being such a small motor but i started putting things like a $450 cold air intake and a aftermarket exhaust. i have found stock they are very reliable trucks not very stylish or comfortable but are easy to modify and very easy to work on, i have never had to take mine into the shop. great trucks!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

just got new tires and rims! had mustang rims/tires

Ford is a great truck

By on Thursday, September 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned in my 53 years all three, Chevy blazer, Toyota 4 runner, and now Ford Ranger XLT with a bit of miles on it, and the Chevy blazer also had a bit of miles on it, the Toyota gave up the engine at 149000, so after driven and owning these SUVS my choice would be a Ford truck. Hands down. I am very pleased and happy with a Ford truck product. It's a great truck. Keep it up Ford."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

took me EVERYWHERE

By on Tuesday, September 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 309,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "prime ride for an active couple"

Cons: "rides and drives like a truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 1990 Ranger is the greatest rig I've ever owned. always started, stopped, and never left me broke down on the road. It took me everywhere I wanted to go for 18 yrs. Im looking for a newer one! it did ride and drive like a truck though."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

The little truck that could!! It just keeps going.

By on Saturday, September 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, safe, comfortable, cute :0)"

Cons: "have not experienced any"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my Ranger. It is a 95' and I have had it for 10 years (one previous owner). I have not had any issues with this vehicle. I always follow the scheduled maintenance and oil changes and have not had a problem. Thats amazing, this truck is just about 19 years old! I can afford a new car but will not give up my little truck, its so perfect. Not many people will say that about their 19 year old vehicle. Its reliable, fun, comfortable and looks good. I cant say enough good things about it! I will be very sad the day I have to drive something else."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great reliable truck..

By on Saturday, August 31, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, 8 foot bed, low-cost maintenance, rel"

Cons: "poor cup holders, lack of room (small cab)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I've owned this since new and it has been a super light duty truck. I've had no major problems with this vehicle except normal maintenance you would do on a routine basis anyway. In 188k miles I've replaced the timing belt twice, the water pump, the thermostat,and the clutch once! The 2.3 five speed is adequate, however when the AC is on , the engine lacks power. I also tow a small trailer from time to time and it pulls fine. Overall I really love this truck and would buy another one any day of the week."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

good dependable truck lots of new parts.

By on Monday, August 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "needs a little tlc,but great truck,even great gas"

Cons: "needs a couple of dash lights,only one works."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"News shocks and brakes,wheel cylinders,brake springs,rear seals,new all four brake lines and fittings,new starter(3-yrs ago) new tires, 8-14 inspection."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Great value for a small truck

By on Thursday, August 08, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive, not impossible to find parking"

Cons: "can't maintain speed on steep hills"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my truck used from a friend. It was about 6 years old and looked brand new. It handles turns really well, gets decent gas mileage, and is overall fun to drive. The bumpers are steel, so you don't have to worry about careless parallel parking happening around it. The bed is big enough to move quite a bit of furniture if packed well. The only negative about this truck is that the 2.3L engine loses steam on hills (even with only a driver in it) and often requires downshifting to stay just below the speed limit."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love this truck

By on Thursday, June 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "cheap to fix"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this truck with 119000 miles on it. and i have has no problem with it. when the fan belt assembly went out the engine still ran and it could still drive. i would recommend this truck to anyone i know"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

awsom truck

By on Wednesday, June 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "drives great fun to drive"

Cons: "gas milage noy so good with lift & tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have done a lot to this truck to much to list"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Super Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details