Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • Kelley Blue Book Best Buys of 2015: Pickup Truck
Go

2001 Ford Ranger Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 1270 Ratings for the 2001 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 127 | Next

By on Sunday, April 12, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun"

Cons: "Ford discontinued this model ...why is mystery"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable and fun to drive. Lots of power...mileage ok. No major problems at all. Ford should still make a small fun truck like this. Ayah"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

This is a very reliable and great on gas truck.

By on Wednesday, April 01, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"You can't go wrong with owning this truck."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Only minimal carpet wear under pedals

By on Saturday, March 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "like new"

Cons: "18 to 20 mpg highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"easy driven pickup. No towing or off roading."

Good Ranger

By on Thursday, March 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 162,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "reliable truck"

Cons: "door and tailgate handles are worthless"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I've been very pleased with the reliability of the Ranger. No real mechanical issues. The normal replacement of belts, oil, etc that goes with owning a car or truck. Only complaint is that they placed plastic handles on the doors and tailgate of a truck. Really!!? It's a truck, not some kid's toy. I've had to replace 2 handles on the tailgate and would be more, but it cost $200 every time to go in and have it done. I'm too cheap to keep replacing it. Otherwise, I'm very pleased with it. I plan on running till the wheels fall off."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I DRIVE THIS TRUCK ON WEEKENDS IN THE SUMMER.

By on Monday, March 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "22 MPG. GREAT TRUCK TO DRIVE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"MY TRUCK SITS IN THE GARAGE FROM SEPT UNTIL APRIL. HAS NEVER BEEN ON SNOW OR ICE.OIL CHANGED EVERY 3 TO 5 THOUSAND MILES.EVERYTHING ORIGINAL EXCEPT THE BATTERY."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

VERY DEPENDABLE TRUCK!

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a great little truck! I have had to do very little to keep this truck running great, mostly just routine maintenance. Although it is not the roomiest and most comfortable vehicle I have ever owned, it is definitely the most dependable and the one needing the least repairs of any that I have owned in the past 40 years!"

4 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Amazing Truck. Especially Considering the Mileage

By on Monday, March 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 278,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Hardworking, and good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have an 2008 Ford Ranger and it has a large number of miles on the engine. I haven't done any engine work to it and it still runs great. Most of the miles are highway miles but still anything over 150k is pretty amazing. I love this truck and will most likely stay with the Rangers after this one bites the dust."

7 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Very good small truck, with great reliability

By on Monday, March 16, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This was a replacement for another small truck that had an engine that failed. The reliability has been excellent. The gas mileage is fair but this is a truck. The finish has been very durable and still looks new. Yes this is a 4 door but only very small people could fit in the rear. But having the rear door is very handy when shopping. The engine has more than adequate power. This has just been a very good truck"

4 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Reliable and Rugged Vehicle for work and commuting

By on Sunday, March 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great Price, Reliable, Rugged, Tough"

Cons: "Rocker panels rust out."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Towing

"I purchased the 2001 Ford Ranger XLT 4X4 4.0 V6 in 2012 with 97,000 miles. The truck was and is still in good condition. It presently has 140,000 miles on it. Since the purchase, I have had to make minor repairs such as break replacement (rear drum and front disc), fuel tank line(rust), and front differential (replaced with used) at 140,000. The truck is reliable, relatively good on gas for a 4.0. It gets about 20 mpg highway. I am generally satisfied with the vehicle and can rely on it for towing, off-roading, and commuting to work daily. Would recommend to any looking for a good deal on a reliable truck."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Towing

amazing truck

By on Saturday, February 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, dependable, peppy"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this truck for 4 years it is the best truck I have ever owned I love everything about it. for a truck it gets decent gas mileage does everything I need it to do and hasn't really ever let me down. I wish they would have never stopped producing rangers"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 127 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals