Advertisement

Why ads?
Go

2005 Ford Ranger Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 1283 Ratings for the 2001 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 129 | Next

Why did Ford stop making these?

By on Thursday, December 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Small work horse with good mileage and comfort."

Cons: "No built in GPS."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned Rangers for years and always ran them into the 200 thousand plus miles. I bought this one specifically for pulling a travel trailer and is works wonderful. No problem pulling 3<000 lbs through the mountains, get approximately 14-15 mpg pulling it and in low 23-24 not pulling. Where can I find another when this one is done?"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

My husband's pride and joy!

By on Sunday, January 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "awesome truck!"

Cons: "A few dents and dings on chrome bumper"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My husband recently passed away suddenly from Pancreatic Cancer....I will miss him and his truck that he loved like one of his children."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Wish I could keep my Ranger

By on Saturday, September 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 99,375

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "roomy & comfy, beautiful & classicl, hauling stuff"

Cons: "turning radius, 2-wheel drive traction on snow/ice"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased used in 2005, my Ranger is about to turn over to 100k. I have the opportunity to get my Mother's car with only 35k, and even though I have to fold myself up to enter it (2008 Chevy Cobalt) I think that's the way I will have to go. But if I could afford to have my druthers, I would keep my Ranger, fix the minor body work, replace whatever needed replacing and keep it forever, I would. In spite of the rear wheel drive on snow issues, I always got around much better than people I know with little cars because of the Ranger's higher clearance; I just took it slow and easy and kept sand bags in a frame in the bed. I wish I wish I could keep it. In spite of the lousy turning radius. In spite of the AC currently not working -- probably just needs Freon, because I rarely used it anyway. Still, it's a beautiful vehicle, roomy --I'm 5'10" 165 and even when I was 90 pounds heavier it was roomy-- lined truck bed, Nice chrome not plastic fenders, beautiful rims. Sigh. I really, really don't want to sell."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great smal truck. Payload is super.

By on Saturday, June 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "No problems for 130,000 miles"

Cons: "rear end whine, though never got worse"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great truck, though has had rear whine since new, never got worse 25 MPG handles great. Rear access behind seats (extended cab) is difficult. Payload is great, 1700 lbs, no problem at all. Put air shocks and premium brakes on it, run synthetic for all moving parts. Uses no oil. Wish I had 2 of them!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My Chief Means of Transportation

By on Friday, March 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It is still dependable."

Cons: "Needs some mechanical work as well as cosmetic."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Was bought used in 2004 with 42,000 miles on it. Just now has some mechanical problems. My main problem is front oil gasket and oil pan gasket repairs, naturally needs new tires, but other than this it gets me where I need to go. It is not pretty now, but fixable. I cannot complain for an old gal."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this Truck. . . may I please have another

By on Monday, December 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my first truck and it couldn't have been a better vehicle for me. Sure it has it's issues like needing tires frequently and moderately noisy on the highway but I couldn't have asked for a better truck to drive, work on, and rely on for the last 5 years. I've had issues with brakes but that is probably my own fault and the tires maybe a little as well. I put 100k miles on it and loved it. If you are looking for a truck for your son this is it. Especially if he enjoys doing his own work on it. (ie. brakes, oil, alternator, etc.)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very reliable, heavy duty

By on Wednesday, December 05, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 168,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Good for off roading"

Cons: "Uncomfortable poor quality seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought the Ranger 4x4 new, knowing that I would have to use it for work and would take it off-road often. With that in mind, I only expected to keep it around 5 years. However, 11.5 years later it still runs great and I haven't had sufficient justification to sell it yet. The truck has required very little repair beyond general maintenance."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

affordable truck for light use dependable relaible

By on Tuesday, November 06, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "price reliability ease of upkeep"

Cons: "bare bones features, performance, ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"these trucks are hard to beat the motors are reliable as well as solid bodies although there pretty bare bones as far as features the quality of parts they use are very good 260k miles and it still runs near to new im not a mechanic by any means but i replaced my clutch and manual transmission by myself with basic tools and a $75.00 transmission jack in under 8 hrs for $400.00 parts are plentiful and pretty cheap for these trucks"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Truck

By on Monday, April 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,389

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great price! Low mileage"

Cons: "n/a"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's a very reliable"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable little truck

By on Thursday, April 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Reliability"

Cons: "Comfort, noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this truck for about 3 years and have no issues with it. Very reliable little truck. I do wish I had purchased the extended cab because there is very little room in the cab."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 129 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals