Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 2014 Pickup Truck Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
Go

1996 Ford Ranger Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 619 Ratings for the 1993 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 124 | Next

Great little truck, good mileage, and neat looking

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have had the truck over a year. Bought it with 145000 miles on it. So far, I have replaced the water pump and timing belt, both original. The overall fuel mileage varies from 18.5 to 21.5 mpg. Most of the driving is in "town" for short distances. On the interstate at 70mph, I got around 27mpg.The cab is small, making a big grocery or shopping expidition out of the question. A tonneau cover would greatly enhance the usability of the truck. I would recommend the truck to anyone."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One of a kind

By on Friday, March 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 208,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
10/10
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Cons: "Gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very very very reliabie"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle!

By on Wednesday, February 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,790

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, fun to drive"

Cons: "Too small & crowded if you have grandchildren!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a very dependable truck! I have not had any mechanical issues with it, at all! I bought it from my dad & have been driving it for 2+ yrs & it still runs great!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good all-around vehicle

By on Monday, February 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good value, fun to drive, very reliable"

Cons: "Definitely a 2-person vehicle,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owned this truck for 9 years. Bought with 100,000 mi, now has 190,000. Drives great, good noise level for a truck of its day, excellent ride and handling - especially considering its a 4x4. Comfortable, simple straightforward instruments and controls, all clearly labeled. Supercab provides plenty of storage space. Factory automatic front hubs were unreliable, switched to manual. Plenty of power with the 4.0 V-6, but it does like its gas, then again the truck weighs in at a little over 4,000 lb. This one was Ziebarted when new, has no rust. Oil changes are on Mobil 1 10W30 extended drain @ 15,000 mi intervals, only uses 1 quart between changes. Repairs are on par or a little better than average for a vehicle of this age and mileage. We just went through several days of -14°F at night, high of 0° F days, starts right up. In hot weather the 94 and earlier 4.0's had a fuel vaporizing (like vapor lock), runs rough on a hot start in the summer, smooths out quickly. All in all one of the best vehicles I have owned in my 40 some years over ownerships. Has Century cap, one of the better brands, would also recommend that brand."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck I ever owned

By on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Runs great . Body & frame in good shape"

Cons: "AC doesn"t work but all else does."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is actually a 1993 but 94 is as low as blue book goes. I've had this truck for 12 years and it's been the best truck I've ever owned. Never once broke down on the road. I've loved this truck but it's time to move on. I'm going to miss her. I'ld like to get $2500.00 for her to go toward a down payment."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 124 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Ranger Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals