Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1999 Ford Ranger Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.1
Out of 10

Based on 712 Ratings for the 1998 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next

great vehicle

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "VERY reliable"

Cons: "headlights don't turn on & off with the engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"as far as I am concerned this vehicle is one of THE best fords EVER made. I only buy fords. over the years I have owned Windstar& Taurus. Keep them for a long time."

fine truck

By on Friday, August 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 166,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "easy to work on"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Its a FORD its a truck a fine truck it is ! Get yourself Ranger before they are gone. They don't make them anymore but here are many out there that needs some tender loving care. They are easy to work on under the shade tree and the parts are not expensive. So lets get together and save some of these fine Trucks. I have two now and looking for my third."

clean truck with good maintenance records

By on Saturday, August 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 193,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Shocks, Alignment, cams, rplc ball joint $880 rplc cam shaft synchronizer, rplc coil and plugs $860 rplc oxygen sensor $150 rplc intake manifold gaskets/plenum $685 new seat covers $200 rplc fuel pressure regulator, clean mas air sensor $200"

Bought from second owner

By on Sunday, July 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,137

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "ugly 90s style grey interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I like ford rangers. Im a huge ford fan, I really like the old ones. My grandpa has a 94 and its still running and its in good shape. it now has 200k. the v6 3.0 is a very very good engine. His truck has no rust because for galvanized the bodies on rangers until the early 2000s. I realized after I bought it that the owner didnt take care of it and my girlfriend told me after that she actually knows the last owner It has lots of dents and scratches and he towed a 25' boat which I found out after and also its now obvious why the tailgate is dented and the bumper is bent from jackknifing the trailer and the hitch coming off the ball. My truck is just starting to rust. I wish I didn't buy the truck because ive spent about $600 fixing it after I got ripped off by the last owner. It needs the front brakes and rotors, wheel bearings, all 4 tires, and ive done the rear breaks and e brake and undercoated the frame. my friend checked out the truck and he said the engine is mint but the trans is slipping and said not to carry anything heavy. I didnt notice these problems when i bought it. he only told me the ball joints were bad and I fixed them. I would buy another ranger but from a dealer."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A+ for reliability & versatility!

By on Wednesday, July 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great versatility! Hauled 48 40gal coolers"

Cons: "Weak bumbers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Pleased with tasks this p/u could perform. AC/Radio controls were easy to access. Take care of this vehicle & it will take care of you!"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

1998 Ford Ranger V6 3.0L XLT Super Cab 2WD

By on Monday, July 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 141,688

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Never had any problems with it."

Cons: "Has minor body damage, just needs a touch up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"It's my first truck, honestly I'm looking for something bigger, but it is an amazing truck, it has normal wear and tear you see on older high mileage trucks, the bed is in good shape other than the scratches it has from the years it was used, it doesn't need much maintenance, it runs very well, has great gas mileage, it never has given me any problems, other than trying to get the oil filter, because of it's awkward position, if i could afford a larger truck without having to sell this one I would keep it, but unfortunately i need a larger truck, because of my job, but this one can haul a lot for a small 2WD truck."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable Little Pick-Up

By on Friday, July 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, Small yet Mighty, Reliable"

Cons: "Bed Size, Rear Cab Room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Just polished!

"Bought it used- 55K miles. Had for 6 years. Took it mudding once, ruined lots of things- Don't recommend that for daily driver. Once all repairs were done, she treated me well. Only reason I'm ridding of it, is because it's time for a big boy- the F-150 FX4. Would recommend as a first vehicle or for a nice little utility truck. Living in Ohio, the 4x4 on the fly was nice- never failed me."

Just polished!

best vehicle I ever owned

By on Monday, June 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "excellent general quality and driveablilty"

Cons: "poor traction going up hill in ice and snow."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought it new in 2000 for cash. Compared to the toyota I had previously this is a cadillac. It drives better, is build better, and it handles better. The only problem is driving in snow and ice for which you must have newer tires, and even then its traction is terrible in icy conditions driving up hills. I suggest installing heavier springs as soon as they begin to wear, which they will if you carry heavy loads. Otherwise, with max 1,000 lb load, it drives well, especially on the highway."

4 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Saved my life

By on Tuesday, May 27, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: It was bent in half by a semi truck

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Saved my life"

Cons: "hard to find in good shape"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I owed this truck for years. It rarely had issues and the ones it had were normal wear and tear for a heavily used vehicle. I would still be driving this truck today if I hadn't been rear ended by a semi truck. This ford pick up saved my life! If any of the safety features had failed or if the truck had not been as well made as it was I would have been pancaked. The truck didn't make it as it more closely resembled the letter V after the accident than it did an automobile, but it did it job and more."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love it

By on Saturday, April 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "love to drive it - fast and steady"

Cons: "kinda high ( 16 inch tires) so no abrupt manuvers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this truck for 11 years and am as happy with it today as I was the day I bought it. Plenty of power , easy to handle ,great look too . Only drawback is you cannot do abrupt turns at high speed ."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nice truck

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Excellent battery & exaust system. Handles well."

Cons: "No tilt wheel or cruise."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought my 2000 4x4 Ford Ranger XLT in 2001. It was new and a left over. It had 35 mi on it. I now have over 144,000 miles on it and it has the original exaust and battery. The truck started up with no problems this yr at 18 below zero. It has a 5 speed manual transmission.MPG before ethanol was 22/19 now it is 20/17.Engine is 3.0 V6 is not a power house but served my needs very well and I have hauled a lot in the pick up bed,firewood, shingles, gravel etc. I have had no major maintenence problems with this truck but I keep it very well manintained and clean. Still a sharp looking truck. I did rustproof it myself when it was new."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good truck

By on Monday, April 14, 2014

I owned and sold this car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good truck"

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

2000 ford ranger 4x4 xlt off road model excellent

By on Wednesday, April 02, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,400

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "every thing new has everything as far as options"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this truck 1 year ago since then I have invested over $21,000 new engine from ford 24,000 warranty left, new brakes, new wheel bearings all the way around, new hd shocks, rear ends rebuilt, new air conditioning,drivers seat rebuilt and recovered, new $1500 camper shell with $800 ladder rack. tinted windows, bed liner. nothing on this truck has not been gone through have receipts"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GREAT

By on Sunday, March 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage; sturdy truck"

Cons: "Small cab; not made for giants."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove this truck for 10 years and put 140,000 miles on it. Great truck. Never had any engine or transmission issues. The only thing I had to replace are typical things that wear out over many miles (tires, alternator, suspension, timing belt, etc.) Ford makes great trucks."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Truck needs work

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,366

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "great for hauling and has a lot of power"

Cons: "just needs repairs I listed in coments"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"passenger side rear brake line has leak ... needs 2 back tires...driver side rear has slow leak ... in process of getting new battery ... unsure of breaks depending how far you will have to travel ... Looks good burgundy body and matching full cab over bed ... may need tow and I could help with that cost ... great fixer upper / farm truck ... Make an offer"

most durable and reliable vehicle in its class

By on Monday, March 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "bulletproof reliability, easy to maintain"

Cons: "smaller inside than other mini pickups"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Ranger and they have both been totally bulletproof. Have 175,000 miles on this one. The 3.0 V6 is unbreakable and continues to run strong. The ONLY issue it has ever had is the notoriously weak factory radiator with the plastic end caps. This is the only major component that has ever been replaced. Everything else is original except wear items of course. They might be a bit rattly and smaller inside but if you want a totally dependable vehicle this is definitely one to consider."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best truck I've owned.

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A lot of truck for the money."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is so dependable I would recommend it highly."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

First On Race Day

By on Wednesday, January 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First On Race Day! Love my trophy ranger!"

Reliable, efficient, but not good in snow

By on Friday, December 27, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Winter driving conditions

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Cons: "Handling in winter driving conditions."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I bought this truck new off the lot in 97 and have enjoyed it ever since. It's small size makes it easy to drive in a large city but is also functional for hauling small loads. Sold the car due to handling on the snow and inability to carry 4 people."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

got me whare i wanted to go.

By on Monday, November 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 24,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "grate price, on burning of oil great in mud & snow"

Cons: "Had to make a few repairs but it has 24500 on it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It gets good fuel milage. worked very well puling a trailer. I had plenty of power. would by another if they still made them."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great truck I like it alot

By on Thursday, November 07, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun so sharp everyone wants to buy it."

Cons: "bounce's a little , Ford doesn't make it any more"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"well built long life well suited for women comfortable interior"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GREAT TRUCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Saturday, October 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything!"

Cons: "4x4 electronic switch fails alot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my 2nd 1999 Ford Ranger i've owned. The first one was a 2WD Sport. I have since moved up and got a 1999 4X4 Offroad edition and I love it!! Both trucks have NEVER left me stranded other then stuck in the mud from my poor offroad driving!"

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Pretty good little pickup

By on Thursday, October 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Solid pickup, very capable for it's size."

Cons: "Fairly low miles per gallon."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this pickup late last year, and it has yet to let me down. It wasn't in perfect condition when I got it, it had been used for work. And that's exactly what I expect out of a pickup is for it to work. And with work come dings, scratches and other "blemishes". Gas mileage seems a little bit low than what I would have hoped for in a little pickup but it is what it is. Then again, I do have big tires on it, and they're probably not very fuel economic themselves. Other than that, the only major problem I've had with it are the ball joints like another reviewer had mentioned. The replacement joints I put in did have grease zerks so hopefully they might last a bit longer? Other than that, it has stayed pretty solid for me. Routine maintenance things of course but all in all, I like it very much. It has gotten me through a fair amount of snow, even the record setting snowfall we had a few weeks ago. It's a little tight carrying the family around but we make do."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I owned for 12+yrs I love it. VERY RELIABLE

By on Friday, October 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 247,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price plenty of bed room and good mpg"

Cons: "I have nothing bad to say about this truck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"gotten 22+ mpg highway. 18mpg city. has 247k+ miles and starts right up EVERY time. I would buy another one in a heartbeat."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

it alright for getting firewood

By on Friday, October 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,378

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"its all worn and its been in a accident it has no backwindshield ... but its mine!"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 29 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals