Go

2004 Ford Ranger Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 1324 Ratings for the 2001 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next

running strong..........still

By on Sunday, February 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "runns great"

Cons: "wind noise around doors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"new fuel pump $650 after 135000 miles still going strong.... super chip programmer, gibson exhaust stage 2, air raid intake, truck is strong on performance mode, gets 18.6 avg on mixed driving on ex-stream fuel economy mode has done over 22 mpg on hwy trips"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great all around work/pleasure vehicle, economicle

By on Saturday, March 1, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great mileage, good power, very durable, versatile"

Cons: "Room in cab is limited for longer trips."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This little truck with the 4.0 engine has all the power you need for anything within reason. It will travel at freeway speed all day long and with the 5 speed manual trans it gets very good gas mileage. (up to 24 mpg) I use it quite a bit to pull a10' X 5' steel trailer with a Can Am Commander loaded on it. The commander weighs about 1350# and the trailer a good 1000# and I pull it up and down mountain grades out in Arizona. The mileage is the biggest attraction with the other nice advantage being ease of parking and manueverability."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

More solid and better gas mileage than the import

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Solid, comfortable, pleasant to drive"

Cons: "fishtails on rough roads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this ten years ago as a rebuilt wreck, after having three small import pickups. This little Ranger feels more solid and gets better gas mileage. It has been a good little rig and now has 220,000 miles. The only complaint is that like all pickup trucks, the back end is squirrely on rough roads. This one is worse than usual. It has lots of power if you keep the revs high, otherwise it ifeels sluggish."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

third one, they never die

By on Monday, February 3, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Getting bored with them since they hardly redesigned in 15 years but they are tough, decent mileage and tow and haul capacity is good.Interior is bland and i wouldn't trust an automatic transmission again."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Reliable and Inexpensive

By on Saturday, January 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,750

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Everything so far especially reliabilty"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned the truck for a year and a half and I put 20,000 miles on it. The only repair I have had to make is the mode door actuator for the HVAC. Purchased the part for $40.00 and put it in myself as I am a technician. I drive 43 miles a day on the interstate to work and back and it doesn't skip a beat. I have the 4 cylinder with the 5 speed automatic and it does good on gas. I average about 27 highway. It hauls what I need it to and keeps up with traffic as well as any other small truck and it very comfortable like a car for the commute back and forth to work."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable and safe transportation

By on Tuesday, December 3, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this vehicle since 2001 and have had very few mechanical problems. It has never failed an emissions test and the A/C has always operated well. It has been a safe and reliable means of transportation. It turned out being a bit small but it provided good (22-24 mpg)mileage over the life of this vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent practical truck

By on Saturday, November 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Excellent Fuel Mileage, fun to drive, attractive"

Cons: "They don't make them any more!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent fuel economy, wonderful performance,brakes and tires lasted over 100,000 miles. Only a few small maintenance issues. Wish they still made them!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My First Car

By on Saturday, November 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good gas milage, good size, easy and nice to drive"

Cons: "A little cramped inside"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a used stick-shift 2003 Ford Ranger as my first car. I absolutely loved it. It did break down once after a 400 mile trip due to a small problem in the engine, but it was easily fixed, and that was the only problem I had with it. It had great gas milage, decent power, and handeled very well. I'm writing in past tense because while I was driving back from college, I hit black ice on a bridge and rolled it into the ditch. I was not hurt at all, but the truck was very, very totaled. It saved my life and I was very sad to see it go. I would buy it again."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

No problems in 3 years.

By on Monday, September 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good sized truck for me."

Cons: "Doesn't have power windows and locks."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I purchased the truck used over 3 years ago and it has been a very good truck. I replaced the windshield wipers, tires, and battery. There have been no problems and the truck is in very good condition. It has no body damage."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great small truck

By on Tuesday, August 6, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, comfort, dashboard, fun to drive, durabil"

Cons: "gas mileage, some black inside cab"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2004 Ford Ranger in 2013 looks brand new! Very good looking truck.

"This truck is over 9 years old, and still gets mistaken for a much newer vehicle! Paint, chrome, and even the headlight lenses look new. It has never been in a garage, but out in the sun. I have kept it washed and waxed. Only thing I don't like is the black substance on the chrome step bar. It looks faded as it does on all vehicles. Mechanically, this truck is awesome. It doesn't burn any oil, and everything works like it's supposed to. I have had a few expected things wear out and fixed. I don't like having a vehicle with so many miles, but I think I can get at lease another 100,000 miles from it with no problem."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2004 Ford Ranger in 2013 looks brand new! Very good looking truck.

lowest price and lowest cost of maintenance

By on Monday, August 5, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"More than 200,000 miles with ordinary maintenance and wear and tear replacement. Least expensive vehicle I have ever bought and maintained and the lowest price I ever paid for a new vehicle. About to make it my second vehicle cause I need a truck and I know this one's history,"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

one of the best trucks ever made.

By on Friday, August 2, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "the very best you can buy"

Cons: "price is a little bit on the high side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have owned a lot more cars and trucks of all makes and models than most people.used to buy sell and trade all the time plus run a small car lot for awhile.the ford f-150 and ranger are by far the very best.the one i have now has 181,000 miles on it and still drives like new gets in high 20's m.p.g never need to add oil between changes.has no rust and i live in the mountains of nc where a lot of salt is used.but best of all it is american owned.some people say there truck was built in U.S.A and it might be but where do you think the money goes to.thank you MR.FORD for still making the best cars and trucks on the road for over 100 years."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

love it very dependable

By on Monday, July 29, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy to drive especially on long trips"

Cons: "no cons for me to speak of never had problems"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this truck for almost 6 yrs now. I have had no major problems with it other than normal stuff like tires,and such. Mine has a 3.0 which is plenty of get up and go especially for freeway driving."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

LOVE MY RANGER!!!

By on Tuesday, July 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great truck, awesome styling, roomy"

Cons: "Bad fuel mileage, choppy ride"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My baby

"My wife bought me this 2005 Ranger to replace my 1987 Ranger with over 500,000 miles on it. I LOVE it!!! The styling is awesome, the color is beautiful and the 4 doors are so handy!! She bought it used from CarMax and it already had the bedliner and hard bedcap on it, which was a huge plus!! The only drawbacks we've found to this truck are the ride is a little choppy, kind of like a small car, and the fuel mileage isn't very good-even with a V-6 (our 2002 Grand Marquis gets better mileage!!). I thought it would ride a little more car-like, but overall I am VERY pleased with this truck and I plan on keeping it until it lays down and dies!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My baby

Easy to drive, excellent steering and handling

By on Thursday, July 4, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 322,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Drives like a dream can drive with comfort smooth riding, also sticks to the road amazingly, can go from 0-60 in a matter of seconds (I am talking like 4 seconds)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good value for the money, 3.0L anemic, cheap paint

By on Tuesday, May 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable mechanics, comfy seat, easy in traffic"

Cons: "Cheap paint, seat mechanism/CD broke"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My 2nd Ranger has proven reliable as the 1st although not very powerful w/the 3.0L 6 cylinder. The 2004 2WD Edge Supercab suits my needs for light hauling and no off road antics. Problem areas after 78K miles and 6 years of ownership include CD player failure, failure of the seat-back tilt mechanism, and also a noticeably cheap paint job. Overall I am pleased with it and plan on keeping it a long time."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Smaller sized truck you will ever find!

By on Friday, April 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 124,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very reliable!"

Cons: "Nothing at all"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2001 Ford Ranger has been through alot in the past years, and it has never ever let me down one bit. reliable, comfortable, and priced right for a very good truck. Ford is #1!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good vehicle

By on Saturday, December 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"good mechanic quality"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

has been an excellent purchase

By on Thursday, August 9, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great truck no trouble ever and looks great"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One great little pickup

By on Monday, August 6, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "just plain a tough truck to beat for the money"

Cons: "The brakes seem to be a littl;e on the small side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Have owned 5 Ford Rangers and drove the daylights out of them.Have had the 4 cyl,and the 3.0 V6 and all of them 2 wheel drive with locking rear axle.This is the first with the 4.0 engine and I love it. Really goes down the road.Ninety percent of my driving is high speed highway(55-70) and my MPG is still up around 26 with about 400 lb payload of tools and such.I take care of my trucks,oil change at 4K always.I always put KD air cleaners on them,really helps with the MPG.I put 150-175 K on all my trucks before trading and dealers swear I have only 20K.This is the very best Ranger I have owned.Ford has screwed up big time by shutting down this truck.There is diffently a market"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very impressive truck.

By on Thursday, February 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, price"

Cons: "The storage behind driver is hard to get to."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck two years. The absolute only complaint I have is the cab is a little cramped for a person my size. It is a bit difficult to get to the area behind the seats. Gas mileage is great. It is reliable and have had no problems with it what so ever. Love and and would recommend it to anyone."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great little truck

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My Ranger has been a very reliable and efficient little truck. With the 2.4L 4 Cyl it's actually quite able to haul and VERY good on gas. I generally get the advertised 26 mpg highway. If you want a reliable little truck that never lets you down, make it a Ford Ranger!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Does everything I ask of it

By on Wednesday, February 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "It does have a blind spot to the right side"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I bought this truck to tow a double snowmobile trailer and am very happy with it. It has good power for a 6 cylinder and the 4wd works flawlessly. I have never gotten stuck with it, even pulling a loaded trailer on an unplowed road with a foot of snow."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great value for the money!

By on Sunday, February 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "24 MPG city!"

Cons: "Can't think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For the 15K I paid for it new, it's worth every penny and more. Excellent utility truck for the family at a great price. Has the two jump seats so my whole family can take short trips together!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

love it!

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability, fuel economy, payload capacity"

Cons: "rough ride, small cab"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck! Its one of the best vehicles ive ever owned. I bought it when it had 80000 mi on it. It now has 208000! The only problem ive had has been plastic in the engine bay. Interior and exterior has held up well. Its hauled whatever fits in the bed no problem, which is surprising givin the 2.3l 4 cyl engine with manual transmission. The fuel economy is also quite surprising at 24 country driving and 28 hwy although i have seen one tank at 34 mpg which was mountain driving no interstate. Overall its a truck I love that has a permanant place in my driveway!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement